December 22

My TWD will be posted later on this week.   However, I do have a food offering for you.

Confession time.

I have not wrapped a single Christmas gift.

Not a single one.

I don’t know what I’m waiting for.

Maybe an Elf to do it for me???

Instead I have been making Oreo Truffles and Red Velvet Swirl Pound Cake.

Unfortunately, I made a boo-boo with this one.   My cake plate broke, and I don’t have anything large enough to put a bundt cake on.

Because of the volume I ‘thought’ it would have, I put it into 2 loaf pans instead of one.

Big mistake.

It didn’t raise.   You just can’t serve inch and a half pound cake, so I made petite fours out of it.

Delicious pound cake, and the girl and I had loads of fun decorating them.

Red Velvet Swirl Pound Cake from Southern Living Christmas 2009

  • 3 cups sifted cake flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract~~I used Butter Rum
  • 1/3 cup milk chocolate morsels, melted
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon red liquid food coloring
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 9 tablespoons whipping cream
  • pinch of salt
  • edible white glitter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Sift together flour and 3/4 teaspoon salt in a bowl.

Beat butter in a large mixing bowl at medium speed with an electric mixer 2 minutes or until creamy.  Gradually add granulated sugar;  beat at medium speed 5 minutes or until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating just until yellow disappears.

Gradually add one half of flour mixture to butter mixture, beating at low speed.  Add 1 cup cream and extracts, beating until just blended.  Add remaining flour mixture, beating until just blended.  Scrape down sides of bowl;  increase speed to medium high and beat 5 minutes.  (Batter will become very creamy and satiny.)

Reserve 1 1/2 cups batter.  Pour remaining batter into a greased and floured 10 inch tube pan.  Add melted chocolate and food coloring to reserved batter;  stir until blended.  Add to batter in pan in 2 batches, using a spoon to swirl the batters.

Bake at 350 degrees for one hour and 5 minutes or until a long wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on wire rack 30 minutes.  Run a knife around the edges to loosen cake;  cool completely in pan.

Whisk together powdered sugar, 9 tablespoons cream, and pinch of salt in a bowl until smooth;  spoon thickly over cake.  Let stand 5 minutes;  sprinkle with edible glitter.  Yields 12 servings.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

15 thoughts on “December 22”

  1. What a fabulous way to fix a “mistake”. Speaking of your girl, I saw part of Good Morning America today and the cast/choir of the musical Billy Elliott was one singing and I swear one of them look exactly like your daughter. I kept waiting for the camera to go back to her and every time, I confirmed that she looked just like her. You know what they say, everyone has a twin. Anyway, love your lil’ cakes!

    Also, usually EVERY year I am left to wrap all the presents (that’s for at least the four boys and my husband and whoever else) and I always wait until Christmas Eve and am left wrapping until way into the night to get it done. I promised this year I wouldn’t do that. So on Saturday night I wrapped four gifts and told myself I’d do that every night. Nope, just four wrapped so far! Sigh! I’ve got to get on it. I literally have to “force” my husband just to wrap mine so I get to open some gifts. He’d really rather just had the gifts to me in the shopping bags, well, except that he gets everything from Amazon, so I guess the brown box! Okay, sorry, you got me off on a tangent there!

  2. Nice recovery, girlfriend! When I was in baking school they called instances such as this an “opportunity” waiting to happen. You get a gold star! 🙂

  3. I used to make celebration cakes, and we always said any mistake could be made into a “feature”. A sugar flower or butterfly were the most used “features”, lol.

  4. Beautiful. I love Southern Living. I really need to get the 2009 Christmas book. I went to a thrift store and found a bunch of old one in mint condition! You did an amazing job on this dessert. I think the petit fours are lovely.

    P.S.- I just started wrapping gifts last night! I also just finished my shopping today. Kinda finished. I need to buy a few more presents, but will wait after Christmas (hehe).

  5. In the same boat with you on the wrapping thing. I’ve only wrapped what I absolutely had to…must get going.

    Oh boy howdy…you sure know how to turn a mistake into a good thing. What scrumptious looking creations.

    Best wishes with the wrapping.

Comments are closed.