January 8

Internet, I must profusely apologize.

I didn’t answer your question last night at 6.

I have a good reason.

Life.

And by life I mean that the girl and I sat down to eat supper watching Mentalist that we had DVR’d, and who wants to get up from the couch and answer a question when they are looking at this?

Hmmmmmmm?

Obviously not me.

So, the answer to your question is that all of it is left except for 2 packages of the Snickers.

I see many of you didn’t think I had the will power, but  I have to make it last till at least Feb. 14th, then it will all be replenished.

My dad’s mom grew up during the depression.

Frugality was the word of time.

When she got married and began having children of her own, she remained frugal.

She watered down ketchup.

She watered down orange juice.

She watered down pancake syrup.

Dad made us his breakfast of champions.   One egg…fried, and 1 slice of toast….LIGHTLY buttered.

Sister and I rarely got pancakes, and when we did, they weren’t fluffy or thick.

They were more like thick crepes.

As I got older, I began to beg Dad to make them thicker please… please….. please because I really wanted my butter to sink into something and not melt into the tiny puddle of syrup that we were allotted.

Now that I am making my own pancakes, like these Sour Cream Banana pancakes that Karen of Something Sweet by Karen picked for today’s Barefoot Bloggers, I make them thick and fluffy.

Here at the house of Chocolate, we eat our pancakes like this…

  • poke holes in your pancakes all over with a knife
  • pour steaming hot syrup over the pancakes, so that it oozes into the holes
  • slather at least 3 tbsp. of butter  on them, making sure that the melting butter sinks into the holes as well
  • gobble

These Sour Cream Banana Pancakes were no exception.

Thick, fluffy, and slightly tangy.

Oh, they were so good.

So quick to throw together.

Wanna see how I did it?

Banana Sour Cream Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon milk ( I didn’t use the tbsp. of milk, I added a tbsp. of vanilla instead)
  • 2 extra-large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest (didn’t have this, so it was omitted)
  • Unsalted butter
  • 2 ripe bananas, diced, plus extra for serving
  • Pure maple syrup

Directions

Sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the sour cream, milk, eggs, vanilla, and lemon zest. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ones, mixing only until combined.

Melt 1 tablespoon of butter (I used ghee here) in a large skillet over medium-low heat until it bubbles. Ladle the pancake batter into the pan to make 3 or 4 pancakes. Distribute a rounded tablespoon of bananas on each pancake. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until bubbles appear on top and the underside is nicely browned. Flip the pancakes and then cook for another minute until browned. Wipe out the pan with a paper towel, add more butter (ghee) to the pan, and continue cooking pancakes until all the batter is used. Serve with sliced bananas, butter and maple syrup.

These pancakes are great for a brunch or a lazy Saturday morning.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

46 thoughts on “January 8”

  1. Wanna know how we eat pancakes? With peanut butter and syrup! Sounds gross, I know, but really yummy! Before I got married, my father in law said I’d have to try “Brown family pancakes” before I could join the family. PB is not my first choice, but definitely on the roster.

  2. i think i may have to stop reading your blog, or im going to ruin my diet! wow those look SO GOOD. I have been craving pumpkin pancakes for a week…maybe i will make the family pancakes this weekend. mmmmm

  3. We just had choc chip pancakes this morning. I dont know if my youngest will let me try a different recipe or not. He is very strict with what recipe I may use!!! LOL

    Simon Baker?????? No wonder you forgot…………

  4. Those look soooo good. I liked your story about the watering down of various foods – my husband was raised on the thin, crepe-like pancakes and won’t eat them any other way. So when I made these for him a while back, I was in heaven…and he just thought they were too substantial. You can’t win sometimes.

  5. Oh my word, those ARE thick and fluffy. Your last picture with the butter almost made me cry, I want that pancake so much. Glad you are making the pancakes your way now!

  6. CC, this looks won.der.ful!!! I added sour cream & bananas to my grocery list for tomorrow. I will be making these for my boys this weekend. They/WE 🙂 Thank YOU!
    Blessings,
    Patty

  7. Hubby would probably love these!! The boy would try them but the girl…..doubtful 😦

    I love the New York Cheesecake pancakes that IHOP does a few times a year!!! So I think that these would be delish as well and I’m not a pancake person.

  8. Those pancakes look perfect but not quite as delicious as Simon Baker. Yum. I loved him on the Guardian and haven’t missed an episode of the Mentalist yet- I’m glad to find another fan!

  9. Your Dad’s mom and my mom grew up in the same house. My mom diluted milk with dry milk and water, watered down syrup(I didn’t know syrup was thick until I went into the Air Force), used Oleo instead of butter(sparingly), and, I kid you not, I came home from the military and looked into the fridge and found a small tupperware dish with plastic-wrap around it containing a small piece of lettuce(about 2″ square)that she couldn’t bring herself to throw away. A lady at church and I had a friendly contest to see whos mother was the most conservative. When I told her that story, she hesitated and thought for a moment, then said “You win!”

  10. thanks for welcoming me to the group. these pancakes are simply divine and they were so easy to make. I’ll never use pancake mix from the box ever again.

  11. I have made these before and sweet heavens, they are good! I mash my bananas, though, I’m not a chunky banana eater.

    I love your method for eating pancakes….I now have a mental image of four hungry souls poking holes in their pancakes with a knife!!!!

  12. And this is proof positive that it takes TWO generations to break cultural habits such as extreme frugality. I live with the Other Mother who grew up in the depression. Everything is watered down including laundry soap.

    I love my pancakes thick also. These look delicious, believe me when I say I’m going to give them a try. The only tinkering I’m going to do is to add some pecans.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  13. I like the fluffy and thick pancakes too. It is great to see how people like to eat their pancakes. You poke holes. I almost like zero syrup and only dip min in syrup,that is poured on the side. Good recipe

  14. great post, it made me smile. i like the house of chocolate way of eating pancakes, i’m going to start poking holes all over the place! they look amazing, i’m glad you liked them.

  15. These pancakes look so delicious. My family will love the combination of bananas and sour cream. Then they will pour maple syrup all over them.

    Great recipe – will have to make for breakfast this weekend.

  16. Your pancakes look delicious. It is so funny,before I even read your blog tonight I had come home and made cornmeal pancakes for supper.Yours turned out waaaaaay better.

  17. Everytime I come to your blog, I tend to leave a puddle of DROOL all over my nice new laptop. Today was no exception of course! Darn your sweetness CC… 😉
    These look amazing and I will run to the store tomorrow for some bananas, and we will be eating these for dinner tomorrow night. Because who says dinner can’t be sweet? Right?

  18. I was wondering why you used ghee instead of regular butter in this recipe? Just wondering… Also, do you use regular butter on top of the pancakes?

  19. I remember the watered down pancake syrup and orange juice. It was good at the time…we didn’t know any better. I was probably in high school or older before I knew that wasn’t “normal”.
    I love my pancakes (I prefer French Toast) with lots of real butter, thick syrup and powdered sugar on top! I don’t eat them that way but I would love them that way.

  20. I loved and grew up on the thick pancakes and butter and syrup! Your daddy always thought they were too thick. I guess it’s what you are use to. Lately when he fixes pancakes they are much thicker. I guess after all these years he’s gotten a little use to thicker ones, although he still prefers the thinner ones. As much as I love them we don’t have them too often because I love “tons” of butter and syrup on them and sigh…we all know that’s not good for us 🙂

  21. Manuel~~I use the ghee to fry the pancakes in because ghee has a much higher smoke point, and lets face it…..pancakes just taste better fried in butter, so I wanted the flavor.

    Aunt Mary~~good to see you here.

  22. I was going to comment on your French pear tart which looks great, but I saw the sour cream banana pancakes and had to tell you they really look so tasty with the crispy edges. I’ll have to make these for my family.

Comments are closed.