March 14

Growing up, I don’t ever remember my parents taking me to a library.

The parents weren’t as bookish as I am.

But being the proper home school mom that I am, we are library folk.

When we lived in the country, I would take the chips once a week.

Now that we are in town,  and live about 7 blocks from that wonderful building, they can go as often as they like.

On their own.

And they go about every 3 days.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

22 thoughts on “March 14”

  1. I love that stack of books! I don’t think there is anything better than a cup of hot tea, a couch to curl up on and a good book. I could go for days without the tv on, just losing myself in a good book. Any suggestions on some good books to try?

  2. Our Librarian is one of my kids best friends. I’m just jealous of how close to the library y’all are. That would be so cool to be within walking distance. On the upside our library has a park right behind it, so now that Spring is coming we are looking forward to library/park outings. 🙂

  3. Excuse me? We may not have gone to the library a lot although we did go a few times, but we do love books and we love to read. Where do you think you got your love for books?

    Daddy and I have always loved to read. We enjoy reading in our spare time when we have it. So yes, I would say we are book people.

    Gma M loved to read and she passed that down to her girls and her grandchildren.

    Many times when you are raising children it’s a matter of finding time spare time and that sometimes has to wait until after the kids are in bed.

  4. I don’t ever recall my parents taking me to the library when I was young, but I did work at the neighborhood library during high school, never thinking I would end up being a librarian. After a 9 year hiatus, I’m back again, working at the local library for my second job. It’s great to see all the little kids excited about books.

  5. CC I hope my reply didn’t sound like I was upset. After I submitted I read it and thought it might. I just wanted to say that yes we are book people and you don’t have to go to the library to be one.

  6. I love libraries and book stores. A good book store is more likely to yield my kids something than most other stores if they are wanting mom to foot the bill.

    Our local library is not frequented by us as much as I would like. It is not near places that we go very often, the parking is poor and the building is very small so they are not able to have a great a collection as one would expect from the busiest library in the borough.

    I love books and love losing myself in them.

  7. You are fortunate that your library is so close.

    I don’t think my parents took me to the library either. I’m not sure if we had one or not. Mom provided a set of encyclopedias.

    Our first library was in a 3-4 story mansion. They moved it to a different old mansion and now, the first library now serves as a history library.

    CC, you’d love it. The upper-most floor is a square tower with windows all around. The servants hung laundry there to dry. =}

  8. We go the library at least once a week. It’s definitely on our list of favorite places to spend time.

    Congratulations on teaching your kids a love of reading. It’s a gift they will appreciate more and more the older they get!

  9. I too love to read and so do my boys. When you love to read you can travel anywhere right in you own cozy little spot. It does my heart good to see my little ones at school starting to pick up words in books. The Bookmobile comes to the school every two weeks. The kids just love it.

  10. We make weekly trips to the library. I love interlibrary loan. I can get almost any book I want and/or need by making a request and 3 days later they call and say it’s waiting for me. I took a picture much like yours just a couple weeks ago and I plan to do a scrapbook page about our libray trips. Now that my kids are older, we have started volunteering at our library. Every couple weeks, we spend about 1 1/2 hours doing whatever they ask us to do. We straightened up the reference room and got all the books in numerical order, we have moved books around to make room for new ones, and next time she wants us to go through all the DVDs and make sure they are in order. Our library has a huge DVD collection! Oh, and we can check out magazines. A lot of libraries won’t let you do that.

  11. I love your site and come back all the time!

    Growing up, I can remember walking to the library after school and waiting there until my mom picked me up after she got off of work!

    Today, the library is a regular trip for me and my girls…..with stacks like your picture!

  12. When we were young my parents took us to the library a few times each summer, but mostly we were stuck with our home library and that of the school. Not that I’m complaining – my parents have tons of books! Later on, my high school was right across the street from the library. I actually got a job there and was able to walk to work every day. It was fabulous!

    My kids and I hit the library at least twice a week, but it is a longish drive. I’d love to be able to walk there and back!

  13. We love the library! Where you can go wrong with free books? When I was young my mom and I used to walk to the library and then across the street for a slice of the best lemon meringue pie ever. And I still love to read and bake. no wonder…

  14. I homeschooled until the boys went to high school. One of the things that I miss the most are those winter days when schoolwork was finished, everyone would grab books for a couple of hours, a cup of hot cider, and the beanbags in front of the fireplace and just read and read and read. The image will be forever in my mind. From the time they were two until the time they were 14, Mark would read to them for a couple of hours every single night and both boys would, even at age two, sit and listen and listen and listen for however long he wanted to read. Gold, absolute gold.

Comments are closed.