October 13

I was so happy when I saw today’s TWD recipe of Allspice Pumpkin Pie Spice Muffins that Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table picked for us.

You see, I have been in a funk for the last couple of months.

A baking funk.

A cleaning funk.

A cooking funk.

A blogging funk.

A funk funk.

This recipe was simple, easy, and quick, and just what I needed.

I tweaked the recipe just slightly.

I melted the butter before adding it to the crumb topping.   I think doing that makes a much better topping.

I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of allspice.

I had allspice, but I didn’t want to have to dig for it, because hellooooo  funk!

This goes together in about 6 minutes.

Bakes in 20 minutes.

And 2 of them will pay for a house call from the computer repair man.

Score!

If you want the recipe for these quick, easy, tasty, but slightly ugly muffins, go check out Kayte’s blog.   She has the recipe.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

50 thoughts on “October 13”

  1. So happy you liked them as I was worried b/c they had no chocolate in them. I fully expected to see some in there somewhere when I came a visiting! Your spice change sounds good, and I will try the melting butter trick as it sounds a bit easier than crumbling all that other up with fingertips. Love all the tweaks everyone has each week. Thanks for enjoying the recipe and I hope it helped relieve some of the funk!

  2. Muffins look good to me–probably because they are easier to make and I have the ingredients.

    Sorry about the funk I went into a funk last August and did not emerge until March. I’m so happy to be out of dah funk. I pray your funk ends quickly.

  3. I am in love with your photography! I need to step it up a bit!
    I also was thinking about making these muffins next with pumpkin spices!

  4. Just popped in from Mary Anne’s. Your muffins look tempting too. I like the idea of the pumpkin spice. I’m thinking of dividing the batter and changing off the spice mix. What do you think? Thanks so much for sharing…Bookmarked!!!

  5. Now, why on earth, when you visited me, would you say your muffins look ugly. They look FANTASTIC.

    And your photos are gorgeous.

    Great job.

    And thanks for the melted butter tip.

  6. ok, your muffins do not look ugly AT ALL! I sort of wish my camera had not broken so you could have seen what I meant when I said mine were ugly…think amorphous… Anyway, I’m glad you are getting out of your funk! Oh and I’ll definitely be melting my butter for the crumb topping next time!

  7. I laughed when you said ‘slightly ugly muffins’! Mine dont look ‘pretty’ but Im waiting to try since they just came out of the oven. Don’t you hate it when you get in a funk??? Glad you enjoyed them!

  8. These look great Tanya – love the idea of melting the struesel topping butter, because the hardest part is rubbing butter into dry ingredients. The perfect simple recipe for getting out of a funk!

  9. Man, I wish I would have thought about melting the butter for the topping first. I had a bit of trouble with it! And I almost did the pumpkin pie spice switch but I decided to actually get some allspice. Your muffins look a lot better than mine!

  10. Sorry you’ve been funky lately. I hate it when that happens. Love the idea of pumpkin pie spice! The allspice was just a tad too much like cloves. I’m also glad I added chocolate.
    Gonna have to try your melted butter trick with the streusel.

  11. Pumpkin spice sounds like a delicious variation! You know, I go into a funk every year for the whole month before my birthday and then it lifts. I hope all that excellent birthday chocolate helps to lift you up.

  12. I’m getting ready to make these. 😛 I don’t know if I have any pumpkin spice. If I don’t, I’ll use whatever spices I put in my pumpkin pie. I’ll report back and let you know how well they came out. I’ll serve them on a red tray in honor of you.

Comments are closed.