November 15

It is Monday Internet, and I am nosy.

 

In this economy, I am wondering…

 

  1. When money’s a bit tight, how do you cut costs in keeping yourself fed?
  2. How do you cut costs in keeping yourself entertained?
  3. How do you cut costs in other areas of your life?
  4. What do you do to keep your spirits up?
  5. What are some things you refuse to sacrifice?

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

1.   I generally purchase less meat, and no snacks.

 

2.  I like to think that I’m pretty good entertainment myself, and I’m free!

 

3.  Turn down the heat.

 

4.  I watch funny videos on youtube.

 

5.  There is very little that I refuse to sacrifice, but I would have to say Tide.   I’m a bit of a laundry soap snob.

 

What are you doing to get buy in this economy?

 

 

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

6 thoughts on “November 15”

  1. 1.When money’s a bit tight, how do you cut costs in keeping yourself fed?
    I use coupons and shop the sales at Kroger. They offer double coupons and if you hit it just right you can get sale items for next to nithing. And I stock up on things like that so when funds are low, I have stuff in the pantry to use.
    2.How do you cut costs in keeping yourself entertained?
    We play Scrabble and Monopoly Deal, and other card games at home.

    3.How do you cut costs in other areas of your life?
    shop around for the best prices on things.

    4.What do you do to keep your spirits up?
    I find that doing things like playing games at home keeps us close, and happy.

    5.What are some things you refuse to sacrifice?
    Coffee. Can not do without coffee.

  2. 1.When money’s a bit tight, how do you cut costs in keeping yourself fed? Save-A-Lot has a 5 for $20 deal. This is a big help for us!
    2.How do you cut costs in keeping yourself entertained?
    We are homebodies…Dish Network is our entertainer along with our kiddos. LOL!
    3.How do you cut costs in other areas of your life?
    We are very careful in our budget. We do free family stay-cations, I cut everyones hair at home, etc…
    4. What do you do to keep your spirits up? I remember my blessings. Also, designing my jewelry is a huge stress reliever for me. I sit down, arrange and rearrange, and something beautiful comes together.
    5. What are some things you refuse to sacrifice? My Avon hairspray, my hair color (do it myself), makeup, Gain detergent, coffee, and date night. 🙂

  3. 1. Send my husband out hunting, make as much as I can out of the garden produce and wild berries. And cut out as much processed stuff as possible.
    2. Living way out in the country cuts down on entertainment costs – we don’t go anywhere! We bought “The A-Team” on DVD and we’ve been watching episodes of that with the kids. Why don’t they make shows like that anymore? If it was produced now, there’s no way it would be a show we could watch with a 6 year old.
    3. We heat with a woodstove as much as we can.
    4. I have a 3 year old – hard to get too down with a 3 year old who’s happy and laughing. We also sponsor two children, and know several missionaries. It’s harder to think I have it bad when I compare what I’ve got to what so much of the world doesn’t have.
    5. Well, I’m pretty cheap, so can’t think of anything I wouldn’t sacrifice.

  4. 1. I make a lot of dishes that can be stretched:like soups and chicken and casseroles. Also we have been trying to cut down on portion sizes too. We need to do that.

    2.I have a lot of things to do for my kids at school.Lots of work goes in to being a teacher. It keeps me busy more than entertained. My husband can be funny most times so he helps with the entertainment. Remember when he was talking in his sleep at your moms? Now he sings to me in his sleep. If Elvis could only hear him.

    3.Keep lights off and thermostat low. Try not to do a lot of laundry.

    4.I think of the Gaither song,”I Just Feel Like Something Good is About to Happen”. The part where it says,things are gonna get better either way.

    5.I need my tea!!!

    As far as getting by in this economy,I guess we just have to deal with it.

  5. 1. Coupons for everything, and our Kroger marks down the meat early Sat. and Sun. morning so I stock up and freeze it.

    2. Our house has a pool purposely so we don’t have to go anywhere, we just have the kids over for potlucks alot, plus when we are all outside I can turn up the air conditioner that’s a huge savings.

    3. I turn up the a/c so it won’t run. (Causes major arguments at our house) Plus, if I have to do laundry during the week I wait until off peak hours for the electricity (after 8:00 p.m.) this helps too. Oh, and I refuse to turn on the heat until it freezes. Which in Texas is usually December.

    4. I call my best friend. She never ceases to amuse me. She’s so much fun!!

    5. Dish Network, I have to have my Food Network and Turner Classic Movies.

    To get by, I bought a less expensive car that was suppose to get better gas mileage. It doesn’t.
    And, I don’t have internet service at home. I am allowed to be on at work as we are very slow and it never interferes with working.

  6. This is probably too much to answer in a comment, but…….

    1. Eat out less. Processed food is kept to the bare minimum, although this is more of a health issue with us. Sugar is out. Honey is used sparingly. Stocking up on sale items. Cut down on use of paper products.

    2. We aren’t big on typical entertainment and we don’t watch TV, so that saves a bundle. Personally, I spend my free time on the computer and playing the piano.

    3. Keeping the a/c and heat at realistic temps. When its cold outside, we wear sweaters, fleece, and sweats inside, instead of turning the heat up. Lights are on only when a human is in the room. Combining my errands with school trips.

    4. Keep my eyes on Jesus….this world is not my home. Knowing this mess is temporary, helps.

    5. Air conditioning would probably be the last thing to go.

Comments are closed.