July 16

Hey there Internets!

 

Long time no type!

 

In the last month or so, I have gotten several “where are you”?  “I hope you are okay” “I miss you” emails.

 

So, I figured I’d let you know where I have been.  I have been in a very dark place.

 

I have always meant this blog to be a place to be happy and for me to share about my life.

 

But….there is always a but…isn’t there???

 

I have always considered my self to be strong and independent.   I have always done things for myself…only asking for help if I just could not do it.

 

But with the unexpected departure of the chips out of my life….the boy in August and the girl in February…put me into a tailspin that I couldn’t pull out of, and left me crashed on the floor of the pit of despair.   And I have realized that I may be independent personally but I am dependent emotionally.

 

That coupled with the fact that when I get up in the morning the house is empty, when I come home from work the house is empty….there is no one to talk to, no one to cook for, no one to photograph, therefore, no stories to tell.

 

It has only been in the last 2 weeks that, along with the help of my therapist and some high powered drugs, I have been able to pick my head up off the floor.

 

So!  It is time to close the door on this blog.

 

I will be leaving it up till the end of July so that if there are any recipes you want to get you have time.

 

Thank you for the joy and laughter you have brought to my life.   I am on Facebook.   Who isn’t???   Feel free to friend me there.   I’m Tanya Brillhart, but I answer to CC.   Just leave me a wee note telling me your from my blog.

 

 

 

 

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

27 thoughts on “July 16”

  1. So sorry to see you go, and to see of your troubles. It seems that everyone is going through something (CHANGES) these days. I too am experiencing devastating changes and have for the past 7 years..I keep trying to pull myself up and you will too, because we are human…we don’t quit….

    (i have lost husband, both parents, and my brother in law of over 40 years has suffered a head trauma that changed hi and our family forever, in the past 8 years. My oldest son is flying the coop, and I am losing my horse, by pal, of 14 years, (to impact colic)…who knows at this point I might be losing SS too..then I am sunk…keep your chin up!

    I hope you feel better..I am on FB but only generally have family on it to keep it more private. I will miss your recipes and the changes you make to others recipes.

  2. If you are up to reading others blogs stop by mine now and then..(although like you I have not written in a while..this summer has been devastating) I don’t want to give it up though…

  3. I am so sorry that life has handed you lemons-but if anyone can make lemonade, you can. I hope you’ll keep in touch with me. If life ever brings us through one another’s area of town, I hope we’ll both remember, “hey, I have a friend near here”-because trust me, I will always consider you a friend and you’re always welcome here. Thank you for all of the advice, the laughs, and the witty blog posts. Hugs and lots of love across the many miles.

    Warmly,

    Jennifer of Cooking for Comfort

  4. This is not happy news. I went to Facebook and requested friendship, but I also want to enter a plea here for you to continue your blog. It can be sporadic, it can be anything you want it to be, it can be just a now and again, but I hope you will continue it…it’s part of my friendship circle and those missing will always be that…those missing. Please reconsider. Love and hugs always.

  5. I’m going to miss you! I, too, hope you consider keeping your blog up and running, even if you post sporadically. You can bake a load of things when your kids come by and then blog about each item every couple of days hehe.

  6. But I will miss your blog too much! No, really, you need to do what you want and need to do for yourself. I am just thinking of you and sending you virtual hugs.

  7. Perhaps you could give it a little longer. Sounds as if you’re just beginning to see light again. Who knows how you’ll feel in a few more weeks? Still, these are things you must decide. If you stay, I’ll be thrilled and you can continue to blog without obligation. If you go, I’ll understand. Either way, you can start a new blog whenever you feel like it. (I don’t do Facebook or I’d certainly follow you there and pester you terribly.) Wishing you all the best!

  8. Sorry to hear your closing shop! I started my blog because I enjoyed yours as a way to keep in touch with family. I don’t Facebook much but it seems to be the way communication is headed so I am trying to check it more often. I will miss you and continue to pray for you!
    Love,
    Aunt Mary

  9. My precious niece(my first and so special to me) It breaks my heart to know of your dark times. I pray for you every day.You will find the inner strength to come up from the pit of despair.(Reminds me of what Anne of Green Gables used to say.She was always in the pits of despair) We will see each other on FB,but I will miss your blog. Keep your chin up and your knees down. I love you, Aunt Cindy

  10. You will be missed here, Chocolatechic! I loved your recipes (which I will be having another peek through!), your sense of humour, your love for your family, etc.
    I have always felt as independent as you, and have been realizing over the last couple years just how much I do need more emotional support. I pray that with the extra help from therapy and meds, that you will once more find joy in life, and find new adventures. And I hear all the time that grandparenting is even better than parenting (I have several years to go before I will be able to test that theory), so enjoy that adventure to the fullest too 🙂
    Now to head over to Facebook and find you 🙂

  11. Chocolate Chic – I have so enjoyed your blog. Thanks for diligently sharing your life and for bringing so many giggles and yummy looking recipes my way. I am praying for you. Hugs, ~H

  12. You will be missed. I check frequently to see if you have been on. I feel we have been through so much together and will continue to pray for you and your family.

  13. I too am sad to see you go! Please reconsider, you’ve been such a bright spot in my day through my bad times. I know exactly how you feel about no one to talk to, no one to cook for. I really wanted to get to know you better so you could come to Fort Worth and see all the cool old houses with us. We would love to have you!

  14. You don’t know me, but a friend of yours pointed out your blog to me and asked me to read it. I want you to know that I’ve been where you are and for the same reason. It also took some meds and a therapist to help me. I don’t know if giving up your blog is a good thing or a bad thing, but I’d sure like to see you hang in there.
    If nothing else, please visit my blog and read the post I put up today. You have joined the ranks of empty nesters like I did last year, and I, like many others am trying to deal with it. Are you willing to talk about it?

  15. Saddened to hear of your struggles. Letting those little beavers go is tough. Hang in there and know all will be well in His time.
    Hugs!!!
    See ya on FB!

  16. Sad to see you leave Blogland, but I can certainly understand what you are going through.
    Wishing you the very best and know that there will be quite a few friends out here in Blogland that will be praying for you!

    Take some time to enjoy your new grandbaby and come back to blogging when you are refreshed and ready to share again!

    ((HUGS))

  17. I am so sorry to read of your struggles. I am also really sorry to read that you are closing down your blog. I always enjoyed coming here. I thought your daughter had moved back home? Anyways…I was in counseling for 1 1/2 years, but had to stop, when my husband lost his job and money ran out. It was the best thing I ever could have done for myself and my family. I really miss my counselor. She is a lovely christian lady who helped keep me grounded. As mom’s, our lives are so much about our children. My oldest 3 (out of 7) are on their own and I miss them. People think I am crazy, but I have never been one to say, “I can’t wait until they leave.”

    How is your grandbaby? I wish you could have shared her here with us.

    All the best to you, Tanya. Isn’t that funny, all this time I have been reading here, I never knew your name!

  18. My kids are 14 and 16 and both work very part time jobs. When they are both gone I feel the house is so empty. I hope you feel better soon.

  19. for whatever it’s worth (and it may well be worth something) i just have to add my .02 cents here.
    the last thing you should do is leave.
    this blog and all your followers NEED you, just like you need/miss your kids.
    you should look forward to waking up in the morning and blogging or coming home from work and look forward to telling us the days events.
    you have that writing quality that draws us all in. you have people/fans that need you and your quirky, fun, troublesome, etc.. stories. not to mention, food writings.
    the more effort you put into this blog, the more you will find your new path.
    i just don’t think it’s wise to leave something that brings you so much joy.
    (i hope i didn’t offend, just wanted to point things out that you may have not seen……yet)

    xoxoxo dawn

  20. I am from Mexico, I live in Veracruz and I love to visit your blog regularly. I am so sad to hear about you leaving this blog…. I have been your follower for quite some time, and I am very fond of you!!! You are so special CC and I am hoping all this sorrow will go away. Trust in the Lord and everything will be better. Please reconsider about leaving this blog, you are such an inpiration and I really enjoy reading what you have to say.
    Con mucho cariño, Ana.

  21. Would like to beg you not to go. With a new grand baby you have a whole new chip to blog about. I’ve enjoyed your blog, drooled over everything you’ve cooked, and wished I knew more about you. Yeah, I’m THAT nosy! 😉

  22. I will miss you here – I know EXACTLY where you are coming from, (I wrote a post last night that could have been YOUR post too!) and we do want our blogs to be positive/inspirational – but you know what? Life isn’t always like that. It’s okay to post about your down-days and feelings too! I’m with the others that would like to see you reconsider. But I will friend you and be happy to call you my friend on FB. Sending you love!

    Janet

  23. CC, I’ve been going through my own stuff this year and am only now getting back into blogging and catching up with the people whose blogs are important to me. You are such a great writer. Your photos are sublime. I’m sorry I’ve never gotten to sit at your table and taste what I know are perfect desserts.
    I see you posted last month and hope you will find your voice again soon. You are missed. (And your awesome variations on everything too!)

Comments are closed.