December 31

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times; it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness; it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity; it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness; it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair; we had everything before us, we had nothing before us; we were all going directly to Heaven, we were all going the other way.”

~~Charles Dickens

This quote totally sums up my year.

What sums up  yours?

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

12 thoughts on “December 31”

  1. Dickens…I’m quite sure he’s been gone for some time, but he nailed 2009. I tell myself that next year has got to be better, but then I remember a few things…

  2. “I have always grown from my problems and challenges, from the things that don’t work out, that’s when I’ve really learned.”–Carol Burnett

    Happy New Year!

  3. Funny how we think the world is so much changed from 100 or 200 or even 1000 years ago. And there really is nothing new under the sun. 2009 had it’s darkness and it’s light, but I’m hoping 2010 will have more of the latter.

  4. “The people walking in darkness have seen a great light: on those living in the land of the shadow of death, a light has dawned.” Isaiah 9:2

    The year began in the darkness of depression–when I was sleeping up to 16 hours a day. It ends in the light of hope. Thank God for medication and Christian therapists.

  5. Mine was mostly comprised of “the worst of times” with a small amount of good only in the last two months. 2009 will forever be known as my worst year ever. I hope this year will be better.

    Happy new year to you all.

  6. For me 2009 was a better year than 2008, that was my worst year. I do not have as many close family members to lose this year due to the losses of the past 2 years.

    2009 was a year of growth and stepping out of my comfort zones and it is looking like 2010 will be more of the same.

Comments are closed.