October 8

Today is Barefoot Blogger day.

I bet you thought that I had given up on them.

Nope.

Last month was all cake, and while I heart me some cake, I also do TWD and I just don’t need that much sweet in the house.

The best part of the pig is bacon.

I know…ribs are fabulous.  Ham is what we eat at Easter.  Pork loin is tender and succulent, but Internet bacon is the most flavorful, the most versatile, and the most favorite part of the pig.

You can wrap bacon around a fillet minion.

You can wrap bacon around chicken.

Bacon cheese burgers.

Bacon on meat loaf.

Bacon on pizza.

Chocolate covered bacon.

Bacon, bacon, bacon!

If I see a recipe and the first ingredient begins with bacon, it stops me right in my tracks.

This recipe of Cheddar C0rn Chowder that Jill of My Next Life chose for today’s Barefoot Bloggers begins just that way.

8 ounces of bacon.

Way to go Ina.   Drag me in…hook…line and sinker with those 4 little words.

I tweaked this recipe in several ways.

1.   I do not like thin soup, and this soup calls for 12 cups of chicken stock so I halved the amount of liquid.

2.  I also just added about 1 cup of straight cream.

3.  I knew I had frozen corn.   I always have frozen corn.   When I looked in my freezer there was no corn, so I had to use canned.

4.   Aldi doesn’t carry sharp white cheddar cheese, so I used regular cheddar cheese.

5.   I didn’t add the tumeric because I didn’t think it would be good in it.

The end.

Oh…Internet….this soup is perfect for a cool winter day.

Cheddar Corn Chowder

nocoupons

  • 8 ounces bacon, chopped
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 6 cups chopped yellow onions (4 large onions)
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 12 cups chicken stock
  • 6 cups medium-diced white boiling potatoes, unpeeled (2 pounds)
  • 10 cups corn kernels, fresh (10 ears) or frozen (3 pounds)
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 8 ounces sharp white cheddar cheese, grated

Directions

In a large stockpot over medium-high heat, cook the bacon and olive oil until the bacon is crisp, about 5 minutes. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and reserve. Reduce the heat to medium, add the onions and butter to the fat, and cook for 10 minutes, until the onions are translucent.

Stir in the flour, salt, pepper, and turmeric and cook for 3 minutes. Add the chicken stock and potatoes, bring to a boil, and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes, until the potatoes are tender. If using fresh corn, cut the kernels off the cob and blanch them for 3 minutes in boiling salted water. Drain. (If using frozen corn you can skip this step.) Add the corn to the soup, then add the half-and-half and cheddar. Cook for 5 more minutes, until the cheese is melted. I also added all the bacon back into the soup at this point. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper. Serve hot with a garnish of bacon.

Make it, your mouth will be happy with you for days.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

23 thoughts on “October 8”

  1. I love this soup too–but didn’t add the bacon into the soup, just sprinkled on the top, and mixed them in later. Good to know that you were able to use the canned corn successfully. I love how easy the ingredient was (pantry-type of ingredients) so I will make this again in the future for sure.

  2. You would post one of my favorite foods when I’m nearly smack dab in the middle of six weeks of being NPO! You made my mouth water!!! YUMMY!

    I have a corn chowder recipe – you can see it here: http://livingthedslife.wordpress.com/ds-friendly-recipes/ – under the Soups heading, called “Dina’s Favorite Corn Chowder.” I think it would be greatly improved with the addition of the bacon – thanks for the great idea!

      1. Nothing by mouth – nothing at all to eat or drink. I’m on day 20 of 42. I got very, very ill – from taking too much ibuprofen – it caused several holes in my stomach. Being NPO is supposed to help heal them up. I’m on IV nutrition.

        Being a foodie and NPO kinda sucks!

  3. I absolutely LOVE your blog and sense of humor. My husband’s aphrodisiac is bacon cookin’! He’s putty in my hands when I cook with bacon. As for the tumeric– it actually added color, but you can’t taste it. It’s poor woman’s “saffon”. I’ll be back– terrific photos.

  4. This looks wonderful. I too like a thicker soup; and, as I am cooking for one, six cups of broth would make a much better amount of soup.

    Yes, what is NPO? I’ll watch for the answer.

  5. Oh, that looks DIVINE for a chilly day! Make up some green onion cornbread or muffins for dipping, and you are set to go! I agree with you on the turmeric too, I think just the salt & pepper is enough with all the other flavors going on.

  6. That has to be the most gorgeous, delectable pictures of bacon I have EVER seen. I can see a visit to the grocery store soon.

    Plus the soup looks great too.

    I wrap my thanksgiving turkey with bacon btw 🙂

  7. That looks great! Bacon is wonderful. Another alternative to using less liquid is to add more flour to get it to thicken it up more. I suspect that’s what I did although I didn’t measure all that carefully (or at all) so it’s hard to say. It’s such a good soup you should make it again with frozen corn. And fresh corn. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me.

    My aldi’s carries sharp and mild cheddar, too bad yours doesn’t.

    And i’m anal and insane and it’s filet mignon.

  8. Gorgeous, yummy, soup! I made this a few years ago and LOVED it.:)

    I’m hopeful to get to make it again and post about it the next time we post for BB. I’m out of town in North Carolina visiting family right now.:)

  9. I haven’t had corn chowder in many years, my mother would make it for dinner when I was younger. Corn doesn’t agree w/me since I had my daughter so I do not eat it very often (whole corn is my problem not cornmeal and the like).

Comments are closed.