March 24

I heart coffee cake.

Bisquick coffee cake was the first coffee cake I can remember eating.

But there was never enough crumb topping, and we all know that the topping is the best part of a coffee cake.

Whenever I make a coffee cake, I always double the topping.

Always.

I would rather have coffee cake than cinnamon rolls.

I would rather have coffee cake than pancakes.

I would rather have coffee cake than any other breakfast item (except for Schulers donuts or  maybe a McGriddle).

Last year,  Smitten Kitchen posted a recipe for Big Crumb Coffee Cake.

This coffee cake has a ginormous amount of topping.

And rhubarb, which I like to think of as optional.

And by optional, I mean we will never consider putting it in.

Ever!

I immediately printed off, shoved it at the boy and said “Make it now!”

And he did.

And I was forever in love with Smitten Kitchen’s crumb topping.

Today’s TWD recipe for Blueberry Crumb Cake that Sihan of Befuddlement picked for us today is a wonderful coffee cake.

The only problem for me, is that the topping is wimpy.

So I immediately turned to my favorite topping (which I have tweaked changed adapted from Smitten Kitchen) and used that instead of Dorie’s.

Sorry Dorie, but this girl goes big, or she goes home!

If you want to make this fabulous cake, check out Sihan’s blog.   She has the recipe.

If you want to make this fabulous crumb topping, look no further.

I have it here!


Crumb Topping

(adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • pinch salt
  • ½cup melted butter
  • 1 ½ cups flour

Whisk all dry ingredients together.   Pour melted butter over top.   Mix with spatula or hands.   I prefer the hands because it just works better.   Set aside and make your coffee cake.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

80 thoughts on “March 24”

  1. Your crumb cake looks delicious! I will have to try this crumb topping next time, I thought about adding the cinnamon to my topping, but, that thought crossed my mind AFTER the topping was already on the cake and in the oven.

  2. Great post as always chocolate chic! I loved this cake myself. I am a real sucker for coffee cakes of any kind and am now going to search out the version on smitten kitchen, as I have a huge rhubarb patch that needs pruning!

  3. Wow…this looks really good, especially in the Longaberger dish…right? 😉 All your prep photos are so delicious. I have to try again on this one…you will see when you pop over…not good enough. Can I have some of yours instead?

  4. Question: Is that recipe that you’ve adapted already doubled? Crumb topping is my favorite part, too, and I always double my (former) recipe, which is wimpy. I know I’ll like yours better. But, then, I always double my coffee cake recipe as well to fit a 9×13 pan. Suggestions? Will I have to quadruple your recipe?

  5. I felt the same way on this recipe. The cake tasted great, but it rose to such heights, it overwhelmed the meager crumb topping. You were very wise to double the topping — I’ll definitely try the one you’ve posted. It looks fantastic.

  6. Hi chocochic!

    I love your pics! I also definitely like your crumb topping compared to mine.

    I was so upset at myself for my blueberry crumb cake fiasco, that I actually made another one . . this time it became a banana oatmeal crumb cake which tasted very good! I just posted it! 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog and your endless TWD love and support!

    XOXO

  7. Love the post, your process photos are quite inciting.

    I too always want more of the topping, re: coffee cakes, cobblers, etc. Perhaps I will give this Smitten Kitchen crumbly deliciousness of which you speak a try!

  8. I thought Dorie’s topping was good, but if you said this is better, I will try it next time. Especially since there will be a next time! haha Your slice looks wonderful with the layer of blueberries at the bottom. It’s probably not what you wanted, but at least it looks uniformed 🙂

  9. As usual your pictures are terrific. Do you have training in photography or you a natural.

    If I were to make this I would definitly look up the recipe with rhubarb–yum–and double the crumb topping. Coffee cake makes a great breakfast, snack or dessert.

  10. We disagree about rhubarb, but I think you’re right about the crumb topping – yours looks fantastic! And now I have an excuse to make another coffee cake.

  11. Hey, thanks for the crumb topping recipe! Wise woman who doubles the crumb topping. I have always been addicted to coffee cakes, even as a little girl. My grandparents made us feel special by letting us drink coffee and having a slice of coffee cake with them at home and church!

  12. You know what I’m going to say don’t you?

    Fever? Sickness? Depression? Fatigue? Wassup? Where’s the chocolate? LOL

    But seriously, for someone who like coffee cake as much as you say you do, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the topping as much as you thought you would… I surely did, but mine doesn’t look like it turned out the same (did make a few adjustements though!)

    Nevertheless, it looks pretty darn good, in the end!

  13. Amazing with the big crumbs! I think crumb cake is about the crumbs (or it would be called cake with crumb topping). Thanks for the link to Deb’s recipe. I agree on the rhubarb, but I think of a recipe as a blank canvas for us.

  14. When we used to live in the country, and we exercised a whole lot more, Brotherchip would make coffeecake and double or triple the crumb topping. we would bake it in an 8in. round pan, then we would cut it into fourths and eat a fourth. Before we would we it, we would cover it with butter. Brotherchip would also make ginormous cinnamon rolls(don’t tell, but we would eat two 9 by 13 pans). It was good. Then Brotherchip and I would run off the sugar by playing in the woods. Have a wonderful day y’all.
    Love to all,
    kbvintagechic

  15. Totally agree with never enough crumbs, so I always double the topping. I have smitten kitchen’s recipe for that cake but have never tried it; I will now! Great looking cake!

  16. yes, double the crumbs! i love coffee cake but rarely ever eat it. this recipe was a good one so that might change. 🙂 your pics look great, i like the one of the batter going into the dish.

  17. I know I can count on you for amazing photos of every TWD treat, you are so talented with your camera! Your crumb cake looks delicious and I love that you did your own jumbo crumb topping 🙂

    p.s. I hope your daughter’s arm is doing better, what a trooper!!

  18. I love your pictures.. so nice. I love the way your cake came out.. it looks delicious! I really liked the way this cake turned out.. it was just really good!

  19. I read your post as I was having my FIRST cup of coffee – too bad I just couldn’t reach into the screen and have a piece of your cake!! It looks so perfect and delicious! I will have to try your crumb topping next time. Great photos!

  20. Oh yeah, it’s all about the topping and big crumbs are better crumbs! I thought Dorie’s was plenty – just not crazy about that butter pond that formed in the center while baking – freaked me out.

  21. You know, I loved this coffee cake, but my main beef was that the cake/topping ratio was off. It needed more topping! My first thought was to make it in a bigger (9″) pan next time, but I think I like your idea of supersizing the topping much more. Awesome!

Comments are closed.