July 22

About 12 years ago, Superman and I moved to the country, and we lived there for 5 years.

I love the country.

I love the peace and quiet that comes from not having neighbors weed wack their lawns at 6:30 in the morning, or stay up till 1am with their music blaring and kids screaming like wild banshees all. summer. long.

I love the fresh air.

I love the fact that neighbors are willing to give you 2 gallons of raw milk a week.

For 2 years I had a free supply of milk

Then the friends moved away, and we moved to town.

And Chocolatechic was appalled at the price of milk, and stopped purchasing it.

For 7 years.

But guess what?

I now own a cow.

Yep.

I named her Tartare.

Actually, I don’t own a whole cow, just a part of a cow.

It is called herd sharing.

Because I own part of a cow, I get to drink her milk.

You know what comes along with milk?

Cream.

See that lovely darker line…that is all glorious cream, Internet.

You know what comes along with cream?

Butter!

And y’all know how much I heart buttah.

I’m gonna show you how I make it.

First you skim the cream off the top of the milk.

I got 2 quarts of cream from 3 gallons of milk.

It is important that you let the cream sit on the counter till it becomes about 60º.

If you do, butter will happen in about 10-15 minutes.

It takes much, much, much longer to make butter if you skip this step.

Then you hand these jars over to your slaves chips, and have them shake.

And in about 15 minutes you have butter.

Now you drain your butter.    The leftovers???

Buttermilk, baby.

Real buttermilk.

Now it is time to wash your butter.

Dump it into a bowl and fill it up with cold water.

Get a flat spatula, and swirl the butter around.

The water will turn milky.

Drain the water and smoosh the butter against the side of the bowl.

Repeat till the water is clear.

This is after about 5 washes.

I did another 2 or 3 before the water was clear.

If you don’t get the water clear, your butter will go rancid.

Salt your butter.

Stir it all up.

Scrape out all your dry butter and put it in a container.

I got about 10 ounces of butter from those 3 gallons of milk.

Thanks Tartare.

You are my favorite cow.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

39 thoughts on “July 22”

  1. I have never heard of herd sharing. I wonder if we have something like that here? How do I find out?

    Is it cheaper buying raw milk this way and get the milk, buttah, and buttahmilk from it?

  2. I started getting raw milk about 3-4 months ago and I love it. In MN, farmers can not sell raw milk to a retail outlet (ie. grocery store). But they can do private sales. The farmer that I use takes orders and delivers it weekly to someone’s very large garage and stores it in coolers, where we have to pick it up each Tuesday morning. I have just been drinking the milk. But I may have to try making my own butter and buttermilk next. Thanks for the great idea. Enjoy your milk.

  3. You sound like me – I love the country, and am plotting and planning to move there, somehow, someway, someday. I would LOVE to share a cow. And thanks for the excellent tutorial on butter making.

  4. I am cracking up at myself because I’m so grossed out by this. I realize this is healthier than pasteurized milk and considered a delicacy of sorts, but I just don’t ‘do’ milk well (or meat stuff well, either). I have to pretend my chicken breasts and butter were born at the grocery store and never really from animals. Thank you for this post, I might lose a pound or two from grossing myself out. lol. I hope you’ll still let me read your blog, even though I’m a freak 🙂 hee hee.

  5. What a lucky cow and by extension, a lucky family. I WANT A COW!

    *taps on screen* Hello Chocolate Chic customer service? Where might I get some of those nice canning jars? I heart them.

  6. Congrats on the cow!
    I’ve had kids help make butter before but it was with store bought cream. I do not know if any of the dairy farmers around here do any of the herd sharing or not but that is a great idea.

    Of course if there are no groups doing this it is possible to find friends who want to do it and if one of them has the means to keep the cow then the others could help with the support and upkeep of the cow.

  7. You can make the butter also in your mixer. Just beat it until the whipped cream comes, then continue beating and soon you will see butter. then to rinse, do the same thing. drain the buttermilk and add water, beat a bit, drain,repeat until nice and rinsed….all in all, about 5 minutes from raw cream to rinsed butter 🙂

    That is, when your slaves aren’t there at your beck and call 🙂

  8. How can you make an injured girl work so hard? What happened to her finger? I made butter about a hundred years ago when I was in kindergarten. We used an old wooden churn. I love butter!!

  9. I remember when my second grade teacher tried to show us how to make butter. She insisted on using buttermilk. We churned all day to no avail. She couldn’t figure out what was wrong. Some of us knew why, but were afraid to say.

  10. Aunt Glenna used to have a Jersey cow. Love the cream. Aunt G made the worlds best coffee & let me use all the cream I wanted for my coffee. I used to live right behing Youngs Jersey Dairy when they sold raw milk & Jerry & I would fight( excuse me…ARGUE) over cream vs butter. I didn’t like his butter & wanted all that wonderful cream for my coffee. His butter didn’t taste good…no salt….I love buttermilk now… couldn’t stand it when I was young but have never had it fresh.
    Pray for him. He is NOT well.

  11. Jose and I used to oun a cow share a couple of years ago. I made butter in my mixer. It is illegal to sell raw milk for human consumption (must be labeled as pet food)in NC. Poor Buddy never got any of it. They are trying to pass a law so that all raw milk sold will have charcoal in it(pets don’t care)so that us humans won’t drink it and thereby contract some fatal disease from it. Isn’t it nice that the government is so concerned about our health? But don’t get me started on that subject…

  12. So… whatcha gonna do with the buttermilk????

    I’d like to herdshare but I think I’d prefer mine in hamburger form?? Do the Amish offer that option??

      1. Mmmmm… biscuits sound yummy. I’m embarrased to admit I’ve only started making bisucits from scratch recently. I had always used Bisquick but homemade are super easy and much better.

  13. Freezer? I’ll give that a try. My family LOVES biscuits and each time I make them they seem to turn out better. The first time they were a bit like hockey pucks and didn’t raise at all but when I looked at my baking powder it had expired in 2006 😦
    I cleaned out my spice cabinet the next day.

  14. That is awesome. I want part of a cow! Well really I want your butter. I am dreaming of all the wonderful things I’d make if I had your butter… first some rolls so that you can spread it on and eat it just like that, then a pound cake, then maybe a peach pie because i have about 50 peaches in the fridge….. mmmmmmmm

  15. I’m with you Aunt Mary! Grrr!

    CC, you’ve convinced me. I have been buying local milk that was pasteurized but not homogenized – it’s worlds beyond store milk, but I have been meaning to find a cow share. Thanks to this awesome post, I have. Yippee! Fresh milk!

    By the way, I hate the moniker “raw milk” – it implies milk is something that should be cooked before consumption. It’s “fresh milk,” but then, that’s just me. 😀

  16. You are so smart, Country Girl Chocolatechic!!! I learned a lot. YIPPEE
    So glad you and Tartare are such close friends. She would be so proud of you and your chips.
    Thanks for dairy 101.
    AmyRuth

  17. I did the whole jar-shaking, cream-into-butter thing when I was in 2nd grade as a class experiment. It was the neatest thing to shake the jar and find butter in the end. Thanks for sharing all the “extra” steps.

  18. Awesome! I have accidentally made butter from over whipping cream, so I just stuck in in a jar and had the boys shake away. Fun, fun.
    Whatcha gonna make with all that butta?

Comments are closed.