May 18

I do not like bread pudding.

It is just to eggy, and gross.

Elizabeth of Cake or Death? picked today’s TWD of Apple-Apple Bread Pudding.

And I didn’t want to sit out on two weeks in a row.

It just so happened that last week PW posted baked french toast casserole that had almost the same ingredients.

So I thought…how about I marry the two and see how it goes.

I’m gonna be serving this for supper tonight, so I haven’t put it all together.

But I’m gonna put the apples on top of the bread, then the topping.

I’ll post a final picture after it is done.

And speaking of getting married……

The boy is engaged to the Blonde.

We are just so happy.

If you want the original recipe for Apple-Apple Bread Pudding, go check out Elizabeth’s blog.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

45 thoughts on “May 18”

    1. Well, they were in a park about 2 blocks from the house.

      He wasn’t planning on doing it so soon, but he said “I was holding her in my arms and we were sharing things from our past. She said something that really touched me, so I asked her to look at me, and asked her to marry me”

  1. Congrats to your family! I’m so happy to see your lovely process photos again. A week without your post, just isn’t complete. Hope the dessert turns out for you.

  2. Aww, congratulations to your son and Miss Blondie. I think they have a couple of good examples in front of them of what marriage can and should look like.

  3. Hope that “the blonde” gets a couple of new names soon. Ha! Congrats to the happy couple!

    I used to feel about bread pudding the same way you do, but my tastes must’ve changed because now I love the stuff.

  4. Exciting news! Congratulations to everyone! Hope Miss Blonde is ready for the blogging world.

    Looking forward to reading/seeing how your baked french toast turns out.

  5. This sounds fantastic–I saw that PW recipe too. I’ll definitely be back to check it out. One day you must explain to me the American aversion to eggy things. I just don’t get it.
    Oh, and congrats–i think you’ll be the best baking mother-in-law ever!

  6. Congrats Grandson and future Granddaughter-in-law! I need to talk to Him and make a date to meet regarding the diamond from the ring:)! SO Exciting!

    I feel the same way about French toast. The eggy thing. It is always too limp with the mixture, however I did taste stuffed French toast on vaca and loved it:)

  7. SOunds yummy-I’m not a huge fan of bread pudding either. Were we separated at birth?

    Congratulations to your son and your family-I’m so happy for you all.:)

  8. Congradulations(I think) Blondie and Boy! Have I told you about my experience with Bread pudding?(Doesn’t matter, I’m going to tell you again anyway).
    While pulling KP in the Air Force, I witnessed an old woman making said food in a food mixer the size of a cargo plane. After she dumped all of the ingredients in the large mixing bowl, she climbed up on a ladder and leaned over the edge with sweat dripping off her forhead and sleeves rolled up enough to expose the under arm hair (ewwwwww) and pre-mixed the slop with her arms in all the way up to her shoulders. Haven’t eaten it since. Can’t get that image out of my head. Now that you tell me french toast is about the same thing, I’ll have to re-think it, too. Sorry, Chef Boy. Hate to mix such stories with your news. (My wife got me with a steak dinner. I had a weak moment, too, and asked her to marry me).

  9. How clever of you…with your post…

    Congratulations to your son and his girl! Can’t wait to see your photo of your Bread Pudding/French Toast

  10. I am with you on not liking bread pudding but I too didn’t want to sit out another week. Good call on creating something french toastish, it’s a way better treat. Congrats on gaining a daughter-in-law!

  11. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wow! That is such great news!

    I also hope you enjoyed the bread pudding/casserole combo. I, too, don’t like bread pudding b/c I don’t like soggy bread.

  12. A huge CONGRATULATIONS to your family! Now on to the fun part…wedding planning and the big day! I’m looking forward to reading all about it.

    I must be living under a rock, as this is the first I’ve heard of PW’s recipe, which sounds very yummy. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  13. Not everyone likes bread pudding, but the French toast casserole is pretty close. Looks yummy! Congratulations to your son and the blonde on their engagement.

Comments are closed.