December 9

This might come as a surprise to some, but I can not stand to make anything that you have to roll out.

I think it has to do with that little lazy thing I’ve got goin’ on.

All that flouring the board, then flouring the rolling pin, then you have to flour the dough.

Then the rolling out.   All that physical exertion.

Not to mention trying to wipe up that flour that ends up being all gummy on your wash cloth….ewwwwwwwww!

It’s just to much for a  Chocolatechic to deal with.

So when I make pie, biscuits, or anything else that involves a rolling pin and flour, it is truly a labor of love.

And when I can find a short cut to the whole rolling out thing…score!

Today’s TWD recipe, Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies, that Ulrike of Küchenlatein chose for us today, provides me with just that, a short cut.

Double happiness.

You just mix the dough.

Roll it into a log.

Refrigerate.

Then slice and bake.

I added orange zest to my sugar before creaming it with the butter.

Rolled my chilled logs in sparkling sugar.

Then I made an icing with 3/4 c. powdered sugar and 1 tbsp. of freshly squeezed orange juice.

It perfectly topped off these cookies.

These are so quick, so easy, and so very tasty.

Perfect for parties.

Perfect for Christmas gifts.

And perfect for eating after the chips kids are in bed, so you don’t have to share.

Go check out Ulrich’s blog.   He has the recipe.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

67 thoughts on “December 9”

  1. Found your site through the Country Doctor’s Wife. Have really enjoyed it. Have tried several of your recipes with great success. Your sugar cookies look awesome. Went to the website you had linked but I do not find them. The linzer sables look good too, but too much work for me. Can you tell me what I should be looking for to find the sugar cookie recipe? Thanks.

  2. These sound very much like the Orange Cookies my Grandma would make, only you had to do all the rolling out of dough with her’s. I absolutely love the orange in them though. She would even put orange zest in the icing. So yummy!

    On another note, I really should insist that my kidlets cannot look at your blog on Tuesdays. They keep trying to lick the monitor.

  3. Oh my….beautiful photos and I like orange too. Didn’t have an orange at the time but I had a drawer full of lemons….yippee!! Glad you liked them too. Thanks for stopping by at this busy time.
    AmyRuth

  4. Okay, first of all, Ulrike is from northern Germany, Schleswig-Holstein to be exact, and is a lady in her 40s with two sons and she bakes the most wonderful breads you would ever set your eyes and taste buds on…she is also very friendly and fun. 🙂

    I think I almost died and went to heaven with your first photo and the whole serious nearly finished me off…those look so very GREAT! Wow. Fantastic job on those.

    I don’t like rolling out either for the same reasons, so I have taken to rolling between sheets of plastic or wax paper, and believe me, it is very freeing…once you do it, you will never go back…it is very nice. Truly…trust me…try it! Great job this week…I am happy you did not like rolling out this week as these are marvelous and I am so going there soon to make some of my own…oh, that first photo is gorgeous!

  5. Except for the sparkled sugar, these cookies remind me of the orange drop cookies that Aunt Etta served for breakfast.
    Thought you might be interested in something I cooked up this weekend. It’s called “C-Pap Soup”. I thought about waiting until later in the day to explain what in the world that is, but, it seemed cruel to leave everybody in such a state of anxiety and anticipation for so long a time. So, here it is.
    Bring a gallon of water to a rolling boil, remove from heat, insert one c-pap mask, and insert one c-pap hose. Let steep for at least 10 minutes. Remove hose and mask from stock. Place said ingredients in cold water for another 10 minutes. Salt and pepper stock to taste, then……….THROW IT AWAY! believe me you won’t like it! But, at least your mask will fit better.

  6. I used to really heat rolling anything out. I can tolerate pie crusts now… I cannot, under any circumstances, roll out cookies. I can’t stand it. If I had a pasta maker… maybe that would be okay, I could roll my cookie dough through the pasta maker and viola! I’d have perfectly even dough!
    ~Cat

  7. cousin J.

    I need to try your “SOUP” …..maybe my c-crap mask will fit better…. Maybe put salt and pepper in water before boiling???

    cousin D.

  8. Wow, those sugar crystals are beautiful! That was the look I was going for when I sprinkled mine…but now I see that you actually have to ROLL the dough in sugar to get the sparkly effect. Lovely!

  9. I really want to make rolled cookies. I bought lots of cutters and everything. Hopefully I find a recipe that doesn’t hate me.
    Yours look so very nice with the icing on top.

  10. I always love your write ups and ooh, the pictures! Glad you found a way to make these cookies easy AND good!
    My mom won’t roll any dough either! Funny. She just can’t be bothered.

  11. Gorgeous! I love how you rolled the roll in sugar. I liked this recipe because you can roll and cut shapes right in/on the plastic wrap! No floured counters! Or gummy sponges!

  12. Beautiful step-by-step pictures! WOW!
    I never even thought of rolling the log into sugar before slicing and baking them! LOL Foolish me… had I done that, I would have painted the edges with egg whites and rolled them in, afterwords! What a waiste of time… thanks to you, I’ll go to bed less stupid, tonight! LOL
    Beautiful sugar cookies!

  13. Hmm…what else will I use my eggnog extract for? I’m thinking it would be great in any cookie or cake recipe where it would stand out, or maybe a vanilla pudding recipe. I think it would be nice in a cake icing too. You’d have to really like eggnog, I guess.

  14. The orange zest would be a great addition. Your photos are beautiful. I still have some in the fridge to be rolled out. It remains to be seen whether that actually happens.

  15. I totally agree! That’s the one thing I hate about sugar cookies, is all the time and effort it takes! Much easier to make the log, cut, slice and bake, now I know why pillsbury make a fortune 🙂 Love your icing!! YUM

  16. The secret to getting them round? Turn the dough as you are cutting to it doesn’t get squashed from the pressure of the knife.

    And don’t forget, only photograph the best looking ones!

  17. Oh my, those sound perfect and now I wish I had made an orange version. Guess I gotta make some more (oh, darn).

    Lovely pictorial… the picture of the orange sugar is my favorite.

  18. LOL – I hear ya on the rolling out thing – and I thought it was just me who disliked the gummy floury dishcloth. I think flavouring the cookies with orange zest was a great idea – would have offset the sweetness perfectly.

  19. I hate rolling too, but at least these rolled easily. Some dough is just awful. But your photos — they’re stunning. I keep trying to do something half as good, and it’s just not happening. You are very talented.

  20. Your cookies look fabulous!!! I love coming to your blog and looking at all your lovely pictures and reading your words. I was just thinking about those lovely window plastic thingies the other day and wishing we could buy them over here. Our house is so cold in the winter and it’s all because so much air comes in through our windows!! Your Coq Au Vin looks fantastic!

  21. I added orange zest to mine as well. I was tempted to frost them, but got too lazy to do that. I am fully with you on not being a fan of rolling out dough.

Comments are closed.