December 27

Every year since the chips were born, we would get up on Christmas morning, open gifts, grab a really quick bite to eat, and go to my parents house for the rest of the day.

This year was the very first year that we stayed home all day.

Opening gifties was a leisurely affair.

Breakfast was a leisurely affair.

Lunch was a leisurely affair.

Supper was….you know.

I really thought that the chips would not be happy about it at all, but at supper when I asked them was the best part of the day was for them, they all agreed that it was staying home.

Next year, we are staying put.

That means the dishes fairy is going to have to visit again.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

11 thoughts on “December 27”

  1. This was our first Christmas staying home too! We usually travel 2 hours to either my mom’s house or to his parent’s house. We decided to have our kids wake up at their house on Christmas day and it was wonderful. My mom, grandma, and brother came later for lunch and then we all went to help at our church community Christmas dinner. It was wonderful! I hope to make it a yearly tradition!

  2. We stayed home this year too. It was nice. And who is this “dishes fairy” person you are talking about??? Where can I get ahold of her! 😉
    Can you possibly send her my way?

  3. Yummy!

    As usual — your food makes me want to climb in a superjet and arrive at your doorstep with fork in hand.

    Thank you for your sweet congratulations on our instant family. You are too kind!

    Merry Christmas!

    Love,
    Lacy

  4. I bet it was wonderful staying home. We only have to travel a couple miles to my in-laws, but that isn’t until after lunch time. We have lots of family time in the morning. 🙂

  5. Sounds like you all had a wonderful time at home. We spent the morning together before the hubby and kids had to go on their adventure and then up to the aunt’s house to share Christmas dinner.

  6. We stayed home this year as well and it was nice. I said to Todd later in the day that it was nice to be just us and have no outside pressure. We could eat when we wanted to and just be relaxed. I have a 70 yaer old dishwasher that does a great job, although I do confess I did pitch in a hand to help on Christmas day. 🙂

  7. All through the years we always went to Mom and Dad’s on Christmas day when they were together. When they divorced we had to split going to two different places. Although we did have Christmas day at our home, the rush was always the day before. We would bring Mom home to spend Christmas with us. That was nice!
    At that time I would have loved to have stayed home, but now that they have both passed away I am glad we made the sacrifice. There will be no more Christmas with them.

    For all of you who still have your parents, rejoice with and in them, before you know it they will be gone.

    Glad you had a good day CC and family.

    Love Mom

  8. My mom used to always say her favorite day of the year was December 26th because the constant shuffle from house, to house, to house was finally over and she could relax. It’s made me into an adult who says, “the offer is here… if you want to come, that’s great… but I TOTALLY understand if you want to stay home.” I’m all for staying home.
    ~Cat

Comments are closed.