August 29

I have always been one that longs for things I can not afford, and decide to be content with what I have.

And it works.

Mostly.

I am quite content with all that I have.

At least I was, until….

Until this past week, when I went to visit with some family and a family member pulled out his Nikon D40x.

His Nikon D40x did not have cream colored paint schmears on its camera body.

His Nikon D40x did not have scratches on the viewing screen.

His Nikon D40x did not have flour and cake batter crusted in the grips on his 18-135 kit lens that has been threatening to completely stop working altogether the next time it is taken into the kitchen.

His Nikon D40x did have this 18-200mm, auto-focus-vibration-reduction lens attached to it along with some fabulous digital flash.

It was a glorious sight to behold.

Then he allowed me to take pictures with it.

Instantly I became rather discontented with my 18-135mm auto focus BROKEN lens, and suddenly I can not remember the 10th commandment.

.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

8 thoughts on “August 29”

  1. Usually I am quite content with what I have. Last year I wanted to move to a more convenient location. I turned it over to God and I did not get what I wanted. This year I see how good it is that I am here and did not move.

    However, a new camera–now that would be nice. I have a broken camera which I purchased in 1990,but, even with a new camera I doubt I would take pictures as good as those that you post.

  2. I have been very uncontent with my camera as of late. I had one picked out for a Christmas gift but Santa wasnt being frivilous about then. But just last night after I plead my case Santa took a look and again stated….ummmmm

    Maybe????

  3. I’ve been pretty content here of late, God has really been answering my prayers. My best friend that I’m doing school with, is slowly drawing closer to God. And He answered another prayer in a way that I would have preferred that this person hadn’t gotten hurt, But if that’s what it takes, than I’m content with it. That doesn’t mean that I wont worry about my friend a lot, but I thank God a million times and more for what He’s done. That in and of it’s self is enough to make me sigh with contentment. Have a peachy day y’all!!!!!
    Love,
    kbvintagechic

  4. LOL, yes it so easy to want the shiny things of this world.

    By your blog pictures, we cannot tell that anything is broken or scratched or that cake batter is crusted in places it ought not be.

  5. Find yourself a nice soft cloth to clean your camera with. I know there are ways to repair a scratched lens, don’t recall them at this time but I’m sure you can Google it,and take care of those things which you can on your camera.

    Now remember the time when you didn’t have this nice nifty camera and think about the photos you’d be taking if you didn’t have it. Then be thankful that you have such a wonderful camera.

    At times I become discontent with what I do have and long for what others do have. But God manages to get through to me somehow that having those things will not make my life better, I’ll only be content for a short time then.

  6. Mat 6:19 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal,
    Mat 6:20 but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.
    Mat 6:21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

    God says it best!

  7. I don’t have a DSLR at ALL…and I am quite discontented in general about that. *sigh* I’m thinking if I got one and if by some chance my writing were more interesting, I’d have more visitors…oh well! Dare to dream! HAHAHA!

Comments are closed.