April 9

When I say the words ‘chicken salad’, what immediately comes to mind?

Chicken, mayo, maybe some mustard?

Or chicken cubes a bit fancier dressing with a bit of pecans and grape halves?

Or even some apples or dried cranberries thrown in the mix on home made bread.

Yeah.   Me too.

But asparagus???

Nope!

Red pepper….eeeh   maaaaybe.

Green onion.   Yeah, if I was going for super fancy frufru!

Soy sauce?   peanut butter?  Sesame oil?    Nooooo  way!

I live in the North, Internet.

Northerner’s don’t eat peanut butter and soy sauce in their chicken salad.

That is just ludicrous!

Ludicrous unless you are making it for your Barefoot Blogger group, and you actually have all the ingredients (minus the green onion, and it was on sale for .33 a bunch) to make it.

One of the things that I have learned, by doing the Barefoot Bloggers and Tuesday’s with Dorie is to really keep an opened mind, because ya know what?!?!?

Peanut butter and soy sauce is great in chicken salad.

Fabulous actually.

No, I can’t cram it between 2 slices of home made bread, but I can eat it straight out of the bowl while watching DVR’d episodes of The Mentalist.

Just sayin’.

I made a few changes to this recipe.

  • I didn’t use bone in chicken breasts with skin on.   I didn’t have any of those, but Internet!  If you take boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cover them with bacon and bake them…the flavor, oh…the flavor!
  • I also didn’t use Sesame seeds.   To get Sesame seeds in Pothole, I would have to go to McDonalds, buy 20 buns and scrape the seeds off.    I don’t have the patience for that.

Chinese Chicken Salad

* 4 split chicken breasts (bone-in, skin-on)
* Good olive oil
* Kosher salt
* Freshly ground black pepper
* 1/2 pound asparagus, ends removed, and cut in thirds diagonally
* 1 red bell pepper, cored and seeded
* 2 scallions (white and green parts), sliced diagonally
* 1 tablespoon white sesame seeds, toasted

For the dressing:

* 1/2 cup vegetable oil
* 1/4 cup good apple cider vinegar
* 3 tablespoons soy sauce
* 1 1/2 tablespoons dark sesame oil
* 1/2 tablespoon honey
* 1 clove garlic, minced
* 1/2 teaspoon peeled, grated fresh ginger
* 1/2 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted
* 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
* 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the chicken breasts on a sheet pan and rub with the skin with olive oil. Sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper. Roast for 35 to 40 minutes, until the chicken is just cooked. Set aside until cool enough to handle. Remove the meat from the bones, discard the skin, and shred the chicken in large bite-sized pieces.

Blanch the asparagus in a pot of boiling salted water for 3 to 5 minutes until crisp-tender. Plunge into ice water to stop the cooking. Drain. Cut the peppers in strips about the size of the asparagus pieces. Combine the cut chicken, asparagus, and peppers in a large bowl.

Whisk together all of the ingredients for the dressing and pour over the chicken and vegetables. Add the scallions and sesame seeds and season to taste. Serve cold or at room temperature.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

39 thoughts on “April 9”

  1. Oh my goodness. That looks so interesting. I’m in up upper midwest and we generally don’t do peanut butter and soy sauce with anything. This looks good though and YES…bacon! Long live the pig. Or maybe he doesn’t live so long. Oh gosh I’m going to get myself in trouble with my sister-the-vegetarian.

    – Suzanne

  2. Wow! Not a combo I would have thought of, but it looks great. Don’t know that I could get my heathens to eat it though. Maybe Little Chef would eat it, but no way the Princess would touch it.

  3. Oooh I want to come over and eat some of this while watching the Mentalist! I’m jealous (but I think I have some leftover salad in the fridge and a new episode in the DVR…. yeah, sounds like a lunch date!)

  4. “I would have to go to McDonalds, buy 20 buns and scrape the seeds off” LOL! I applaud your dedication to culinary excellence in the light of such challenges! You make me laugh. (And your photography is amazing.)

  5. It’s official – you can even make pictures of raw chicken look good. So glad that you enjoyed this. I liked it way more than I thought I would! Yours looks great, even without the sesame seeds 🙂

  6. nope! When you say chicken salad…I drool, because I LOVE LOVE LOVE and am IN LOVE with this chicken salad at a place here in Baton Rouge called Calvin’s Market. A corner Mom & Pop type grocery store. Oh My HEAVENS!!!! It is the BOMB! Oh wait there is some in the fridge right now…and it’s lunch time…got to run!

    PS- we don’t do pork, so would have to omit that!

  7. I loved this salad! Your pictures are awesome! Sorry you have so much trouble getting sesame seeds…I had to laugh about your McDonalds comment.

    Looks great!

  8. Don’t you just love the Mentalist. He’s so cute. I liked the chicken salad, but probably won’t make it too often since hubs hates peppers and onions and I thought the sauce was a bit tart – probably because I forgot and left out the honey! Lame brain here.
    Yours look fantastic as always.

  9. Funny when you (I) think of chicken salad it’s more like minced up chicken with celery, mayo and maybe some green grapes. So when I saw the pic of the salad without the dressing I thought you were gonna mince it all up together!! ACK!!

    The finished product does look yummy~! Thanks for another great idea.

    Want me to mail some sesame seeds to you?

  10. Well if you leave out the asparagus I’d say it looks great! I have had soy sauce & PB together and I must say it doesn’t sound good but once you’ve tried it….YUMMY!

  11. I learned to like peanut butter and soy when I was in Thailand. I couldn’t figure out what that savory taste was in some of their dishes. They told me it was a little bit of peanut or peanut butter. Doesn’t take very much. This dish has all of my favorite flavors- asparagas, bacon, onion and peanut butter soy. I think the chinese are the best culinarians in the world.

  12. I giggled as I read your post for today. I never would have thought to put peanut butter and soy together. This was my actual first BB challenge and absolutely loved the recipe.

  13. your dressing looks incredible. i’m totally jealous.

    i also love the sesame seed comment. if there wasn’t a wegmans in state college, i’d be doing the same. middle of nowhere, pa, is pretty lame. but we do have an indian grocer and 2 asian markets, but finding fresh tomatoes within walking distance is impossible.

    =)

  14. I was skeptical of this recipe, but it tasted really good! Your pics as always are beautiful and your blog ALWAYS makes me laugh. I wouldn’t want to scrape the sesame seeds off 20 buns either. Although, it might be doable with a sesame seed bagel from Dunkin Donuts! Just a thought! 😉

  15. This looks amazing! And I love that peanut butter/soy sauce on chicken. I make cucumber slaw and float right into heaven. I always put brown sugar in mine, though. Lots and lots of it. Glad you’re on the Asian Chicken bandwagon – it’s a great place to be.

  16. it’s an asian chicken salad!!! it sounds and looks delish!

    LOL at the McD’s sesame seed comment – if you email me your address, i will gladly mail you some in an ziploc baggy 🙂

Comments are closed.