May14

So the other day I had a phone conversation.

It went something like this.

Chocolatechic dials the number.

Store:  “Hello”

CC:  “Hello only grocery store within a 40 mile radius from my house that carries fresh fish.   Do you have any fresh tuna?”

Store:  “I don’t know.   Let me go check.”

CC:  …fiddles around on Farm Town…

Store:   “I’m’ sorry ma’am, we do not carry fresh tuna.”

CC:  Hangs up and brain explodes.

You see today’s BB recipe is Tuna Salad, and calls for 2 pounds of “very fresh tuna steak, cut 1″ thick”.

So, I did what any other female would do.

I opened up another tab, because I certainly couldn’t close out Farm Town, and went straight to the BB’s blog to whine and complain.

It is what women do best!

But Low and Behold, the lovely ladies over there had thought of everything!

They said we could backtrack on one recipe this month.

They had to have known I was coming.

So, I immediately knew which recipe I was going to do.

It is the one that pulled me into blogging Ina’s recipes.

Grown up Mac’n’cheese.

I am putting my changes in pink, ’cause I took Ina’s recipe and made it mine!

Super Yummy!

I’m so glad I’m a grown up.

Grown Up Mac and Cheese

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces thick-sliced bacon
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 cups elbow macaroni
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used the bacon grease from baking the bacon~waste not, want not)
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 4 ounces Gruyere cheese, grated (poor man’s Gruyere~~Swiss)
  • 3 ounces extra-sharp Cheddar, grated (didn’t have any so I used regular)
  • 2 ounces blue cheese, such as Roquefort, crumbled (again, didn’t have any, so I used Parmesan)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch nutmeg
  • 2 slices white sandwich bread, crusts removed (I used barbecue potato chip crumbs.   Perfection!)
  • 2 tablespoons freshly chopped basil leaves (Who needs basil when you have BBQ crumbs?)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Place a baking rack on a sheet pan and arrange the bacon in 1 layer on the baking rack. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the bacon is crisp. Remove the pan carefully from the oven – there will be hot grease in the pan! Transfer the bacon to a plate lined with paper towels and crumble (have Superman rip it up) when it is cool enough to handle.

Cook macaroni according to the directions on the package, 6 to 8 minutes. Drain well.

Meanwhile, heat the milk in a small saucepan, but don’t boil it. Melt the butter( or bacon grease) in a medium pot and add the flour. Cook over low heat for 2 minutes, stirring with a whisk. While whisking, add the hot milk and cook for a minute or 2 more, until thickened and smooth. Off the heat, add the Gruyere,(Swiss) Cheddar, blue cheese,(Parmesan) 1 teaspoon salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Add the cooked macaroni and crumbled bacon and stir well. Pour into 2 individual size (1 big one~~’cause this serves 4, not 2.)gratin dishes.

Place the bread slices in a food processor fitted with a steel blade and pulse until you have coarse crumbs. Add the basil and pulse to combine. Sprinkle the bread crumb mixture over the top of the pasta. (blah..blah…blah…just crush up some BBQ chips and toss on) Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until the sauce is bubbly and the macaroni is browned on the top.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

34 thoughts on “May14”

  1. Now that’s what mac & cheese should be! Little Chef made boxed mac & cheese yesterday for lunch and somehow added too much milk. Mac & cheese soup anyone? It seems like every time he makes it something turns out wrong. Your’s on the other hand is drool worthy!

  2. I haven’t made that one yet either – I’ll have to keep it in mind for the next backtrack. Sorry you couldn’t get the tuna – there are some advantages to living near a big city.

  3. I’m hoping on actually throwing the tuna together tonight instead of the CEiMB, ’cause then I’ll only have to get some fresh tuna! This mac & cheese sounds delish!

  4. You are a very bad girl giving us this recipe with all these luscious photos. I so cannot go there with this recipe…I would eat the whole thing, maybe not in the course of the day, but I would hide it and nibble away until it was all gone, never ever revealing that I made it in the first place…LOL. OMW does this look delicious!

  5. I’ve never understood the breadcrumb (or in this case chip-crumb) topping on mac & cheese. I love the mac & Cheese itself, just not the idea of breadcrumb or anything crunchy in all that smooth cheesy goodness. Nope don’t get it.

    1. My mom used to cube white bread and drizzle it with butter and put it on top of casseroles.

      That is the part I loved most….the crunchy, buttery goodness.

      The point of the topping is so that they cheese won’t burn.

  6. Wow, those photos look devine. My boys would be begging me to make it for dinner tonight. I never knew about backtracking. Thanks for the heads up.

  7. Oh my god. I’m vegan for another 36 hours, then I’m making this. Seriously, I just about had a little o face reading this post. BBQ chips? OH MY GOD….DON’T STOP…..

    Sorry. I’m pulling myself together…

  8. Hey Tanya
    I heard you wanted Grandma’s recipes. I have them copied to send to you. I need an address. Though they will probably seem real simple food compared to the way you cook.

  9. mmmm i remember making that… it was so good! and it’s so easy to sub in other cheeses or use up the scraps that are in the bottom of the cheese drawer (the one that says meats on the outside but is filled with 15 different cheeses)

    your blog name says you better make my recipe later this month!

  10. This is one of my favorites. I’ve made it more often than I care to admit. I’m curious, did the potato chips stay crunchy on top or do they get a little soggy?

  11. Seeing as I do not like tuna at all I would have skipped the recipe all together since hubby isn’t home to consume it and he’s the only one who would have tried it.

    I did not eat mac & cheese growing up, dad didn’t like it so mom didn’t make it, and I am not a fan of what my daughter like in mac & cheese – the box variety – but a friend of mine introduced me to her version of the dish….YUM!! Your’s look great also and I would have enjoyed sharing it with all of you.

  12. holy crap! look at that photo of you pouring the mac and cheese into the baking dish!! does it get any better than that!!

  13. Wow – I keep coming back to look at this again. My mouth is actually watering. So happy I just found your blog – you have lots of yummies here!

Comments are closed.