February 19

It is Friday, Internet, and I am nosy.

  1. Be honest: what are some rules you have for yourself that don’t really make much sense?
  2. What rules of questionable sense did your parents have for you when you were young?
  3. What’s a rule most people (if not all people) seem never to obey?
  4. There are no rules governing the giving and receiving of Valentine’s Day gifts, but what rules should there be?
  5. If the Golden Rule says you should do unto others as you’d have others do unto you, what would the Silver and Bronze rules say?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1.  Hmm…..I don’t know….I think all most all rules make sense.

2.  No comment, because the parents read this blog.

3.  While driving the car, most people don’t use their turn signal.

4.  There MUST be chocolate given, and if not chocolate, something sparkly.

5.  Silver~~Take responsibility for your actions.   Bronze~~Quit whining….oops….I don’t seem to follow that one very well…

Now it is your turn.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

10 thoughts on “February 19”

  1. These questions are too danged thought-provoking and I don’t have a thought in my head this morning. Perhaps tomorrow morning… I will be back to read what others say, though.

  2. 1. I can’t think of a single one-I’m with you, most rules do make sense. Tax laws, not so much.

    2. Eat your veggies before you get dessert. Bah humbug.

    3. Bostonians fail to adhere to crossing signals and bikes don’t often use the bike lane specifically created for them.

    4. It should include one night at a Westin hotel. No one could argue with the heavenly bed and heavenly bath.

    5. Silver-If you bike or walk, please follow all rules and regulations.

    Bronze-Always say “please” and “thank you”.

  3. 1. Be honest: what are some rules you have for yourself that don’t really make much sense?

    I have to wear lipstick at all times when in public. It’s like a security blanket for me. Does that count as a rule? haha

    2. What rules of questionable sense did your parents have for you when you were young?

    To eat sitting down. My mom still gets paranoid when I eat standing up. She read in some Prevention magazine that you gain weight when you eat standing up, which makes very little sense to me considering how you burn more calories that way, especially if you walk around.

    3. What’s a rule most people (if not all people) seem never to obey?

    The “enter” and “exit” signs in stores, like Wal-Mart haha. That sort of bugs me.

    4. There are no rules governing the giving and receiving of Valentine’s Day gifts, but what rules should there be?

    That both members of the amorous relationship should give each other gifts only if they both celebrate that day.

    5. If the Golden Rule says you should do unto others as you’d have others do unto you, what would the Silver and Bronze rules say?

    Silver – You should not stereotype others solely based on their physical appearance.

    Bronze – Share and share alike.

  4. I feel like you just gave me homework!

    OK my thoughts on rules:
    1. Giving my lack of self-discipline, I do not subject myself to senseless rules….I can’t keep up with the ones that do make sense….like flossing, make bed after rising, eat breakfast….

    2. “Clean your plate”….”starving people in neverneverland”… aka the overeat b/c I said so, rule.

    3. Standing in the doorways and pathways to gawk and squawk. Pull over!

    4. There should be a “no guilt if you don’t play” rule.

    5. I think the Golden Rule should be to Love the Lord…then love the people would be the Silver Rule. Bronze should be – ‘do it for yourself’, which of course should be followed by ‘help those who can’t’.

  5. 1. I MUST go to town every morning for coffee even if I could make it myself at home.
    2. Mom didn’t want us looking at girls unless they were wearing specticals and long dresses.
    3. No sleepiing during the sermon.
    4. Why is it that it’s the guys that always have to remember Valentine’s Day? And, why is it that the gals NEVER forget it?
    5. Silver- Do unto others as they do unto you. Bronze-Finder’s keepers, loser’s weepers.

  6. 1. I’m not good at making rules for myself. I should have some, like no chocolate for breakfast, but that’s not going to happen.

    2. When I was 16 – all of them. Now that I have children – none of them. They all make a whole lot more sense to me now than they did then! lol

    3. The speed limit. And no, I would not know anything about a certain someone who speeds down my road driving a van exactly like mine.

    4. I’m with you Chocolatechic – there must be chocolate.

    5. Again, I’m with you Chocolatechic. I think those two come up every day with my kids. 🙂

  7. Okay, I’m a glutton for punishment…

    1.Be honest: what are some rules you have for yourself that don’t really make much sense? I have so many rules for myself that I would never lay on anyone else. It’s ridiculous and I’m giving some of them up as a direct result of this question, but not the one about having a clean house if company is coming.
    2.What rules of questionable sense did your parents have for you when you were young? No dating until 18 years of age. Now they shot themselves in the foot with that one!
    3.What’s a rule most people (if not all people) seem never to obey? Crossing at the crosswalks
    4.There are no rules governing the giving and receiving of Valentine’s Day gifts, but what rules should there be? No red roses
    5.If the Golden Rule says you should do unto others as you’d have others do unto you, what would the Silver and Bronze rules say? Oh this is too hard. It reminds me of the math questions I’ve been asked: if six puppies are in the park and three puppies head west and two puppies head east how many puppies head south? I don’t know. I just hope all them puppies find their way home.

    Thanks for making me think!

  8. 1.Be honest: what are some rules you have for yourself that don’t really make much sense?

    I honestly can’t think of any because I think they all make sense or I wouldn’t make them.

    2.What rules of questionable sense did your parents have for you when you were young?

    I would probably have to go with the “You need to eat your vegetables, there are kids in Africa starvijng to death” I could never figure out how my eating would cause the children in Africa not to be hungry. I would have liked to have sent them some of my food:)

    3.What’s a rule most people (if not all people) seem never to obey?

    Completely stoping at a stop sign. You should count to 10 when you stop even if there is no traffic. The most important one?” Having no other gods before God.

    4.There are no rules governing the giving and receiving of Valentine’s Day gifts, but what rules should there be?

    The rule: Don’t expect a gift from your mate just because it’s Valentines Day. Look for the “roses” your loved one gives you each day. Example bringing you a cup of coffee in bed, helping you with a chore because you don’t have time to do it yourself, or just that extra kiss or I love you. Those are the roses/gifts I have come to realize count the most. BTW Thanks honey for my daily roses. (Chocolate is nice though:)

    5.If the Golden Rule says you should do unto others as you’d have others do unto you, what would the Silver and Bronze rules say?

    I have no clue!

  9. I’ve never been into a lot of “rules” more of a “do onto others…” type of a person.
    However, I drive my husband crazy when we go out to dinner as a family when I tell the girls “don’t eat too much that you ruin your appetite for dessert”
    priorities….

Comments are closed.