March 31

You know that pride thing.

That pride thing that goes before the fall thing.

Yep.

Yesterday I began making my TWD Coconut Butter Thins that Jayne from The Barefoot Kitchen Witch selected.

I wasn’t very anxious to make these.   They have cardamom in it.   And lime zest.  And coconut.

This combo didn’t sound very appetizing, but since I don’t want to be a slacker all the time, and since I have been doing this since June of last year, I wasn’t about to let a bit of lime zest and cardamom get in my way.

And besides, they are cookies.   Do you know how many cookies I have made in my lifetime?

I could do this in the dark.

With one eye covered.

And both hands behind my back.

So, I  whizzed my nuts and coconut, because I don’t like lumps in my cookies unless they are chocolate lumps.

I zested my lime.

I rolled my dough inside a gallon baggie.

I chilled the dough.

I cut the dough.

I docked the dough.

I put the dough in the oven, making sure that I rotated them half way through.

And you know what happened?


.

That whole falling thing that comes right after the pride thing.

You see the recipe said that these cookies should not have any color, just slightly brown around the edges.

I had cookies that spread.

Cookies that didn’t spread.

Cookies that were mostly brown.

Cookies that were light brown.

And cookies that were just a wee bit brown.

All on one sheet pan.

So I began to wonder out loud what in the world was going on.

I reread the recipe only to find out that I had the oven to hot.

Oopsie…poopsie!

So I backed it down a bit, opened the oven to let some heat out, and baked the second batch.

They were a bit better.

Let’s compare.

They were better, but still brown around the edges.

Sigh.

So I put in the last batch, and didn’t bake them as long.

You know how many ‘good’ cookies I got from the last batch???

Seven.

But that isn’t the worst part.

The worst part of it is, I have a head cold, and I can’t taste a thing.

Not a blessed thing!

So, I have packaged these good, bad, and ugly cookies up and put them in the freezer for a time when my head isn’t full of gook and I can taste them.

If you would like the recipe, because I am quite sure they taste phenomenal, go check out Jayne’s blog.

Just make sure when you bake these you actually read the recipe.

It will be better for your ego that way.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

50 thoughts on “March 31”

  1. Oh! No poor you… perhaps chocolate would help? lol …kidding! Do hope you feel better soon!

    It seems that head cold didn’t keep you from baking such perfect cookies anyways! LOL

    Niiiiiiiice!

  2. Mine spread too. Had some that looked like yours and some that worked. My oven kept jumping in temp, which didn’t help. The dough itself was out of this world.I hope you feel better soon so you can actually taste them.

  3. Oh, no fair that you have a cold and can’t fully enjoy these! Sorry that they didn’t all work out. Your picture with the sugar and lime zest is breathtaking.

  4. Those cookies just smelled heavenly!!!! It was pure torture just smelling them, and not being able to eat them. Usually mom tells me what the food tastes like, but this time, she wasn’t able to. So, I guess I’ll just have to go with my instinct, that they tasted like pure heaven. Have a lovely day!!!!
    Love to all,
    kbvintagechic

  5. Bless your heart – I hope you feel better! But those cookies tasted great, right? Mine didn’t turn out all the same either. One was bigger, one browner, etc. But I loved the taste. And I used cardamom instead of coriander too.

  6. Aieee! You poor thing, I’m so sorry you have a headcold. Make Chef Boy cook you some chicken soup. And I was all hoping you’d find a way to put chocolate in these cookies – maybe you can dip them in chocolate next time. Something…

    xoxo – hope you feel better!

  7. That first batch reminded me of some of the cow pies I used to see in Grandpa’s pasture. I’m sure the cookies tasted better better than the cow pies, though.

  8. None of mine spread, but the recipe sure makes it sound like they should be THIN. I didn’t chill the dough–I froze it for about 30 minutes. Maybe that’s the trick. I’ve seen many who have said they spread too much and baked too dark. Hmmm. I think I just plain lucked out on this one. They taste pretty good, but you’re right on–chocolate tastes better! 😉

  9. Those pictures are amazing…glad you finally got the cookies the way you wanted them. Your first batch looked like mine, but I never progressed past the spread-out look. Fortunately, you did – hope you get to taste them soon.

  10. You had a great start and documented beautifully. And, the ruler. Ha. I couldn’t find one. But I remember reading beige not golden so I took them out before I thought they were done. These were tricky. Enjoyed your humorous posting.

  11. They still look better than mine! Used the pastry cutter to cut mine – no pizza cutter here. Worked great – didn’t it! Sorry you can’t taste them – they DO taste wonderful!

  12. Are you doing the Beth Moore Bible study? Because she JUST talked about that Pride before a fall passage in the study I did Monday night, so it’s on my mind. Sometimes, God has to tell me a few times….:-)

  13. Mine went all wonky, too. I am so glad that I am not the only one who had issues. I finally stuck the cookie sheet (loaded with unbaked cookies) in the freezer for a bit and then baked them — results!!!

    MUCH better!

    Blessings,
    Lacy

    P.S. The taste was okay but I don’t think I’ll make them again. I like chocolate cookies or ginger cookies much better. Something tells me that you would like chocolate cookies better, too. 😉

  14. I hope you are feeling better. I really loved rolling these cookies in the bag. A neat trick. I forgot about using a pizza cutter, but that would work very well. As with other comments, I think extra chilling of the dough helps them from spreading too much. They were delicious. What about dipping one side or corner in melted chocolate? That would be yummy. Thanks for visiting my new blog – I have lots of work to do on it. I appreciate your comments.

  15. I found I liked the brown edged ones better, they had more flavour.
    Good for you for using cardamom, I used the coriander and wished I had used cardamom after, it has so much more flavour.

  16. It’s so good to know that having the oven too hot causes them to spread! Thanks for the fail, ’cause I think I learned something. Your last batch look perfect, and I hope you enjoy them when your cold is gone! Love your close-ups (but I say that every week!).

  17. Wow. I just stared at your sheetful of cookies wondering how that happened. It’s a wonder of nature, like snow once it’s already been Spring-warm. Still, the good ones look really delish. I hope you’re well enough to try them soon.

  18. I did the same stinking thing except I didn’t realize it was too hot until I baked both batches. Argh. I’m glad yours turned out so nice. I love how bright the lime zest is! Such a pretty green.

Comments are closed.