March 15

orange zest

Oh…Dorie, Dorie, Dorie….how I love it when you start a recipe with “In a bowl, rub the zest of an orange/lemon with the sugar till it is fragrant”

juice

But then you have to ruin it by saying “fold in the dried currants/cherries/raisins/other dried fruit”.

liquid onto dry

CC does not like her sweets to try to look like they have some form of healthy in them.

I’m eating something sweet because helllooooooooooooo…..sweet!

If I want healthy, I’ll eat a salad, or some chicken or some broccoli.

If I want sweet, I’ll eat Citrus Currant Sunshine Muffins Coffeecake.

 

baked

I love me a good coffee cake, and what is best thing on the coffee cake?

The crumb topping of course.

I chose to use Smitten Kitchen’s topping from her Big Crumb Coffee Cake.

1/3 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick or 4 ounces) butter, melted
1 3/4 cups flour

In a large bowl, whisk sugars, spices and salt into melted butter until smooth. Then, add flour with a spatula or wooden spoon. It will look and feel like a solid dough. Leave it pressed together in the bottom of the bowl and set aside. Using your fingers, break topping mixture into big crumbs, about 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch in size. They do not have to be uniform, but make sure most are around that size. Sprinkle over cake.

eat

I didn’t use any spices, but I did add some orange zest to it.

This coffee cake was fabulous.

Just fabulous.

Thanks to Lauryn of Bella Baker for picking this week.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

21 thoughts on “March 15”

  1. That was wonderfully creative of you to make this into a coffee cake. Actually my muffins were not very sweet and I think a nice streusel on top would have been excellent. love your photos as always. Hope you are having a great week!

  2. Wow…I was fully expecting to come over here visiting and find that those little currants had been replaced with mini chocolate chips…I was not expecting this coffeecakes, so imagine my surprise when I saw what you had whipped up this week! Fabulous!

  3. Yep, with all the butter in these muffins, I had no thought that they were healthy. They sure were good, too! I have a crumb cake recipe that I have been waiting to make and the one you made looks excellent!

Comments are closed.