December 1

Have y’all ever heard of a runza?

I hadn’t till the parents came home from helping Sister moved to Nebraska.

The Mother fixed these runza thingies and I was smitten.

filling
Not because they tasted good, they did, but because of the total ease of making something so fun and so tasty so quickly.

I googled runza when I got home and it seems that the runza came from Nebraska, via the Volga Germans, via the Russians.

And quite simply they are a meat pie filled with ground beef and cabbage.

Yep…that sounds very Russian.

I am not so very into cabbage so I made my own filling.

rolled up
And I didn’t make the dough, I used canned pizza crust.

Easy peasy!

My filling is shredded chicken, cheese, onion, a wee bit of mustard, mayo and some garlic powder.

baked

Plop some in the middle, wrap it up, bake for 15 minutes and voila….fun supper.

 

Or you can use crescent rolls.

 

Or you can fill them with cheese, scrambled eggs and your favorite breakfast meat.

 

Or pizza type fillings.

Or dessert type fillings.

Or whatever your little heart desires.

 

My heart desires seconds.

 

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

16 thoughts on “December 1”

  1. I make these with a filling made of ham, honey, mustard a little mayonaisse and cheese. I call them “biskers” because once time when I made them for Mark my toungue got tied up trying to say biscuits and rolls and the name stuck. You can also used canned biscuits for the dough, just roll them flat with a rolling pin.

  2. Yummy! I have a recipe that is very similar to this but the dough is a homemade yeast dough, and takes a long time to prepare. I LoVE the idea of using the canned pizza dough – I will try that idea! Thanks for sharing!

  3. In Kansas, they are called beirocks. I like to make up a big batch and then put them in the freezer. You take them out, pop them in the microwave for a few secs and dinner is served!

  4. I make these with taco meat and cheese. I’ve been known to add a dollop of refried beans. After they are baked I top them with Queso dip, shredded lettuce, cheese, chopped onion and salsa. We call them Taco Pockets.

  5. πŸ˜€ They do look good…kind of remind me of Suzanne’s Biruk recipe. (If you scroll back in her cooking section far enough, you’ll find it.) I’ve had that recipe saved for two years or more and haven’t tried it. Perhaps I can meld yours and hers.

  6. When we lived in Kansas, there was a Runza. I didn’t care for it, but my husband liked it. He always went for the beef filled ones and I always thought it just looked gross. That said, chicken in a wrap, like a calzone, those sound good!

  7. Yes, I’ve made runza’s for about 40 years!! My aunt was a Volga German. In addition to Nebraska there was an entire enclave of Volga Germans in Chicago, who called this treat Biruk, always made with a nice yeast dough. I use froze store bought yeast rolls in a pinch.

    The Biruk are folded differently. The four corners are brought up to the middle and pinched shut, kind of resembling an envelope. They are soooooo delicious. I don’t dare tell any of my friends that I’m making them because people come out of the woodwork. Hey Vee – you’ve got a great memory!!

Comments are closed.