June 8

Every year, on the first weekend in June, Pothole hosts a hot air balloon festival.

Every year, on that particular Sunday morning, I am always awakened by the whooshing of them flying over our house…at 6am.

I love to watch them swoosh by the house.

Their colors entrance me.

Sometimes they wave.

I wave back and pray they can’t tell I’m still in my nightgown.

.

.

.

.

But there is never a time that I see one of these beautiful balloons that I don’t think of  Peter Streizyk and Guenter Wetzel making their hot air balloon to escape to freedom,  from East Germany.

.


Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

22 thoughts on “June 8”

  1. What a beautiful post…my husband often reads your posts with me, and he could scarcely breathe seeing this one. We truly enjoy your blog…and today was no exception. Thank you for such wonderful posts.

  2. You know, they are probably taking photos of all the people that they see waving to them on the ground and posting them on their blogs. Under your photo is the caption “And this crazy lady was sitting outside waving to us in her nightgown.”

    What a cool site. Those are some pretty neat photos. What fun! Applie…I’ll take a ride with you. Just let me know when.

  3. I gave my husband a trip in a hot air balloon for his fortieth birthday – he said it was an amazing experience and loved every minute of it.

  4. So pretty! I have always wanted to go to a hot air balloon festival. They have one here in New Jersey somewhere, but it’s always the weekend we are traveling to Delaware for vacation.

    Thank you for sharing!

  5. That is some of the best photography of a hot air balloon festival that I’ve ever seen. How neat that you get to watch it from your own home!

Comments are closed.