May 28

Are y’all on chocolate overload yet?

If you are, then you might as well, click away, because I’ve got more…oh so much more today.

If not, then Internet…ya better strap in.

This week for Barefoot Bloggers is Ina’s Outrageous Brownies.

Side bar~~Dorie and Ina both say when melting butter and/or chocolate to do it over a double boiler.   I have never done that.

Into the microwave it goes for 1 minute.

Stir.

30 seconds.

Stir.

If needed, another 30 seconds and stir the final bits till they are melted.

I just take care that it doesn’t get to hot.

It saves me time and effort.

It’s a win~win!

Now back our  regularly scheduled program.

These brownies are outrageous.

They have a whole pound of butter.

2 ¼ c. sugar.

Espresso.

And almost 3 pounds of chocolate.

And I was in heaven.

I made these brownies for a get together 3 weeks ago, and I need to make them again.

This makes a stinkin’ lot of brownies.

It is baked in a half sheet pan, and I wanted to so something fun with them because I was going to a party.

So I made a glaze

  • 2 c. confectioners sugar
  • 1 tbsp. cocoa
  • 4 tbsp. milk
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • blurb of vanilla

Bring that all to a boil.

Then on a third of it, I sprinkled some cappuccino chips.

On the middle third I sprinkled toffee chips.

On the last third I sprinkled some of those mini candied chocolate bits to make it fun.

What wasn’t fun, was loosing the pictures of the wee candied chocolates and pictures of the entire pan of brownies.

Just imagine them —-> here!

I also have a wee secret.

I liked these much better than the ones I posted Tuesday, but please don’t tell Dorie.

It might hurt her feelings.

You want to make these?

Good.   I highly recommend them.

Outrageous Brownies

Ingredients

nocoupons

  • 1 pound unsalted butter
  • 1 pound plus 12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips, divided
  • 6 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 6 extra-large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons instant coffee powder
  • 2 tablespoons real vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, divided (1 cup for batter and 1/4 cup in the chips and nuts)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 cups diced walnut pieces( I didn’t use nuts, I replaced them instead with a mixture of semi-sweet, milk, and vanilla chips~~you know…just to take it over the top)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 13 by 18 by 1 1/2-inch sheet pan.

Melt together the butter, 1 pound chocolate chips, and unsweetened chocolate on top of a double boiler. Cool slightly. Stir together the eggs, instant coffee, vanilla and sugar. Stir in the warm chocolate mixture and cool to room temperature.

Stir together 1 cup of the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to cooled chocolate mixture. Toss the walnuts and 12 ounces of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup flour to coat. Then add to the chocolate batter. Pour into prepared pan.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until tester just comes out clean. Halfway through the baking, rap the pan against the oven shelf to allow air to escape from between the pan and the brownie dough. Do not over-bake! Cool thoroughly, refrigerate well and cut into squares.

PS.   Today is my Aunt Cindy, and cousin Amber’s birthday.   Happy Birthday you two.   I love you both so much.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

34 thoughts on “May 28”

  1. That looks really yummy. I don’t like coffee in my brownies, but I am going to print this out and give it a try later in the summer. 🙂

    Do you ever cook anything healthy? lol

  2. Hi, I am about to bake the Outrageous Brownies. I will do half of the recipe. I assume the half sheet pan worked okay and didn’t run over the edge. Did you use the extra large eggs? I can’t really get them here, so will google size, weight of eggs and weigh them for accuracy. Thanks, lola

  3. Three pounds of chocolate?! I have got to try these.
    Does anyone else think food blogs are a plot by chocolate manufacturers to increase sales? I know I get strange looks from the woman in the bulk store every time I waltz in.

  4. Thanks for the birthday wishes Tanya. Those brownies,I must say, were the best I ever had. Jarrod liked the ones I brought home to him,too.(yes, they actually made it home)

  5. I wondered how these would compare to the TWD ones since I skipped out of those this week. I knew you would LOVE these! You are right – 3 lbs of chocolate! I am not sure I could have handled a sugar glaze on top of it. I do the same as you, I heat butter and chocolate in the microwave. This is 2009. We no longer have to stand and stir over a boiling pot, do we? 🙂 But sssh, I won’t tell anyone our secret!!

  6. Just an FYI. I had to have my hard drive and mother board replaced on my computer so lost all my links and information. Well, since I have my chocolate vicariously through you I simply had to have access to your blog. So of course I had to use my good friend Google and did you know that if you Google “Chocolate Chic blog” you’re the first hit!!!
    Consider yourself Googled.

  7. Mine just came out of the oven at 0:41 am….. They smell really good but are still way too hot to try them. I halved the recipe ’cause of the size of my pan and they still neededabout 20 minutes longer than indicated in the recipe. Can hardly wait to taste this tomorrow!

  8. Good HEAVENS! I got a stomach ache just reading about these beauties!! Plus, I gained about 4 1/2 pounds on my thighs! They look decadent, so decadent, that I just may try them! 🙂

  9. I am always blown away by your photos, so I will just have to imagine how great the missing ones were. And I think Ina has the uber-brownie recipe here. No point trying any others’ recipes – it is impossible to believe that anything could be better.

  10. I like these SO much better than the Tuesday brownies, promise I won’t tell that you did too. These brownies were nothing short of incredible – they may well become my go-to brownie recipe. Yours look fabulous!

  11. Great job! I’m glad I”m not the only one who forgets to take pictures hehe

    I use the microwave to melt chocolate too. I never use the double boiler either. If I had been thinking and had put all my stuff in a microwave safe bowl then i would have done it there too but I thought of that about a minute too late. I stuck my bowl in a 400 degree oven (because it was already baking something else) for a couple minutes, then stirred and repeated until melted.

    And great choice on add ins!

Comments are closed.