June 30

From as far back as I can remember, mom would let Sister and me lick the mixer beaters.

Mother made wedding cakes, and catered weddings.

She got me hooked on cake batter.

And now, sometimes I make a cake just so I can eat the batter.

Confession.

It is good for the soul.

So, Internet, believe me when I say I know cake batter.

And this cake batter…it is fabulous.

FABULOUS!

I showed great restraint in only licking the beater for this cake.

Only because it was for the boy.

Normally, the chips get a choice of what kind of cake they are going to get, but this time, I pulled out my TWD cook book, pointed to the recipe and said “This is the cake your getting for your birthday.”

He only requested that I make cream cheese icing for it, instead of the butter cream.

Who am I to refuse cream cheese icing?

I heart cream cheese icing.

And because I love cream cheese icing that boy so much, I doubled the recipe.

This cake was so good, I could have eaten the entire thing all by myself.

Instead, we had a party…and I had to share that glorious cake with 4 men, and one woman.

I was lucky to even get a piece.

But that didn’t matter, because I had a bowl of cream cheese icing left over…muahahahahahha

If you want to make this Perfect Party Cake that Carol of Mix, Mix…stir, stir picked for today’s TWD, then go to her blog.

Get the recipe.

Make this cake.

Add only half the amount of lemon extract and use some vanilla bean paste.

Lick the beater.

Lick the spoon.

Leave some batter in the bowl and eat that too.

Double the cream cheese icing.

Use strawberry jam.

And have a party.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

49 thoughts on “June 30”

  1. This is truly one of the best cakes I’ve ever eaten…and I’ve eaten plenty. I used strawberry jam as well, and OH, it was delicious!!!!

    I couldn’t stop eating the batter.

    What a lucky Chefboy to have had this as his birthday cake!

    You did a beautiful job, Tanya!!!

  2. This will surely be my Go To recipe for white cakes from now on – I wish there was a chocolate Perfect Party Cake to try, don’t you? With Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Icing? Yummmmmmm. Maybe we should call Dorie. 🙂

  3. Your posts are such fun. I can just see you licking the beaters. There was along wait in line at our house, and I usually missed it for having my nose stuck in a book. This is one very good batter. I need to work on that jam bit, it all sort of oozed into my other stuff, but it didn’t affect the taste one darn bit! Happy Birthday to The Boy!

  4. From looking at your pictures, it looks like you put a very small amount of jam on the cake. It that the trick? I had a terrible time putting the frosting on top of the jam. Maybe it put too much on.

    Anyway, the cake looks fabulous, and cream cheese frosting sounds like a great alternative!

  5. I agree, a fabulous fabulous fabulous cake! 🙂 I bet the cream cheese frosting was really good with it too. I love that cake cutter you have, never seen one of those!

  6. This one was tasty, especially the batter. Your jam layers are perfect, and your crumb is perfect! I went with lemon cream instead of jam and it was yummy.

  7. You left off, “Lick the plate the cake was one after everyone has left.” But we will let it slide.

    Beautiful cake.

  8. I have not licked cake batter for 52 years. Ever since Grandpa Murnahan put the extra salt in Grandma’s sugar canister and she baked a cake with 2 cups of salt instead of sugar.

  9. Licking the batter off the beater — that’s the best part! I can personally attest that that the batter for this cake was mighty delicious. 🙂

    I’d say the boy was lucky to celebrate his b-day with your delicious looking cake.

  10. Bless your sweet Mama’s heart, you do know cake batter! I agree its pretty darn good and personally who wants white when you can eat CHOCOLATE? You did an amazing job and I must try cream cheese frosting too. Thanks for the fun photos of the party. Happy Birthday to the Boy!
    AmyRuth

  11. Bless your sweet Mama’s heart, you do know cake batter! I agree its pretty darn good and personally who wants white when you can eat CHOCOLATE? You did an amazing job and I must try cream cheese frosting too. Thanks for the fun photos of the party. Happy Birthday to the Boy!
    AmyRuth

  12. Vanilla bean paste just went to the top of my grocery list. I shall not rest until I find some! If Chocolatechic says it will make the perfect cake even better, who am I to doubt.
    Beautifully done, as always!

  13. A woman after my own heart…cake batter is a dessert on its own. Your doubled cake looks delicious. I need to dig out my vanilla bean paste the next time I try this cake.

Comments are closed.