February 10

Internet, meet the driver’s side shock/strut on Chefboy’s car….or what’s left of it.

Yesterday morning the boy’s car was leaking gas from the new fuel filter he replaced Sunday, so he asked to use my vehicle.

I tossed him my keys, and called dad my mechanic to see if he could come fix The Beast.

I mean, I had plans.

Plans that needed not to be frustrated.

I needed to go to the store to get milk for today’s TWD recipe that Sheri of Whisk: a food blog picked out for us today.

It has a lovely custard base, which I was going to make ice cream with, and meringues which I was going to make cookies with, and a caramel drizzle thingie that I was going to do wild and crazy things too.

The car HAD to be fixed.

Daddy My mechanic came.

The car was fixed.

He then told  me that if this shock/strut rusted through completely, whomever was driving would most likely end up in the ditch.

I’ve already met Mr. Ditch on several occasions, and decided it wasn’t necessary to meet him again.

So for the first time since July 1st, I have no TWD.

I feel like such a slacker, but at least I didn’t wreck another car.

That’s gotta count for something.

****Update~~It is 9:32 am.   The boy just called and it broke.   Thank God he is fine.

If you would like to make this gorgeous looking dessert, please go check out Sheri’s blog.    She has the recipe, and I’m sure some really gorgeous pictures too.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

20 thoughts on “February 10”

  1. My brother had a Datson hatch-back that rusted around the front struts. Both sides came loose at the same time leaving him with no steering at all. He said it was like driving one of those cars in a cartoon with the wheels going everywhere but straight. Since this was a uni-body type car, it was essentially broke in two pieces. The next step for this car was the nacker yard.

  2. Ugh! Glad everybody is okay. Good luck sorting out the car woes. Sometimes life gets in the way of the best-laid baking plans. I am counting on seeing you next week, of course!!

  3. Ugh! Glad everybody is okay. Good luck sorting out the car woes. Sometimes life gets in the way of the best-laid baking plans. I am counting on seeing you for next week’s chocolate cake, of course!!

  4. I am soooo sorry about that. When I saw your photo I figured that it had caused the accident but I was expecting much worse. That doesn’t look like it would be inexpensive to repair/replace either. Glad the boy is OK and that you made the smart choice to not attempt driving it. Maybe you can make this one another time.

  5. Now you have extra time to tell us a cake story, right? I’m sorry about the broken car but glad chefboy is alright. No worries, those islands will be there when you get there. hehe See ya next week for a piece of cake.
    AmyRuth

Comments are closed.