January 18

orange zest_sugar

About 6 years or so ago, I met a wonderful lady on the Donna Young Home school forums named Barbara-Sue.

Barbara-Sue moved down south a couple of years ago, and one day while we were talking on the phone, she began to tell me about the orange groves that were chopped down to make room for suburbia.

pouring

She told me that there are still mature orange trees in people’s back yards and some of the people leave bags of oranges on the side of the road and charge $1 for them on the honor system.

Aaaaaaaand that these oranges are so juicy that when you eat them the juice runs down your arm and drips off your elbows.

I expressed an interest in such an orange.

eating orange

She sends me some every year for Christmas.

Superman ate 94% of them…sigh…

in the pan

But I saved a couple to make this wonderful TWD recipe of Lemon Orange Poppy Seed Muffins.

Poppy seeds, you go rancid so fast….you are dead to me.

licking

This is such a great recipe. The muffins are moist and tender, but have a distinct scone flavor too.

muffin

You also need to save some juice to make the glaze.

But the leftover juice tempted me.

I drank it straight out of the bowl and had to get another orange to make the glaze.

Oh…just so fabulous.

If you’d like to make Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins, then go check out Betsy’s blog. She has the recipe.

Word of caution…if you get poppy seeds, make sure that you use them right away and not leave them in your cupboard for over a year.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

22 thoughts on “January 18”

  1. You are so right about the poppy seeds. I had to buy new for this recipe. They do keep better in the freezer. I love the orange idea. I would love a fresh picked orange. We don’t get those in Utah! Have a great day.

  2. I was gonna suggest putting the poppy seeds in the freezer too! They’ll stay forever that way. I do it with all my nuts/seeds as I never go through them quickly enough πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t feel the poppy seeds are necessary for these either (though I used them), but all that luscious talk about oranges makes me really want to make them again sans poppy.

  4. An orange version is inspired – and isn’t Barbara Sue a sweetheart? Your daughter makes me hungry for more of these – she certainly looks as though she’s enjoying the batter.

  5. Thanks for baking along with me this week your orange muffins look delicious. Great tip about the poppy seeds. I’m going to put mine in the freezer now. (something I read to keep them longer)

  6. I know, I know, it’s Sunday already and I am just getting around to blog commenting…I’m a tad late this week, what can I say. And, I didn’t make the FFwD either as I thought it was the B’stilla, oops, oh well, I have that one done now. Your photos here are great, and I would love to try all this with orange, lemon was great, but I am a big fan of the little orange globe, so seeing this post, I need to move in that direction soon.

  7. Ahhhhh this is about me! Glad you love your oranges! I didn’t get any $1 a bag oranges this year…. he only had them out for about 2 weeks…. I think the freeze had something to do with it…..
    Blondie picked oranges for FREE in a friends grove on Sunday….. free tastes really yummy too!
    I would make these, but I am afraid I have had my poppy seeds over a year… how do I know they are rancid???

Comments are closed.