November 13

It is Friday Internet.

 

Friday the 13th.

 

As I was laying in bed this morning, in the 30 minutes that I was willing myself to crawl OUT of the bed, I was thinking about that date and horror movies.

 

The first horror movie that I ever saw was Children Of the Corn, and I was 13 or 14.

 

What was the first horror movie that you ever saw, and if you haven’t seen a horror movie, what was the first movie that you ever saw in a movie theater?

 

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

20 thoughts on “November 13”

  1. When I was a kid, us kids lived in a bedroom down in the basement. There was an old British movie called “The Fall of the House of Usher”. About a wealthy family who’s members sucumbed to insanity one by one. Of course, there was a crypt involved. Scared us to death(we weren’t supposed to be watching it)! My brother tried to scare the rest of us by re-enacting parts of it. Ended up scaring HIMSELF so bad that he had to run upstairs to Mom and Dad. On the way upstairs we had to pass an old coal shute door that looked ominously like that crypt in the movie. Terrifying night!

  2. We weren’t allowed to watch scary movies. In fact, we didn’t get to watch many movies at all, really. The first movie I saw in the theater was Disney’s The Aristocats.

    I do remember my first opportunity to watch a scary movie – I was at a friend of my boyfriend’s and there were no parents home ( I think we were about 16). Every one else wanted to watch the movie, and I didn’t, so I chose to go for a walk outside. And my boyfriend joined me, instead of watching the movie, too.

  3. I saw Children of the Corn at a 5th grade slumber party. We had to turn it off because we were so freaked, so we watched Cujo instead! I still have bad memories of those movies.

  4. I think one of the first ones I saw was either a hell raiser or one of the friday the 13th movies… somehow I block them out… now that Im adult I cant watch them at all!
    When I was a kid we had a dog that looked like Cujo… his name was Doofus… not very scary but all the kids were petrified of him.

  5. I was about 21 when I saw my first “horror” film – The Shining – and I’ve never seen another one. You know what? I don’t need that crap in my head!

    I have no idea what my first movie in the theatre was – my Mom and Dad used to take us to the drive-in when we were little kids. We moved to Oregon from California when I was 4 and I have memories of the drive-in in California with my cousins – so I must have been 3 or so.

  6. I’m not a horror movied kind of girl – don’t think I ever seen any -personal choice. The first movie I remember going to see in theaters was Bedknobs and Broomsticks! Still a favorite!

  7. My mom has told me the first movie I sat in a theater for was Lady and the Tramp.
    Probably my first horror movie was Jaws (3D)way back when, late 70’s early 80’s? But in my teen years, I LOVED the Nightmare on Elm St. movies. For some reason, my best friend and I loved Freddy Kruger, we thought he was cool.
    Another great “horror” movie is Wait Until Dark with Audrey Hepburn. I screamed in that one!

  8. When I was about 10, we went to the local theatre for the Saturday matinee while mother did her shopping. I saw a movie with Vincent Price named ‘The Cabinet of Calagary’. It was the first and the last horror movie I ever saw.

    And I didn’t allow my kids to watch them either, but they did manage to see a few at friends houses.

  9. I remember seeing Bambi in the theatre when I was 8. That was the original, first time showing Bambi. Just read my name–it was a long-long time ago.

    I AVOID horror movies.

  10. Andy Warhol’s Dracula was released in 1974. My “group” was underage (the first release was an X-rating for violence) so we sneaked into the theater with help from an usher friend. Scared the bejeezers out of me. Pretty much cured me of horror flicks.

  11. That a long time ago, but the first one that made an impression, enough for me to remember, was “Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds” , I was 6 or 7 years old at the time.

    I know that I had seen others such as the very old horror films but The Birds was the first film that defined “horror film” to me.

  12. Carrie…I was 16, it was a school night and I had a test the next day. I didn’t sleep all night. I kept the light on for two weeks! I could never figure out why my parents let me go to a movie on a school night. It was awful.

Comments are closed.