January 22

To say that I have a sweet tooth would be like saying Texas kinda likes it’s Barbeque.

Growing up, we rarely got cake, cookies or the like.

Mom was kinda a health nut.

She tried so hard to make us healthy.

And since I moved out over 20 years ago, I have more than made up for it.

I try to be good and healthy, but something in me just fights me tooth and nail.

Something like these Easy Sticky Buns that Melissa of Made by Melissa picked out for us BB’s to make, that I just. don’t. have the energy to fight against.

Just try to say no to these sweet little things.

I double dog dare ya!

If you can, you are a bigger person than I, because I ate 4 of them.

Four.

Want to say yes!  Yes! YES!!! to your sweet tooth, and bury that health nut in the back yard?

Then get out your shovel and make these sticky buns.

You’ll have them in no time at all, with minimal effort.

You don’t even have to get out the mixer if you don’t want to.

Easy Sticky Buns

12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
1/2 cup pecans, chopped in very large pieces
1 package (17.3 ounces/2 sheets) frozen puff pastry, defrosted for the filling
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup raisins yucky raisins/chocolate chips/cinnamon chips

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place a 12-cup standard muffin tin on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, (if your butter is softened, then you can  just used a wooden spoon.   I used my hand mixer) combine the 12 tablespoons butter and 1/3 cup brown sugar. Place 1 rounded tablespoon of the mixture in each of the 12 muffin cups. Distribute the pecans evenly among the 12 muffin cups on top of the butter and sugar mixture.

Lightly flour a wooden board or stone surface. Unfold one sheet of puff pastry with the folds going left to right. Brush the whole sheet with half of the melted butter. Leaving a 1-inch border on the puff pastry, sprinkle each sheet with 1/3 cup of the brown sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons of the cinnamon, and 1/2 cup of the raisins I used cinnamon chips. Starting with the end nearest you, roll the pastry up snugly like a jelly roll around the filling, finishing the roll with the seam side down.

Trim the ends of the roll about 1/2 inch and discard. Slice the roll in 6 equal pieces, each about 1 1/2 inches wide. Place each piece, spiral side up, in 6 of the muffin cups. Repeat with the second sheet of puff pastry to make 12 sticky buns.

Bake for 30 minutes, until the sticky buns are golden to dark brown on top and firm to the touch. Allow to cool for 5 minutes only, invert the buns onto the parchment paper (ease the filling and pecans out onto the buns with a spoon), and cool completely.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

36 thoughts on “January 22”

  1. how soon we forget……..we use to cater weddings…always left-over cake….always had some kind of cake or pie for sunday dinner….saturdays were doughnut day…I would get the baby doughnuts for you kids…church dinners….visiting friends where there was always something sweet to eat……how soon we forget..

    Dad

  2. My mom raised us to be healthy too, but all the while she had a secret chocolate stash! So the sweet tooth must be genetic because even though she tried her darndest to raise us right, I LOVE goodies.

  3. Ohhhhhh my! Those look amazing! So gooey and sticky and finger-licking good!

    My mom was a health-food nut when I was growing up, too… And of course I blame her for my raging sweet tooth, now 🙂

  4. My Mama tried so hard to make me eat healthy. I don’t have it in me to stay clear of the sweet stuff. And thus, my poundage increaseth.

    You had me at “sticky.”

  5. In this enlightened age, we all know that our parents are to blame for all that’s wrong with us. We seek comfort from our therapist who gently helps us discover all the deep dark secrets of our childhood so we can get on with our lives. We are so moved by our experience that we feel compelled to write a book so that others will not feel alone in their misery (do I hear violins?). Opra Winfrey discovers the book in a hidden away place in a used book store and brings it to her audience and invites us to share our pain with her listeners. We begin by explaining how it all started, “I remember when I first discovered cake at age seventeen(sob) and I realized that I had been DEPRIVED of one of life’s greatest joys(sob, sob). I found out that there was this thing called a “donut” with a HOLE in it(now Opra’s crying) that is even BETTER than cake! (Sob)I NOW understand why I’ve been so depressed all these years(oh my gosh, now I’M crying!)! So, PLEASE folks, buy my book (Walmarts mysteriously sells out of Kleenex) and discover how ROTTEN my parents were!”(Opra is nodding in somber agreement) Then we promptly get filthy rich off of the book proceeds (but those greedy little kids of mine’ll never see any of it!). Oh well, that’s the world we live in.
    P.S. When’s the book coming out?

  6. Sweetie…Saturday was never labeled Pancake day. It was always donut day…we had pancakes occasionally but never never never once a week. I would have been as big as I am now:)

    PLEASE…..your killing me here with those yummy pics! I never use to like those sticky buns until I tried them at Walnut Creek Cheese…then…well you know the rest of the story LOL I WANT SOME NOW!!!!!! And I’m not even hungry:)

  7. I’ve said this before, but your pictures are AMAZING. Your process pictures are amazing. Your “staged finished product” pictures are amazing. I know when I come here that I’m going to leave hungry!!

    These buns were awesome!

  8. Oh yes… four would be a walk in a park. But I’ve eaten way too many goodies like this in my life, so none for me… Maybe after next 10 pounds 😉

    We didn’t have much sugar when we were kids either. Mommy baked Karelian pirogs every now and then, and bread, that wasn’t very good, because she wasn’t a baker, but I didn’t know that at that time, but loved the soggy, flat, yeasty bread anyway, and sometimes buttermilk cake

  9. I’m going straight to hell just looking at the photos of these…cinnnamon rolls are my biggest weakness. Get thee behind me, Satan!!!!! Yours look so very very good. Yep, the trip might be worth it…to hell on the fast train with these.

  10. They are WAY too sticky. I think I need to try them just to be sure. Send me some, now!
    Address:
    Donna
    Spatulas & Corkscrews
    Anywhere USA

Comments are closed.