June 1

I didn’t realize just how picky I was with my sweets till I started baking along with TWD.

Picky, picky, picky!

I read the recipe for White Chocolate Brownies that Marthe of Culinary Delights picked for us and had a wee conniption.

Just a wee one, mind you.

My conniptions are small and dainty, just like the rest of me.

The recipe calls for almond meal, orange zest and raspberries, and a meringue topping.

In. a. brownie.

I just couldn’t do that.

So I switched it up just a little bit to make it more…..me!

I didn’t use almond meal, just put flour in its place.

No orange zest, but orange emulsion works just as well.

And I added white chips and macadamia nuts instead of fruit.

As I have said before, fruit belongs in pies.

Period.

I also made it in my square pan instead of a 9×13, because……..uh…. I just wanted to.

And even though I had to bake these brownies for 30 minutes longer than recommended,

They turned out moist, and absolutely the. best. white chocolate brownies I have ever eaten.

If you’d like to make the. best. white chocolate brownies I have ever eaten, go check out Marthe’s blog.

She has the recipe.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

35 thoughts on “June 1”

  1. Now we’re talkin’! THAT’s how I’d like them. I think I enjoy playing around more than following along. That’s just more…me! (I love that quote.)

  2. I don’t think my husband would even like fruit in pies…except my Johnny Appleseed Pie…glad these turned out to be the best white chocolate brownies ever! πŸ™‚

  3. Your bars look great! I also had a problem with the almond meal…just too much work for a brownie. I’ve never heard of orange emulsion, but now I’m curious.

  4. I had to laugh at your post today. I only just realized how picky I can be about my sweets too. I was at my mother-in-law’s last week and she’d made some delicious muffins. She told me the recipe book and I realized I had the book and had looked over that recipe because it just looked so boring. I guess I’ll have to make it now!
    I also laughed at your “small and dainty conniptions”. I love that! πŸ™‚

  5. I love fruit in lots of things besides pie, but it did not work well in this recipe for me. I love your changes–your brownies look fantastic!

  6. Well she has the recipe kinda. Actually, I’m very impressed because I figured that there would be no way that you’d put orange in a brownie. It sounds interesting, but I don’t think that I could do it. I’d have to call it something else other than a brownie.

  7. Ha! I didn’t realize how picky I was either πŸ™‚

    Your brownies look great! I totally agree that the meringue/fruit is pie not brownie. I used the square pan and no meringue, too, though I wasn’t daring enough to lose the fruit πŸ™‚

  8. You did much better…mine were a soggy mess, but the swimmer ate them anyway. He was that hungry after a three hour practice this afternoon (which followed a two hour practice this morning), so anything not nailed down or growing mold is fair game. Happy to not have wasted the ingredients. Love your reasoning powers.

  9. Now that’s how I thought these would turn out! Nice job tweaking the white chocolate brownies. I thought you would sit this one out in protest! WHITE chocolate?

  10. Orange emulsion is new to me. Where do you get it? “The best white chocolate brownies you ever ate?” Now that is some testimony. They DO look awfully good.

Comments are closed.