December 30

(this is what I got for Christmas from Superman.   He did a great job!)

It is January or Feburary of 1981.

In a small middle school in St. Mary’s, Ohio there sits a girl in the library.

Her note book is sprawled on the desk and she is scribbling fast and furious in it, completely oblivious to her surroundings.

Is it because she is brilliant?

Is it because she loves to write?

Or is it because 4 weeks prior, her 7th grade English teacher assigned her entire class a project to write a childrens story and it was due to be handed in in 20 minutes?

I’ll let you decide.

But here’s a hint.

I barely got it turned in on time.

Barely.

I got an A on my book.    Not because it was brilliantly written, but because Mother illustrated it for me, and her illustrations far exceeded anything else in the entire class.

Being Queen of DeNile is easy because I am also Princess of Procrastination.

Which is also why I spent yesterday afternoon furiously making today’s TWD.

Anne of Anne Strawberry picked today’s recipe of Tall and Creamy Cheesecake.

When I saw this recipe just a brief 4 weeks ago, I thought ‘yippee…….cheesecake.   A chance to show Chefboy that I can make cheesecake too.’

Then Christmas happened, and the glut of presents and baking and wrapping, and bows and family and parties…well, I just put it off.

I mean, why do something today, when tomorrow is just as good?

Because of all the yummy, but heavy desserts, treats, etc. of the season, I decided to make this a bit lighter.

I used shortbread cookies to make the crust, and I added the zest of an orange, and the juice of that orange in the filling.  It is light and just barely citrusy.   Kind of like an orange creamcicle.

The texture of this cheesecake is light, airy and silky.   The best cheesecake recipe I have ever tasted.

Perfect for the after Christmas parties, before Christmas parties, or just parties in general.

Go check out Anne’s blog.   She has the recipe.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

52 thoughts on “December 30”

  1. Why? Oh, why do I torture myself so? I haven’t even made breakfast yet, and I see the most perfect looking cheesecake right there, calling my name! It looks so yummy and I know that it would taste heavenly with a cup of hot tea! I would love to make it, but I promised myself that I would stay out of the grocery store for one week (I have a little obsession with food shopping!) Please enjoy a nice big slice for me!

  2. Oh I hear you with the procrastination…I played “Beat the Clock” with the TWD “Grandma’s Sugar Cookies” a few weeks ago–trying to make them and post all on a Tuesday after work…trying to get the post ‘up’ before Tuesday ended! But that recipe was a lot quicker and easier than this one, so kudos to you! Your cheesecake looks divine! Great job!

  3. “Being Queen of DeNile is easy because I am also Princess of Procrastination.” <– hilarious! Your cheesecake looks fantastic! A shortbread crust sounds great, I’ll have to try that one.

  4. Your photos are always GREAT and I love your stories in between! Goodness, that looks amazingly tall and creamy and I love the orange addition! Glad you found time for it, last minute or last month, it looks great!
    Happy New Year!

  5. OMG! I love your cheesecake! The texture is fantastic, isn’t it? 🙂 I agree with you that this recipe is a keeper. The pictures look too good to eat. Yum yum in my tum tum!

    How come we are not blog buddies?! I am so loving your blog! Happy New Year!

  6. Beautiful photos – you really captured the creamy deliciousness of this fantastic dessert! I need to learn how to use my camera properly to take those kinds of amazing shots!

  7. Your cheesecake looks great! As for being a procrastinator, well, I remember doing the exact same thing for my 7th grade health class term paper – 20 pages on a health issue, with two visual aids. Yeah. I threw it together the night before and still got an A. Sometimes I think we just do our best work under pressure. : )

    Happy New Year!

  8. I thought I was the Queen of Procrastination!! lol Perhaps we are twins? I Love your cheesecake. It looks delicious and light and I can only imagine how wonderfully fresh it tasted! I bet it was totally delicious! Congrats on the great Christmas pressie!! I have a Kitchen Aid blender that I won in a contest and I just love it. I am angling for a Kitchen Aid mixer machine!! That’s my dream gift! You are a lucky girl!

  9. Many of my best writings have been at the last minute though I’ve never had the help of a great illustrator to increase my grade.

    As for the cheesecake….I am so glad that there are 3000 miles between us other wise I’d be at your door very soon to help eat that luscious bit of delectable dessert!!

  10. Woah… I’m about to fall into your realm, and perhaps make you one of my new favorite blog (a good resolution for 2009, d’ont ya think? LOL)
    Your pictures are to die for, just as the cake’s final result… wow. I’m totaly impressed!!!

  11. Mine was down to the wire, too. =) It went into the fridge at 11pm last night. I managed to get pictures of it this afternoon.

    I would never have thought to put orange in it. I do lemon all the time, but never orange. Interesting.

  12. I have got to make this…yours looks so wonderful. I thought maybe I would just be sad that I had to skip a couple of weeks and not worry about catching up, but after seeing this…no longer part of the plan: I must make this! Yours looks stunning!

Comments are closed.