July 27

My mother didn’t pass the creative gene on to me…Oh nooooOOOooooo…Sister got it.

I have always envied Mother and Sister, and now the Girl because they are just. so. creative.

Sure, sure I can knit.   There are directions.

Sure, sure I can cook.  There are directions.

I follow directions.   That is what I do.

That is why when some friends of mine got together twittered together and suggested a great Nailed it or Failed it Pinterest Challenge.

Brilliant.  Actually DOING something from Pinterest.

Then it was proposed that someone else picked out our project.

Not a problem….I thought.

They all know I’m good at baking…I thought.

OH…noooOOOooooo,  The twits friends picked out flip flops.  I knew I could do that because it looked easy.

But when I investigated, there were no instructions.

None!

nailed_it_or_failed_it1

So!  By looking at the pictures I’m supposed to start out with a plain pair of flip flops and material.

First cut out strips of fabric.  But how wide of strip?   How long of strip???   Direction followers need to know!!

So, I guestimated…  2½ inches wide by however long you want.

Then your supposed to take off the top from the bottom of the shoe.

Insert 2 strips of fabric into the toe hole.

nailed_it_or_failed_it2

Then you are to tie knots underneath and above, and more knots and fit it to your foot.

Then tie more knots on the bottom and hot glue them to the foot of the shoe.
nailed_it_or_failed_it3

And voila, a new pair of flip flops.  It takes all of 10 minutes for everything.  That is my kind of project minus the whole lack of direction.

The girl is in love with her new flip-flops, I am quite sure I nailed it!

We all did fun stuff.

There is a cleaning the toilet with a magic eraser, and organ pancakes, Krispy Kream donuts, quilling, diaper cakes and decoupage.

Go check them out.

Thanks Deb for the linkies, and Kristy for making them CC useable.

>

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

9 thoughts on “July 27”

  1. Good job, CC! You were a good sport with all the bossing. Sorry I didn’t know you’d prefer to bake when I was bossing everyone around! There’s always next time….

Comments are closed.