June 29

As far back as I can remember, my mom catered weddings.

As far back as I can remember, I got to lick beaters.

Cake batter beaters

Icing beaters.

I heart licking beaters.

And as far back as I can remember, the Mother would admonish Sister and I “Don’t run in the house, the cake will fall.”

And look something like this.

I didn’t run through the house, but when I ‘foil tented’ them, the rack jiggled…which has the same effect as running through the house.

Reminding me that the Mother knows what she is talking about.

Fortunately it doesn’t affect the taste.

These Rum-Drenched Vanilla Cakes that Wendy of Pink Stripes picked for today’s TWD taste like a sugar cookie that has been dunked in booze.

In other words, it is gooooooood.

Very good.

Go check out Wendy’s blog and get the recipe.

You can make it without the booze and it will still be fabulous.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

34 thoughts on “June 29”

  1. You crack me up every week over something or other in your posts…this fallen cake did it today…poor little cake…so happy it didn’t affect the taste at all because this was one really good cake, with or without the rum!

  2. I heard that was a myth that cakes fall when you run around–but I still think it’s true. It happens to me. I’ll have to look that up. I find it annoying, but this cake is still good!

  3. Running around the house and jiggling it with a tent foil probably wasn’t the cuplrit. If I had that much rum in me, I’d fall down, too. (or was the rum in the cook?)

  4. This batter was FABULOUS. I left out the rum though.

    I love a cake that has either fallen, cracked, or slid sideways and resembles the leaning tower of Pisa.

    Your cake looks delicious!!!!

  5. Haha – I had the same little crater in my cake, and now that you mention it, I’m pretty sure there was running going on in my house as it was baking (not ME running, but several running little people). Like you said, it didn’t affect the taste. Yours looks beautiful. We loved this cake!

  6. fallen but not forgotten. the taste that is. this was good.

    ah, memories. Licking beaters – best part of my Mom baking.

  7. You know I’m sorry about your cake falling. That happened to my dressy chocolate loaf last week. I haven’t had that happen in a very long time and believe me, I was not running through my house at the time so I’m still not sure what happened. But thank goodness it does not affect the taste. I’m sure it was delicious. I bet a nice cold glass of milk with a slice of that cake and you would forget all about it falling!

  8. That’s what Mom always told me so I figured she was right.

    I would probably make it without the rum. Looks good either way

  9. To this day I can’t do ANYTHING while a cake is in the oven–no wandering about in the kitchen, no running the dishwasher, certainly no washing or drying clothes. I even refrain from yelling at the cat till the cake is good and set πŸ™‚

  10. My mom went even further, and everytime she made challah we weren’t allowed to even open the oven door – let alone run in the house. I’m glad that the cake tasted good!

  11. Ha ha–I used to get the ‘don’t run in the house line’ too, but my least favourite was the ‘don’t open the door or my bread will catch cold’. That was the dumbest thing ever for a little kid who didn’t even like homemade bread. I hope you filled that crater with more booze and enjoyed your cake!

  12. my cake sank too! i think a combo of moving the rack too much as well as using baking SODA instead of powder LOL

    did you know i’ve never ever licked a beater?? really!

    lovely cakes

Comments are closed.