August 26

gross

When my dad became a preacher, eons and eons ago, we moved around a lot.

flattening

But we always had family and friends over.

cut into squares

One of the things that I can remember dad making is poor man’s steak.

Mom would mix it up and dad would fry it.

dust with flour

And I would be standing beside him, watching his every move.

Scooping the squares with a black handled spatula.

Plopping them in flour, and talking to me the entire time.

I loved learning at my dads side.

lay in sauce

So, on Tuesday afternoon I called dad to make sure that I was making this correctly because the years that have passed since I last saw him make this are many.

And the brain.

It is learning what middle age is all about.

Middle age, I don’t like you.

layer
This recipe has only 5 ingredients, which is good for a middle age brain,  and very economical, which is good for the wallet.

eat

If there are any leftovers it is perfect to make into a Shepard’s pie.

Poor Man’s Steak

  • 3 pounds ground beef
  • 1 sleeve crackers, crushed~~you can use saltines or ritz type
  • 1 onion, diced finely
  • 1 c. water
  • 3 cans cream of mushroom soup

Mix first 4 ingredients together, along with whatever seasoning you like.   I use salt, pepper and garlic powder.   Pat out in a 10×15 pan and refrigerate over night.   Cut into squares.   Dust with flour and fry in a small amount of oil.   Take 3 cans of cream of mushroom soup and mix with one can of water.   Pour about 1/3 of the mixture in the bottom of a 9×13 pan.   Layer meat and sauce, ending with sauce.   Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour at 350º.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

11 thoughts on “August 26”

  1. I had to copy the recipe, never had it. Sounds good, easy & budget friendly. Can you use other soups with it? My family is not fond of cream of mushroom.

  2. Never heard of it, but it looks delicious and economical is the name of the game these days. Thank you! (Is that poor girl of yours still playing in raw meat? LOL!)

  3. This is very similar to what I make with minute steak. I will have to try this sometime. Sometime when I actually plan ahead for a meal, that is 🙂

  4. I wonder why my mom didn’t make that? She was as frugal(cheap!) as you get! She would’ve no doubt made it if she knew about it, ’cause we was PO’!

Comments are closed.