May 19

When I was 12, we moved from Ohio to Houston.

For a 12 year old, it was a huge culture shock.

I had only seen 3 black people in my entire 12 years, and in Houston, whites are the minority.

They also talk differently in the South.

They say things like “y’all” and “all y’all” and “I’m afixin’ to”.

They call shopping carts “buggies”.

And they call pop “soda” or if you are in Missouri, they call it “sodie pop”.

But one of the strangest differences for me was that they called mango’s, green pepper.

My mom had always called green pepper, mango’s.

So when we moved south, I had no idea what a green pepper was.

And until yesterday, I had never eaten a mango.

So today’s TWD of Fresh Mango Bread that Kelly of Baking with the Boys picked out today was way out of my element.

I had no idea how to peel or cut a mango, so after I cut it in half and tried to pull the fruit from the pit, it just mushed in my hand.

I had no idea how it would taste, or if I would like it.

It tasted a bit strange to me, and it was stringy.  ewwwwwww!

There was no way I was adding my beloved chocolate chips to this!!!

But I persevered because I didn’t do last weeks, and this week was going to be done.

Period.

The recipe called for raisins and we all know that this girl does not do raisins, so I substituted cinnamon chips,  not my aforementioned beloved chocolate ones.

Since cinnamon was a key flavor in this, and since I didn’t know whether or not I’d like the bread, I mixed up a basic powdered sugar glaze and added more cinnamon…you know…to cover up the taste if I didn’t like it.

And I liked it.

And chocolate chips would have been a great addition.

I don’t think I’d make it again, but it isn’t going in the trash.

If you’d like the recipe, go on over to Kelly’s blog.   She has the recipe.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

78 thoughts on “May 19”

    1. Ok, this is going to sound silly, but I hated chopping those mango’s. I wouldn’t make it again because it tastes similar to banana bread and banana’s are easier to chop.

      Don’t laugh!

  1. Hi Chic,
    I absolutely love mangos.
    I like them a little soft.
    There is a “mix” you can get to sprinkle on your mango slices…it’s a mexican lable and I can’t think of the name of it, but it has chili, lemon, and salt in it.
    ahhhh YummO!!

  2. Man! That mango pouring is crazy… the colors, the textures… all is incredible!
    You should have worn a collar for that neck, it would have helped you heal faster and do your everyday things easier.
    Glad you are feeling better!

  3. I have never heard that about green peppers and mangoes. I love mangoes. But you are right about the chopping. They are sort of stringy! We loved this recipe.

  4. Green peppers?! I’ve never heard of that! That Glaze is AMAZING. Seriously brilliant! Next time I make this, I will make that glaze.. LOVE the idea! Glad you somewhat liked it!

  5. I can’t tell you how good it makes me feel to read the words “pop.” Because on the East Coast, we are all forced to say “soda,” despite how horrible that word feels on the tongue.

    Love your ideas. Have you ever tried a mango lassi? Those are pretty good…yogurt and mango pureed with some honey (or something) and ice.

  6. I love the idea of the cinnamon chips. I have lots of those and haven’t really used them enough. That’s too funny about the pop/soda debate. We have the same divide in our house. 🙂

  7. I grew up in Indiana, then moved to Florida at 16, so I completely understand what you mean. My grandma calls green bell peppers “mangoes” and cantaloupes “musk melon”. Turns out, she was right about the melon – true cantaloupe is a European thing and what we know as such is really a musk melon!

  8. I had the same problem cutting my first mango. Which is the reason I have no pretty pictures of cubed mango. I used white chocolate chips and they were tasty. Looks good.

  9. I think frozen mango, which you can find at Trader Joe’s, would work just as well here, so you could avoid the chopping.

    A GOOD, ripe mango is a thing of beauty. It smells like perfume and tastes like flowers. They are hard to come by, and the ones imported from Mexico don’t cut it, in my experience.

  10. Teehee. I love mangos. I’m from KCMO and I’ve NEVER said Sodiepop though. Like, never. I DO say ya’ll and “all ya’ll” occasionally I’ll say “afixin” and most definitely “howdy”. Never called a green pepper a mango though.

  11. Being an Ohio girl who moved south I can relate to what you are saying! My mom also called green peppers mangos. I now say y’all, afixin to, carry you instead of take you and many other things I laughed about when I first moved here.

  12. Ooooh, cinnamon chips sound great in this. I really liked it and struggled with the mangoes a lot too. I made it again after reading tips for cutting the mangoes. I’m glad you liked it enough to not throw it away.

  13. Still confused by the green pepper thing! LOL… I guess mangoes are green and do have a sort of “pepper-y” taste…
    The cinnamon chips were a great idea, as was the glaze. I’ll have to try that next time.

  14. I’m right there with you on your reasons for not making this again! Awesome idea with the cinnamon chips and chocolate WOULD have worked, too. But let’s just save that chocolate for next week’s brownies! 😉 Your bread looks awesome with the glaze!
    Hope your feeling better!

  15. I am from the South and lived in Houston, among other areas…and never heard of a Green Pepper being anything but a Green Pepper (a vegetable) and a Mango being a Mango (a fruit)??? Weird!

  16. Delicious looking bread – love your tweaks. I knew I’d been in New England too long when I called a supermarket shopping cart a “carriage” (some call it a wagon).

  17. Slow getting around today…blame twitter. I love all your photos and I can’t believe you didn’t love this…so good! I have to find cinnamon chips…I have looked and looked and looked…I bet they were fantastic with this. Great post…always love the way you do your posts. Next week: Chocolate…just for you! LOL. And, for my guys as they have really been missing it. Go figure.

  18. That is strange the calling a green pepper a mango….never heard of that one.

    I thought it was strange when my in-laws from New Orleans called the shopping cart a ‘buggy’ as I had never heard that before.

    My family in the East call carbonated beverages ‘tonic’ while I usually call it either pop, soda, or soft drink. I have always found it a good idea when going to restaurants in various parts of the country to ask about a specific drink: Coka Cola, Root Beer, Pepsi, Sprite, 7-Up and so on.

  19. I remember everyone of those phrases when I first moved to Georgia. I thought they were so wierd. But you get used to the lingo.
    I really liked that you added cinnamon chips and a glaze.
    It looks really prettY!

  20. I was born and raised in Houston and have NEVER heard of mangoes (WITHOUT the apostrophe “‘s” since the mangoes are not possessing anything) being referred to as “green peppers”. That is really weird that you heard that. I agree with the other observations you made, though…well, except, I wouldn’t say that Whites are the minority in Houston, but it is definitely more diverse than it is in Ohio.

    I detest mangoes, too! My mom loves them. Your photos are still lovely.

  21. I really hadn’t eaten mango often until moving to Mexico. They are plentiful and so fresh during the spring and summer here. Everyone gets excited when they start showing up in the markets. Many varieties grow here that are not exported. There is a mango slicer tool, but I just peel the mango and slice off the flesh the best I can. Usually there are pretty good size slices, then I chunk it if needed for a recipe. Obviously, you cannot get all the way to the pit. I make mango salsa, chutney, etc. etc. For breakfast it is delicious with a squeeze of fresh lime and homemade plain yogurt. My favorite. Don’t give up on mangos. This is probably more info than you want, but I couldn’t help myself. Thanks for your comments. Yes, I liked the addition of almonds.

  22. When I was 11, we moved from Dallas to Ohio, so I understand your culture shock…in reverse ;). I love the bright photos!

  23. Wow, I can’t believe you tried mangoes for the first time! I think you diced the mangoes just right! (I was tempted to buy one of those mango slicers, but it was pricey) I wish I could find cinnamon chips here because I love cinnamon… Your bread looks beautiful! Sounds like my kind of bread – no raisins and lots of cinnamon! =)

  24. Calling the shopping carts “buggies” was a huge adjustment to me when I moved south. Also, my kids are the only kids around here who call them “lollipops” rather than “suckers” because I’m training them that way. 🙂 Glad that you liked the bread. It’s always fun when we enjoy something that we don’t expect to. Yours looks beautiful!

  25. I think the cinnamon chips are a great idea for this bread. I agree that it’s a pain to cut up mangoes. I always let them get too soft and then it’s even more of a pain.

  26. Hahaha. I’m a Houston girl, at least I grew up there, and I think it’s probably changed a lot. Now we call all sodas cokes, no matter what sort of “coke” they are. Never pop though, never, never, never. And they must’ve gotten the memo that mangoes are mangoes because that’s what they’re called in the store these days. But it’s a funny city and it’s always had idiosyncrasies so I’m sure it was a shock!
    I’m glad that you ended up liking the bread. I think that the cinnamon glaze + cinnamon chips sound fantastic!

  27. Wait, what? You’ve never had a mango?!! Certainly one of my favs – give it another try – you have to get them just at the right amount of ripeness to be really good (too ripe and they are kinda funky).

    And I couldn’t help it – I added chocolate chips. I can’t really think of anything that chocolate chips don’t go with?! 🙂

  28. that cinnamon glaze sounds fantastic. my friend was asking me what he could put on this bread since he wouldn’t want to eat it plain and that’s the perfect idea!

  29. Your pictures are always so amazing. And your story is even better than the pictures. It is crazy how different words are regionally. But green peppers? Wow! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

  30. How strange! I’ve lived in Texas all my life and I’ve never heard mangoes called “green peppers”…weird! Also, most of the people in Texas call all sodas “coke”, even if it’s not coke…if I were to ask anyone in my family or circle of friends if they wanted soda, they’d probably ask why I started “talking yankee” all of the sudden! 🙂 Sometimes I think they should require a passport to visit Texas….

    Good looking bread. Nice addition with the cinnamon chips!

  31. ATTN PEOPLE WHO HAVE NEVER VISITED TEXAS (OR THE SOUTH): We do not call mangoes “green peppers”. I have never heard of that, and I’m a native Texan who has visited many other southern states and lived in Oklahoma.

    Also, we dc not call “soda”, “pop”. In Oklahoma, however, they do. We (i.e., Texans) call “soda”, “coke”.

      1. Then you may want to correct your post to make that clear. Others are also thinking that Southerners call mangoes (not “mango’s”), green peppers.

        Your pictures are lovely, btw.

  32. LOL – loved all the Southern terms. It would explain why, when I asked for a soda in Dansville, NY, they had no idea what I was talking about – I had just watched too much Happy Days. Love the icing on top – yum!

  33. Great story. If I had made this I also would have put in some chocolate instead of raisins. The raisins seemed weird here.

    I have never had cinnamon chips before. I am going to buy some.

  34. I always have to wait to get home from work to check out your blog. Your pictures are blocked from there and I have to see them. Beautiful and delicious! The glaze looks amazing on this!

  35. I have lived in Ohio and near-Houston as well. I agree… they’re totally different worlds.

    Mmmm, the mango looks especially pretty in your pics. (I just wish it tasted as yummy as it looks.) Glad you sorta liked it. Now you can say you’ve eaten mango 🙂

  36. When I grow up I want to live inside your camera, in the hopes of figuring out how you do what you do. I think I have a pretty good eye, but my shots can’t hold a candle to yours. And on top of the great photos you can write, too. It’s just not fair! (Oh, and your bread looks marvelous with that glaze. But that goes without saying!)

  37. Oooh. Glaze. Genius.

    As for culture shock, when I moved from Wyoming to Utah at 19 it was still shocking even though only one state away. After all, just Salt Lake County has more people than all of Wyoming. Very different!

Comments are closed.