October 22

Bonjour Internet. Il est le vendredi.   (Hi Internet.   It is Friday)

It is also FFwD, and Pothole had all the stuff to make today’s recipe.

Yay me!

chopped up beef

Hachis Parmentier.

It is pronounced  HA she – PAR men TEE ay.

Roughly translated Shepherds Pie.

uncooked

Basically you chop a pot roast up, boil it with some veggies and herbs.

Strain the broth, chop the meat.

Fry some sausage.

Make some mashed potatoes.

Mix the meats with some other good stuff.

baked

Top with mashed potatoes.

Sprinkle with Gruyere (French Swiss) cheese…which I didn’t have, doggoneit…then some Parmesan cheese.

Bake.

eaten

Oh…Internet.   This is soooooooooooo good.

No veggies, just meat and potatoes.

Total comfort food.

I’ll be making this again.   It is just so quick to make, and if you don’t have a roast to boil, you can just fry some burger with your sausage and use it instead.

If you’d like the recipe, go check out our FFwD blog

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

17 thoughts on “October 22”

  1. I love how simple you write it. And I love that you give the pronunciations. I had no idea how it was pronounced before that. It doesn’t say in Dorie’s book, right? Now I have to go check. 😉
    I remember you now showing a picture of your girl cutting meet with gloves on!

  2. LOL, see, I was thinking it took forever to make. Compared to how long it ususally takes me to make dinner, anyway.

    Yours does look fabulous! Nice job and congrats on having all the ingredients.

  3. Your picture does the filling so much justice! I had a hard time photographing mine but I took the short cut and it ended up looking like a mushy mess – but still tasty! I will have to make it the long way next time and hope it turns out as well as yours!

  4. Such beautiful pictures! I just couldn’t get them to work well but the dish was still delish…and inspiring as I found it a metaphor for French living… or at least as I imagine it to be!
    Trevor Sis Boom

Comments are closed.