March 8

corn meal

I have never made it a secret about how Jiffy Corn muffins has ruined me for any other corn muffin.

I like my corn bread sweet.

I’m Northern like that.

Which is why I didn’t really think I’d like today’s TWD Corniest Corn Muffins.   Not much sugar added to this recipe.

Harumph!

add ins

I didn’t add corn to my muffins, but decided to add a mixture of sausage, bacon, onion and green pepper…because hellloooooooooo not Jiffy!

with butter

I was skeptical even with the butter melting.

superman approved
But Superman approved, so I tried some.

Not bad.

Not bad at all, but I’m still here hugging my box o’Jiffy Mix.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

18 thoughts on “March 8”

  1. I agree with you, corn bread needs to be sweet.
    I don’t use Jiffy Mix, but make my own and usually double the sugar in the recipe.

  2. Exactly! I add sugar to corn bread and biscuits…not much, but more than what was in the recipe. Really, it’s difficult to mess with a good thing like Jiffy. I like their corn muffins better than anything I can bake from scratch and I don’t like having corn meal around the pantry either. We’re two peas in a pod on this one.

  3. That’s not a muffin….that’s a meal! Love it! I’m a Yankee (living in the South) too, so I agree about sweet. Nothing wrong with a jiffy muffin, but I thought these were great too! Thanks for at least trying 🙂

  4. I liked Jiffy mix too,but since I started making cornbread from scratch,that is what I do. Your muffins looked delicious.

  5. Oh, my do those look fabulous with all those add-ins! I have never seen a corn muffin so gussied up and I can’t wait to give that a try for the guys here who love each and every single one of those ingredients. (And, between you and me, Jiffy has it’s own little corner in my pantry and I wouldn’t want to take that space for anything else!)

Comments are closed.