April 2

Checking the mail box is the highlight of my day.

I know that that statement might be a sad one for some, but for those of us who are stay at home mom’s and don’t go much of anywhere except church and Stuffmart, I know you’ll understand.

And I don’t mind admitting that in the dead of winter when there is no escape, not even to Stuffmart,  I even sometimes read the junk mail.

So the other day when the girl checked the mail for me, there was a package.

I heart packages.

Especially when they are from another country.

Marthe sent me a cookbook.

I just can not wait to make something from it.

As soon as my head cold clears, I will be cooking up a storm.

Marthe even sent me a lovely post card from her town of Zwolle.

So picturesque, so beautiful.   I’d love to visit there.

I just wish I knew how to pronounce it.

Thanks Marthe!

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

13 thoughts on “April 2”

  1. It is a lovely place. Not that I’ve been there or anything, but the pictures really are lovely. I can’t wait to look at the cookbook, once your done of course☺ Have a wonderful day y’all!!!
    Love from,
    kbvintagechic

  2. I can’t wait to see what you cook. Both hubby and I have Ducth ancestery, way back in the late 1600’s and early 1700’s. I would love to get to visit Hollond someday. 🙂

  3. Ooo nice! I have a Dutch cookbook! I’m going to dig it out. I also have a little cookbook booklet like the Zwolle, only it is from England. I’m going to dig that one out too.

    So…what is the first thing you are going to cook for us?

  4. Lucky you to receive a package! And a new cookbook to boot.
    All I got today was junk mail, and like you, I read it. We SAHM’s do what we gotta do to stay entertained.

  5. I work and the first thing I do when I get home is check the mail! YOu just never know when something good will be in there that will bring a big smile to your face. Of course there are bills to pay too – yuk!!!

  6. Wasn’t it you that got a bowl that matches the one on the cover of that cookbook? If not you, then a gal on a blog that I read regularly, (as I do yours), purchased a bowl almost exactly like that red one!

    Btw…I made your “lofthouse” cookies earlier this week, then I ate them. All. Oh my…besides the stomach ache that followed, they were wonderful! I didn’t have a white cake mix, so I used lemon. Mmmm!

  7. Do you have a dutch oven to cook in? I am moving this week-end. Won’t be able to read or communicate till about Thursday.

Comments are closed.