January 3

Last week we got a new shower curtain.

I don’t like it.

It is thin,  and sticks to you.

Blech!

A few days ago I was in the shower peeling the shower curtain off of me for the umpteenth time, and out of the corner of my eye, I saw a spider, and Internet, there may or may not have been some jumping and squealing.

Okay, there was some jumping and squealing.

After I backed as far away as I could I took another look, and low and behold, it was the weight on the bottom of the shower curtain.

Huge mental sigh of relief.

But throughout the rest of the shower, I’d look at that stupid weight again and again just to make sure it wasn’t a spider even though I knew it wasn’t.

But it got me to thinking.

You know we as humans see much of our difficulties out of the corner of our eyes.

We perceive a spider, we jump, we squeal, we worry and complain only to realize that it was a silly weight…a bit of nothing to be concerned about.

And while we breath a huge mental sigh of relief, we have wasted a huge amount of energy jumping and squealing and worrying and complaining.

We even look at it again and again just to be sure it isn’t what we thought.

Matthew 6:34 says “So, don’t worry about tomorrow because tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.

This year, this is what I’m gonna work on, not worrying about the peripheral, but concentrating on just what is in front of me.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

14 thoughts on “January 3”

  1. This is so timely for me. I am working on the same thing. I am reading a book by Elizabeth George about doing just that. It is called Loving God With all of Your Mind. The focus is on Matthew 6:34. I will be looking straight ahead with you!

  2. I say that verse to myself a lot. My MIL would say, “don’t borrow trouble”. Good words. It’s OK to know that there is a spider lurking somewhere in the dark, but keeping my eyes on Jesus is the answer. Lovely post, CC.

  3. “Don’t trouble Trouble ’til Trouble troubles you” as they say. This has happened to me, not in quite the same way, but I was nodding my head knowing exactly what you were talking about. Those shower curtains are the puds. I wind up sticking mine to the sides of the shower walls so it won’t stick to me.

  4. You are so excellent. Thank you, once again, for your incredibly insightful perspective. I love how you can bring it back to having the Lord in our lives, time and time again!

  5. I’ve been having this conversation with my oldest son over the last few months. But like so many lessons I teach my children, I then hear that small voice say, “So, are you following your own advice?”
    I hate it when that happens 🙂

Comments are closed.