July 7

So, I have to go back to the dentist next Monday.

I must return for 2 reasons.

It seems that a piece of the bonding on my permanent retainer is gone.

Gone?

How could it be gone?

I don’t eat anything hard enough to remove permanent bonding.

Also, according to my dental hygienist I don’t floss enough.

Who flosses enough?

I hate to floss, and I told her so.

She laughed and said “I can tell.”

I also have the beginnings of a cavity.

Sigh.

I lay the blame for this solely on all the vegetables I eat.

I gravitate toward beans.

Specifically cacao beans.

These beans, it seems, when mixed with a small bit of milk and sugar isn’t good for the teeth.

What?

Veggies bad for the teeth?

That is not what my mama told me, as she spooned broccoli and cooked spinach on my plate.

And in honor of my favorite vegetable, Lisa of Surviving Oz picked out today’s TWD.

Katherine Hepburn brownies, and they are chock full of beans.

They are also made in just one pot.

Yes.   One pot.

Fabulous, healthy, and hardly any dishes.

You just can’t ask for more than that!

Instead of putting strong coffee in the brownies, I put in cappuccino chips.

*insert picture of fabulous cut brownie with some vanilla bean ice cream, which isn’t availiable because when they were cool enough to photograph, my mud room exploded into my kitchen~~come back tomorrow to see why*

I wish I had made more, because after the day I had yesterday…I needed every last bit of them.

For Chocolatechic, brownies=crack

Yes, I blame my next trip to the dentist, squarely in the lap of beans.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

50 thoughts on “July 7”

  1. I have a cavity too. I blame it on food bloggers.

    Now I have to choose between these and the Cooking During Stolen Moments s’mores brownies to take to a party this weekend. Oh, the peril!

    🙂

    Jessie

  2. I went to “Surviving Oz’s” site and read her account of the brownies. She listed the ingredients showing only 1/4 cup flour. Shouldn’t that be 1 1/4 cup flour? I can’t imagine making brownies with only 1/4 cup flour especially when it calls for 1/3 cup cocoa.

    And yes, it’s those veggies that are causing all your problems, and I think you should tell the dentist about it.

  3. Having been the lucky one to receive one of these wonderful delicious brownies, they are sssooo good! Didn’t even last till we made it around the block! You have to try them.

  4. Haha. That is so funny because eating these made my teeth hurt. I have been avoiding the dentist because of this possible cavity, ugh! The brownies are so worth the tooth pain 🙂

  5. Love it when you include pictures of various ingredients that come in quirky little boxes, cans, jars, packages, etc.! Oh, too bad about the dentist…I think you should have another brownie so you can just forget about him for a bit.

  6. De-licious! My favorite brownies and I LOVE that–cacao beans are a vegetable.
    I HATE flossing, too. I usually just floss 3-4 times in the days before an appointment and they never seem to suspect a thing! And then I don’t floss again for about 6 month.
    And yes, some LIKE flossing, I had two college roommates who really liked it. Ewwee!
    Brownies, brownies, brownies. Sigh.

  7. Your uncut brownies look just perfect.

    I wish you luck at the dentist. The last time I went, I was told that the quantity of flossing was fine but the quality was lacking. I am still upset about it.

  8. Sorry about the dentist. Bring your dentist a pan of these brownies and he/she will understand that you have no choice but to eat your “veggies.” I’m intrigued about your mud room.

  9. Haha, I hate flossing too. I always hated going to the dentist until my favorite cousin became one. You should try him out if your ever in Arizona! 🙂

    The brownies look perfect. Definitely the best beans I can think of.

  10. You had me at hello with that first picture! Quality in, quality out. Your brownies look fantastic and I can’t wait to try them with cappuccino chips! Genius!

  11. Ugh. I wont even discuss my trips to the dentist…but I am pretty sure I bought him his nice fancy house. I floss ….daily. It hasnt changed the fact that I am hugely cavity prone. Who knew veggies would do it???

  12. yum!! they look so good. i was traveling and didn’t get to make these, but definitely will soon 🙂 good luck at the dentist! i started flossing regularly a few years ago and they don’t yell at me anymore 🙂

  13. Ummm, I don’t know what a mud room is, but I’m sorry it exploded? 😦 I’m really sorry you have to go to the dentist. (my least favorite thing to do) As always, your pictures are so beautiful and I thought these brownies were great (even worth going to the dentist for).

  14. Chocolate a vegetable? Nice. I’d love to take a gander at the rest of your food pyramid. In the meantime I’ll just admire your gorgeous brownies.

  15. What a great analogy! And the photos are superb – just like I’m there waiting for them to come out of the oven. They look perfect!

  16. You’re hilarious! I love seeing you bake brownies… sometimes I come back just to see your pictures of Ina’s. You make brownies look even better than they are.

Comments are closed.