September 29

The girl turned 18 last Friday.

I had asked her months before what she wanted for her birthday.

Here at the Chocolatechic household like to be informed and we make lists.

Grocery lists.

Birthday lists

Christmas lists.

The lists make sure that we are getting something that the other person wants.

Guessing causes stress and angst and that is just something I just. don’t. need.

outlining

The girl wanted a tattoo for her birthday.

almost finished

I said Okay.

Then a few weeks later she said “Mama, how about we get matching tattoo’s.”

There was no way that I was going to say no to that.

Noon on her birthday found us at the tattoo parlor, along with one of her friends, J.

Kirsten's tatoo

And while the girl smiled and laughed during her tattoo…

My tatoo
I sat there with my butt cheeks clenched, squeezing J’s hand almost the entire time.

You’d think that a 40 year old woman who has given birth…twice…could handle a measly tattoo, but nooo.

At least I didn’t cry.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

8 thoughts on “September 29”

  1. I’m still upset with my mother for insisting I get my ears pierced for a second time, (for moral support) while she got her ears pierced for the first time. I was 18, she was 43.

    But seeing that you got a tattoo for your girl… Well, now I don’t feel so bad!

  2. I thought you’d been through this before?

    No tattos for this mom as my doctor has advised against it or any further piercings (I’ve only got one in each ear).

    I do think that it is sweet that she wanted the 2 of you to have matching ones =)

Comments are closed.