January 6

You know that children’s song that you sing in church…

“Oh be careful little mouth what you say.

Oh be careful little mouth what you say.

For the Father up above

Is looking down in love

So be careful little mouth what you say.”

It is true, because He is looking down in love, and he tests us.

Sunday I posted this.

Monday morning at 7:30, Superman called me to let me know he no longer has a job.

Now I am holding on to Hebrews 11:1 “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”

I know He is going to take care of us.

Period.

I have enough to worry about today.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

26 thoughts on “January 6”

  1. Matthew 6 is one of those very full passages. The Lord, Himself, teaches us to pray, tells us to lay up our treasures in heaven, and to seek Him first in all things and promises He will supply our needs. God is good and faithful and I know He will take care of you, too. Keep “holding”, CC and I will certainly be here praying. Love you, my wonderful Sister in Christ.

  2. The one I look to when things don’t go my way is:

    For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD. Isaiah 55:8

    I’m sure He has a plan for you and Superman.

  3. I am so sorry to hear this. I completely understand. We spent more time unemployed than employed in 2009. I know it’s such a scary time. But hang on tight, you *will* get to the other side of it!

  4. Know that you are not alone in this! 2009 was a lay-off year for us too (my husband), but through all challenges, as you already know, there comes opportunity. As Lisa said, God has a plan and while it is uncomfortable for us not to know all the details, we must find comfort in knowing He has a plan for us.

    Take care – put one foot in front of the other and know you are not alone.

    PS – I will send you an e-mail off-line with some information I believe will help.

  5. I’m so sorry.

    We’ve been there 3 times.

    This is the verse I cling to.

    For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11

    I’ll be praying for you.

  6. Isn’t it interesting how often we think we’ve learned a lesson in faith and then God asks whether we’ve REALLY learned that lesson? I will keep praying for you and your family that your strength will continue to be in the Lord, that Superman will find, not just a new job, but the right job.
    I don’t know how many times I’ve been able to look back on an unexpected job change, or a move, or whatever, and been able to say God’s plans were SO much better than the ones I had!

  7. This boat is getting bigger all the time. (Hope that the voting public will have had enough by November.) My beloved has been without work for about a year now and still the Lord provides. We can definitely attest to His faithfulness to meet every need. Am praying that your beloved is able to find a job that pays better and that he loves more in no time. And while you wait, don’t worry!

  8. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

    My cling to verse has always been Isaiah 40:31 and I have literally clung to it. “Those who HOPE in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

    Hang on tight.

  9. My husband has been laid off 3 times in the last 4 years. It is a horrible thing to go through-I was terrified that we’d never make it! It tests everything-but we always came out on the other side, stronger.

    I am so sorry about Superman’s job-but I know that there is something better waiting just around the bend.

    Hugs and love to you!

  10. Others have already said it and quoted some wonderful Bible verses that will help you through this, but I wanted to add my voice to the chorus. Your family will be in my prayers. You will be okay. Keep trusting.

  11. Please know that you are in my thoughts and my prayers. There verses I thought to share w/you have already been mentioned so I will not repeat them but I will pray them and claim them on behalf of your family and the others who are in the same circumstances.

    I just know that God will do a mighty thing in and through your family during this time.

  12. Keep holding on. The last thing I expected to happen at this time last year was to lose Jerry by the end of the summer. God always makes a way where there seems to be no way. It’s not always what we expect but He does work. He will take care of you.

  13. My DH is in new construction. Last year at this time his company said they had no work. So, DH decided to start his own business. We had 1 years worth of health insurance banked, and it runs out the end of this month. Times are rough, and you are not alone. God does have a plan. Keep faithin it right along with me. (((HUGS)))

  14. oh honey I’m so sorry. my hubby lost his job 2 times: once after 911 and once last summer. we worry everyday that it might go away again. you are SO not alone.
    I will keep you and your family in my thoughts. please make sure you and your hubby envision him working in a new environment..see every detail for it will happen.
    let me know if there is anyone I can do…I know how hard this is I truly do.

  15. When God gives you lemons just make lemonade. Been through it with Uncle Jim becoming disabled and not being able to work. God sees the whole picture,while we just see one frame. He will be there for you. Prayers are going up,up,up. We love you.

  16. Oh, honey, I feel your pain. My dh did not have a paycheck all of 2009. We have been living off our savings and investments. We are almost bone dry. It has stretched farther than we ever imagined it would and only God could have done that. I know God has a plan, we can only pray and stay in his Word.

    Pam

Comments are closed.