November 10*updated*

I heart apple crisp.

Actually I could just eat the crisp, apples be hanged.

Many times I do just that.

I’ll get me a serving, and scrape all the fruit out, give it to Superman and eat the crisp and the apple juice.

I also tend to scrape off all the icing off a piece of cake and eat just the icing.

Just sayin’.

I tweaked today’s TWD recipe just a wee bit.

Okay, a lot bit.

Em of The Repressed Pastry Chef chose Cran-Apple Crisps.

I made Caramel Walnut Apple Crisps, and I added freshly grated nutmeg to both the apple filling and the topping.

I made it this way for several reasons.

  1. I happen to think that caramel, walnuts and apples go together very well.
  2. I’ll eat the apple filling a whole lot better if it is surrounded by gooey caramel, which will make me look more like an adult, instead of a picky 5 year old.
  3. I didn’t have any cranberries.
  4. I refuse to put raisins in anything, aaaaand
  5. I don’t like coconut in my topping.

Ok, so this recipe looks absolutely nothing like Dories recipe..except for the apples…and the topping.

I haven’t baked it yet because I want to eat it warm for dessert tonight, but I just know it is going to be fabulous.

You just can’t go wrong with caramel, and crisp topping.

*burp*

If you want the recipe, go check out Em’s blog.

You’ll be very glad you did…especially if you add caramel and nuts to your apples.

 

This was absolutely fabulous.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

55 thoughts on “November 10*updated*”

  1. Oh, I’m doing this version soon! This sounds so wonderful…not sure the guys will go for the nuts IN it, but maybe I can put the nuts just in a very small section for me & mark it somehow. Yep, looks delightful, and I am sure it will taste delightful.

  2. WHOA.

    Again I say, WHOA.

    Is that by any chance the caramel they sell on the KAF site? I’ve been eyeing that stuff.

    Looks fabulous. And oh, I think it’s very adult to eat the crisp…and frosting for that matter. Is that wrong????

  3. Omg, I love you! πŸ˜€ Your crisp sounds even better than the original recipe. Can I come live with you? πŸ™‚ I am making this Thanksgiving week and may have to tweek it along the lines you did.

  4. You are an evil genius! Caramel Walnut Apple crisps!?!? Please…please…post a picture of this decadent dessert, will you? I’m so excited to see the warm, gooey finished product. Enjoy!

  5. I would love to see a photo of the baked, before anyone digs into it, version right along w/Pamela please.

    Both versions sound very good but then I do like cranberries as well as coconut right along with the walnuts and caramels.

    Now serving both would be the height of decedent!!!

  6. WOW.. it seems that your recipe might be a whole lot better! That gooey caramel sounds like a great twist. I think you did an awesome job on those crisps. I’m still undecided between the crisps or the cookies, but I might have just made up my mind, thanks!

  7. What no sprinkling of chocolate dust? he he Wow , your variations top out the Dorie version although I really did like a lot. I think crisps are super delicious too. Great job! Your photos look wonderful.
    AmyRuth

  8. Holy cow, your photos are just STUNNING! I had to look twice at the shaved ‘coconut’ because it looked so white and different, HAH! Caramel and apples are the perfect pairing, what a great tweak! =) I loved this one!

Comments are closed.