January 7

In 1983, when I was 13, our family moved from Ohio to Houston, Texas so my dad could go to Gulf Coast Bible College.

1983/84 was a very tumultuous time for me, but it had one bright spot.
1-7-2011 9;01;23 AM

It was the year that I met my first true friend,Karen Hammack. She is in the red.

Karen lived 2 blocks from us and she was the best.

We spent all kinds of time together.

She introduced me to horror films specifically “Children of the Corn”, and to this day I can not hear the name Malachi without shuddering.

She introduced me to Huey Lewis and the News, staying up late, cutting up in church and deep tissue massages.

mushrooms

One day when I was over at her house, her dad was sauteing some mushrooms in butter.   I mentioned that I had never had sauteed mushrooms before so they shared a wee tasty.

Oh…how wonderful they were.   Butter + mushrooms = love at first bite.

rosemary

I was so happy to see today’s FFwD’s pick of Paris Mushroom Soup.

The French are brilliant. They can take a handful of ingredients and make something that you want to eat till you burst.
soup

This soup is no exception.

Mushrooms, butter, onion, garlic and chicken broth.

That is all I used in mine and I had 2 mugs full.

It calls for white wine but I don’t have any so I just used extra butter, because if a little is good more has to be better especially when we are talking about butter.

You are also supposed to make a mushroom salad, but I didn’t do that either.

Why ruin a good soup with salad?

Karen Hammack, wherever you are I thank you for showing me what a true friend is, and for introducing me to sauteed mushrooms.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

14 thoughts on “January 7”

  1. I remember having sauteed mushrooms as a kid too, and thinking how fabulous they were. I think that was probably the beginning of learning that butter makes everything better, and that frying things in butter is even better yet! That sounds like an excellent mushroom soup.

  2. 1983 was a tumultuous time for the whole family. We all left friends and family. My mother fighting cancer and Dad just having 4 heart bi passes and still in the hospital. It was hard on all of us. The tumultuous times can make us stronger or we can waste a lot of time feeling sorry for ourselves. The choise is always ours to make. We also made friends there that are still our friends today.

  3. Yes, I loved the butter and mushroom part too! The “salad” was not really salad-y, it seemed more like a garnish to me. I had it in the first bowl, but after that I skipped it.

  4. That was the weekend of the fish-fry, wasn’t it? I had a really good time that weekend.
    When hubby and I lived in Beaumont, we would enjoy going down to Galveston and walking the beach. I would always remember the weekend we camped on the beach and had the fish-fry.

Comments are closed.