January 6

I have always been a quick study.

School was always boring because I only needed to be told once and I got it, so  I never studied.

Ever.

Well, maybe a bit in college, but that was because there were a lot of cute boys in the study group.

It was in the 7th grade when I first discovered the library.

The little school that I attended, had a library that was just across the hall from my English class.

I spent a lot of time in that library.

Reading and checking out books.

They weren’t your ordinary classics  like Dickens, Austin,  Poe or Bronté.

They were Harlequin Romance trash and I devoured every. single. book. they. had.

I got an education that year, but I don’t think it was the kind that my parents had hoped I’d get.

I learned about long hair, and damsels in distress and the beautiful men that rescued them.

I learned about struggling horse ranch owners in the middle of nowhere, and the beautiful men who rescued them.

I learned about sailors and merchants.

I learned about castles and knights, fair maidens, and tarts.

Not the French Pear tart that I made for TWD, but naughty women who were….well, naughty.

Our own illustrious Dorie Greenspan who’s book we bake out of every Tuesday, chose today’s recipe.

I didn’t fiddlefart with this recipe.   I made it straight out of the book.

We are having it for dessert this evening, so I will let you know just how great it tastes.

OH…PS…I don’t have a tart pan (Santa didn’t bring me one) so I used the next best thing.

My spring form pan.

It is so quick to put together.   So simple, yet so elegant.

Go check out Dories blog, and get this recipe.

Finished with supper, and guests have left.    I have to say that this tart was fabulous.   Just fabulous.   I absolutely will be making this again.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

72 thoughts on “January 6”

  1. I love how your post starts out being about Harlequin romances and quite artfully ends up being about the best tart ever, imo. 🙂 Beautifully done.

  2. You’re a pip! Your posts are so much fun to read, but I may need to steer clear for a few days until I have a steely grip on my resolve. (New diet don’tcha know.)

  3. I’m sure the springform is fine. It looks great, you’ll have to let us know how it tastes. I’ll let you in on a little secret…. I’m a trash romance reader as well. Perfect for the exercise bicycle!

  4. Springform! I wanna see a picture after you take it out of the pan. I am sure you won’t be disappointed with this one. Its definitely a keeper!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  5. Oh, that pear tart looks so fabulous. My family will certainly thank you for this post. HA.

    Hey – do you read Suzanne at the “Chickens in the Road” blog? She’s a published author. Her genre? Romance novels!! Get over there quick. I keep forgetting to ask her where she gets her inspiration.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  6. I hope that you and all of your tasters love this as much as I think they will! It looks beautiful — way to improvise with the springform pan! This is definitely better than the “other kind” of tart!

  7. So happy you guys loved the tart.
    Now, tell Santa not to come home until he picks up 3 tart pans with removable bottoms. 8″, 9″ and 11″. Plus some minis, as interest.

  8. I discovered those same books at a younger age because my mom was reading them too, I didn’t have to buy them or check them out, she did all the work for me 😉

    I had to give them up when the boy was very young as they were taking over my life.

    The tart looks great, take pics of how much everyone is enjoying this one OK.

  9. Gorgeous tart! And I loved your story about studying (or not) and the Harlequin novels – what better reason to study than that there are cute guys in the study group 😉

  10. Loved your post…especially the almond cream picture. I am having a little romance with that stuff myself. Your tart looks gorgeous and I’m sure you will enjoy it for dessert.

  11. I think I say this every time, but 1-yum to your delicious looking tart, and 2-I love reading your blog. You write great, short and sweet, but make a point and it’s just fun to read! I’ll be back!
    Great job on the tart.

  12. One of my best friends used to model for the covers of those romance novels. She even got to pose with the famous or is it the not so famous “I can’t believe it’s not butter”–what’s his name, Fabio! She said he was very handsome in person and very tallllllll. She made good money doing that, but you really had to hold the poses for a long time; she got many a strained neck.

  13. I guess the lack of studying in school explains why I found three comma splices, two fragments, incorrect usage of “who’s” vs. “whose”, and an inanimate relative pronoun (i.e., “that”) to refer to an animate antecedent (e.g., “man” or “prince”) in this post. LOL!

    That’s cool that Dorie Greenspan picked out the dish! I hope it turned out okay! It looks good!

  14. God, you brought back high school memories for me! My mum was so happy to see my nose buried in a book, but if she only knew what i was reading…

    You said it…FABULOUS tart!

  15. Great pictures, as usual. I like how you left space in the middle of the tart. Mine was a bit soggy in the middle, and keeping the fruit away from the middle might have helped.

  16. ohh what a fantastic looking dish! I can never manage to take photos of the baking process though! It must go on the list of my new years resolutions.. Patience while baking.. patience while baking… 🙂

  17. I got really caught up in your story! Wasn’t this awesome? Who knew so many people would get so excited about a pear tart? I guess Dorie knew and that’s why she picked it!

  18. That photographic simplicity just kill me… it is so unlike me to think in that way (my mind is much busier and more intricate) but I looooooooove the change, being often attracted to “ways” that are very different than mine!
    Everything is so beautiful, and neat, and prestine, and simple, and perfect… LOL LOL

  19. Oh were you baking a tart? I was just laughing along with you as I walked the halls of HS (in my mind, yikes). Very funny play on words and description of your educational experience. Smart Mommy!
    Glad you had a wonderful holiday. So you liked the tart. Awesome
    AmyRuth

  20. That was great – loved the post and the pictures. Enjoyed the year in review with photos as well. Not everyone has a family that seems to like each other as much as your seems too – what a blessing.

Comments are closed.