May 23

Last week I shared with you —-> here my feelings on lemon.

What I didn’t completely express is just how much I heart lemon cake.

I’d rather have lemon cake than chocolate cake.

Don’t faint dead away, Internet.

You have to read the rest of my blog.

I have only had lemon cake a handful of times in my 39 years, but each and every time I do I wonder why I don’t eat it more often because, Internet…aside from my love of my family, chocolate, pink, ellipses, over using commas, and run on sentences…I like nothing more than a nice slice of lemon cake.

But no one seems to fix it anymore.

And that is a shame because it is light, refreshing and just slightly sweet.

Perfect for the summer.

But I have a confession.

I made a huge mistake with this recipe.

I halved it.

I thought that no one but myself would eat this.

I was oh. so. wrong.

And now I have to face the fact that it is totally my own silly fault that I only had 2 small slices of this delicious cake.  One of which I am cramming into my mouth as I’m typing this post up.

I will not  make that mistake again.

Oh no, dear Internet.

Never again.

And if I were you, I’d make the full batch.

Lemon Cakes

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound (2 sticks)  butter at room temperature
  • 2 1/2 cups granulated sugar, divided
  • 4 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup grated lemon zest lightly packed (6 to 8 large lemons – Use only fresh lemon juice and zest)(blah..blah..blah~I always use fresh zest, but there is nothing wrong with bottled juice)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the glaze:

  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour 2 (8 1/2 by 4 1/4 by 2 1/2-inch) loaf pans.

Directions

Cream the butter and 2 cups granulated sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, the key to great cakes is beating the butter and sugar until the mixture’s until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on medium speed add the eggs, 1 at a time, and the lemon zest. Sift together the flour, to make sure there are no lumps, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Separately, combine 1/4 cup lemon juice, the buttermilk, and vanilla. Add the flour and buttermilk mixtures alternately, beginning and ending with the flour. Divide evenly between the pans, smooth the tops, and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until a cake tester comes out clean.

Cook 1/2 cup granulated sugar with 1/2 cup lemon juice in a small saucepan and cook over low heat until the sugar dissolves. When the cakes are done, cool for 10 minutes, invert them onto a rack set over a tray and spoon the lemon syrup over the cakes. Allow the cakes to cool completely.

For the glaze, combine the confectioners’ sugar and the lemon juice in a bowl, mixing with a wire whisk until smooth. Pour over the tops of the cakes and allow the glaze to drizzle down the sides.

To freeze these cakes, prepare them except the glaze. Wrap them well in plastic wrap and freeze. When you’re ready to use, defrost and glaze.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

17 thoughts on “May 23”

  1. Ohhhh, I did nearly faint, but I’ve revived. If a non-lemon lover loves lemon cake this much (you may enjoy the overuse of commas; my weakness is alliteration), I’m snagging it now! Thanks and have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I’m surprised you don’t like chochocolate cake better than lemon.

    I do like lemon cake better and can’t wait to try this. It looks and sounds so good and would be refreshing for a summer treat!

  3. Cake looks yummy. I love lemon cake,too. I must put this on my list. I also very very much like that dish it was resting in!!!BTW I had a caramel covered creme filled roll this morning just for you.

  4. It does look very nice and what kind of family eats all your hard work before you get your rightful share? 😕

    Love the dish by the way.

    Oh, and I didn’t faint.

  5. The cake practically made me drool however I was somewhat distracted by the beautiful serving platter. Is it an antique???

  6. Wow! this looks wonderful…I am thinking if it is baked in my mini loaf pans, it would be perfect for our youth group bake sale to raise money for missions…if it makes it to the bake sale!

  7. Lemon ties with chocolate for me. It’s always a tough decision when I have to choose between them. I also made half the recipe, but just to save myself from eating it all. Luckily, my daughter arrived back home and helped polish it off, although she claims it’s too much lemon. Blasphemy.

Comments are closed.