December 11

I have put a dutch oven on my Christmas list.

I don’t have one and I need one.

Yes, need!

Let me make my case for you.

You see Tuesday, I made Coq au vin (that’s French for Chicken in wine) for today’s BB, that Bethany of this little piggy went to market chose for us.

It is a humble recipe that calls for the most basic ingredients.

Carrots, onion, garlic, bacon,mushrooms,  chicken and liquor.

You are to sautee the bacon in a DUTCH OVEN, of which I have none, so I used my largest All-Clad pan that I have been using on my stove top for the last 5 years.

Remember this, Internet, it is important.

Take the bacon out and brown the chicken.

Sautee the veggies in the chicken/bacon goodness toss in some chopped garlic and add some liquor to deglaze the pan.

Put the chicken, bacon and drippings back in the pan, add some chicken stock and the rest of the liquor.

Put your dutch oven pot in the oven and bake for 40 minutes.

Take it out of the oven, put it on your burner, mush some flour and butter together and add it to the pot to thicken.

It was at this point where things got just a bit hairy in the kitchen.

You see, at the same time I was taking said dutch oven pot out of the oven, I had some venison(deer) meat cooking on another burner for the girl, and some rice that needed attention too.

I took the lid off the coq au vin, turned the girl’s meat, and checked to see if the rice was done.

Then I went to get the knife for the butter (to mash into some flour).   I had inadvertently set the lid half on the knife, so I picked the lid up.

Without a pot holder.

Because I have NEVER put that pot in the oven before, I just didn’t connect that pot lid straight out of 350º oven + human fingers = burning sensations that will make you throw said lid and second degree blisters will begin to form.

That will cause the girl to come running, Superman call from the other room to see if I was ok, and my girlfriend to sit there and just shake her head.

Superman will come to fuss over you, you will sprinkle Wondera into the coq au vin, call it good, and walk around for the next 4 hours with an ice pack between your right thumb and forefinger.

You will also not have a single thought of taking a picture  of the lovely, delicious coq au vin, because…see above.

So you are just going to have to  imagine a serving dish full of Coq au vin.

Isn’t it the best coq au vin you have ever seen???

This recipe is so simple.   So humble.   So delicious.

And as soon as I get a dutch oven, I am definately going to make it again.

Superman…ya want to eat???

Buy me a dutch oven!

.

Coq Au Vin

Ingredients

  • 4 ounces good bacon, diced
  • 1 (3 to 4-pound) chicken, cut in 8ths
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 pound carrots, cut diagonally in 1-inch pieces
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon chopped garlic
  • 1/4 cup Cognac or good brandy ~~I used brandy
  • 1/2 bottle (375 ml) good dry red wine such as Burgundy~~I used Burgandy
  • 1 cup good chicken stock, preferably homemade
  • 10 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature, divided
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 pound frozen small whole onions~~didn’t use because helloooooo there is already onion in this
  • 1/2 pound cremini mushrooms, stems removed and thickly sliced~~I used button mushrooms, because even though Pothole has cremini mushrooms, they want an arm and leg, and I happen to like my arms and legs right where they are, thankyouverymuch!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat 2 tbsp.  olive oil in a large Dutch oven. Add the bacon and cook over medium heat, until lightly browned. Remove the bacon to a plate with a slotted spoon.

Meanwhile, lay the chicken out on paper towels and pat dry. Liberally sprinkle the chicken on both sides with salt and pepper. When the bacon is removed, brown the chicken pieces in batches in a single layer for about 5 minutes, turning to brown evenly. Remove the chicken to the plate with the bacon and continue to brown until all the chicken is done.

Set aside.

Add the carrots, onions, 2 teaspoons salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper to the pan and cook over medium heat for 10 to 12 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the onions are lightly browned. Add the garlic and cook for 1 more minute.

Add the Cognac and put the bacon, chicken, and any juices that collected on the plate into the pot.

Add the wine, chicken stock, and thyme and bring to a simmer. Cover the pot with a tight fitting lid and place in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes, until the chicken is just not pink. Remove from the oven and place on top of the stove.

Mash 1 tablespoon of butter and the flour together and stir into the stew.~~or you can sprinkle in some Wondra and call it good. Add the frozen onions. In a medium saute pan, add the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter and cook the mushrooms over medium-low heat for 5 to 10 minutes, until browned. ~~ I did this while the coq au vin was in the oven. Add to the stew. Bring the stew to a simmer.  Season to taste. Serve hot.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

25 thoughts on “December 11”

  1. Glad to see your “religious” upbringing doesn’t stop you from using that evil of all evils, liquor, to your food. It’s good stuff(in food). My mother refused to use wine or, God forbid, liquor, in anything even though the alcohol would cook out. She just couldn’t get past her moral sensibilities. (However, Aunt Pat was known to use wine once in a while…..shhhhh!).

  2. Oh no! At the mere mention of the word burn my stomache starts to hurt and I get light headed. I think that’s the worst pain in the world! However, your dish sounds scrumptious! LOL

  3. ok, i see what you mean now about the crockpot comment. burns are the worst. but yes, to answer your question it kind of is the best looking coq au vin i’ve seen – it ain’t the prettiest looking dish. lol 🙂

  4. Ouch! I do hope your hand is better.

    Tell Superman to have Chef Boy help him pick you out a good Dutch oven ASAP. I’d highly recomend the Lodge Color Enamel and Cast Iron 6 qt. Dutch Oven in blue from Stuffmart. It was my big Christmas present last year. Maybe Santa can put one under your Christmas tree this year.

  5. bless your heart! I hate when that happens. Burned fingers hurt like the dickens. As for the Coq Au Vin, I didn’t care for it much. Mine was just okay. Your photos are great.

  6. Ha! I used my largest All Clad pan as well, and would you believe that WHILE I WAS MAKING THIS, I emailed my husband and asked for a Dutch Oven for Christmas? I am glad that you enjoyed the coq a vin! And sorry about your finger — I think that burns are by far the worst of the kitchen injuries. Hope that it is feeling better soon!

    Oh, and I really really really wish that I could take pictures like you.

  7. Wow I hope your hand is better soon but remember, even when you get your dutch oven for Christmas…it too will be hot when it comes out of the oven. Get superman to throw in some of those cool silicone oven mitts too 🙂

  8. Ohhhh,just getting over second-degree burns. Break out the aloe!

    I didn’t think I needed a Dutch oven, but I found a good one on sale at TJ Maxx, and they are handy. Great for deep-frying, because they’re so heavy and deep. No splatter.

  9. I’m sorry you burned your fingers. I hope you are feeling better quickly.

    Coq Au Vin is a dish my mom makes that we all love. When we visit we always ask her to make this for us with a spinach & strawberry salad. YUM-O

  10. The dish sounds heavenly.

    I am so sorry that you got burned, it always seems that something like that happens when we are trying to do too much at one time and are using something in a way we haven’t before.

    I’ll be praying for quick and thorough healing of your hand.

  11. I hope your hand is not too painful. I’m sure we have all done something like that sometime. Amazon have a Dutch Oven Lid Lifter, maybe you should ask for one of those as well as the oven! Do you have slow cookers in America? I used mine today to make the most delicious chicken stew, yummy. The slow cooker has it’s own heater so does not go into the oven, just gets plugged in and left for however long you want, even all day, and turns out some really yummy food.

  12. I feel your pain – literally. I scaled my hand on exploding water the other day and I know it’s no picnic. I hope your hand gets to feeling better soon and that Santa brings you a new dutch oven and maybe some new spoons, a cookbook or cute pot holders to go with it.

Comments are closed.