August 4

I have never been much of a fan of Banana Nut Bread.

Every Banana Nut Bread that I have ever eaten has been dry or crumbly, or in desperate need of some something.

Something like a trash can.

So I really wasn’t really wanting to making this.

Then I read everyone gushing over this, and figured…why not.

I added some butterscotch chips and pecans, for insurance reasons.

I figured, if the bread was nasty, I could still pluck out the nuts and chips.

I was still afraid that it would be dry.

At my parents house, this past Saturday, I was looking at one of my Grandma Teal’s home made cook books, and came across a Butterscotch Sauce recipe.

Perfect.

I was now insured of a moist cake.

Thanks to Mary of The Food Librarian, I now like banana cake.

Whooo Hooo!

Butterscotch Sauce

  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • ½ c. water
  • 2 tbsp. corn starch
  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Bring all to a boil in a heavy sauce pan.   Boil 2 minutes.   Pour over warm cake.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

49 thoughts on “August 4”

  1. Looks fabulous, bet that butterscotch glaze was great! This is a far cry from a dry banana bread, in fact it’s definitely more cake than quick bread. There’s another banana cake recipe in Dorie’s book that I made over Memorial Day and that was fabulous too! i would have to make it again to decide which one i like better.

    As for this cake, we loved it so much I have received several requests to make it again. Will make a great snack cake for back to school!

  2. BUTTERSCOTCH SAUCE??? Oh snap, that’s all I have to say. THANK YOU!!! This looks amazing. We’re going to have to have a little sauce on it for dinner tonight. But I was thinking about you when I made this – because chocolate and bananas are just so perfect together.

  3. I will try this. Looks WONDERFUL! and thanks for sharing your Grandma Teal’s recipe for the butterscotch sauce. BONUS! 🙂

    Tanya, I was looking on the TWD website, and you are 30 Tuesdays away at #103. Have you decided on your recipe? Am I being too forward to think it will contain chocolate??? 🙂 Seems to me, you have to live up to your name-sake.

    Signed,
    PattyMO, addicted to Chocolatechic’s blog 🙂

  4. you seriously had butterscotch sauce with that cake? OMG! terrific stuff. Love the way you insert ingredients so that you have something to fall back on when it fails. But then again, you never seem to do so. Cheers!

  5. Great sauce on this one.

    did you try the cake without the sauce? It was really moist.

    Will have to try that sauce. Thanks.

  6. Well, I came a visitin’ bright and early this morning, but you weren’t posted yet, so I thought I would let you sleep in a bit before I checked in again…then life started happening and here it is dinnertime already! Your cake looks great…love all those bits peeking out and the dusting! Yep, you sure know how to do a fine cake over there, banana or not!

  7. those photos are. insane. i’m a huge fan of banana bread, plain or doctored up. your butterscotch additions look amazing! that’s the kind of bread/cake that you can nibble on all day long…

  8. Wow, I never would have thought of pairing butterscotch with banana and I don’t know why – it looks fantastic and super moist!

  9. Glad this cake turned you into a banana cake liker! Your butterscotch sauce all but guaranteed it, but I love how this cake can stand on its own. This is so much better than banana bread. Yours looks great!

  10. Yay, a convert! 😉 I love all things banana. This cake was great! Love your nutty, scotchy additions! I made the cake, took all my pics, went out of town and forgot to take my computer with me! Ugh! I’ll be posting a two for one next week!

  11. I wouldn’t have thought of butterscotch sauce, but it sure does sound delicious. My cake keeps getting more moist every day. I expect to find a puddle tomorrow. 😉

  12. I am amazed that you managed to make this without adding chocolate to the mix 😉

    That butterscotch sauce sounds amazing, I’m bookmarking it for future use!

    P.S. I managed to salvage 3 mini bundt cakes and ate them all in one sitting, they were tooooo good and I needed them!

Comments are closed.