November 27

About 10 years ago, I begged asked my Grams to please write down all her special recipes for me.

It took her awhile to do so, but about 9 years ago, she presented me with a brown covered spiral notebook full of her spidery hand writing, full of her recipes, full of her love.

I treasure that book, and when she passed away earlier this year, it became even more special to me.

One thing that Grams always made for Thanksgiving and Christmas was Peppermint Pudding.

I can not remember very many Thanksgivings or Christmas’s without my Grams.

Today I am especially missing her.

So, in memory of Grams, I am bringing her Peppermint Pudding to the Parents house for Thanksgiving.

I tweaked the recipe just a smidgen.

Grams always lined her bowls with Vanilla Wafers.    I don’t like Vanilla Wafers, but I do like Stuffmarts Great Value brand shortbread cookies.

Also, I like a sweeter whipped cream, so I added about a ¼ c. of powdered sugar to the cream while I was whipping it.

Grams Peppermint Pudding(as written)

  • 1 pkg peppermint candies~~5 oz.
  • 1 pkg mini marshmallows
  • 1 box vanilla wafers~~short bread cookies

Beat whipping cream(½ pint) till peaked~~along with 1/4 c. powdered sugar

Fold in ½ package marshmallows along with crushed candies

Pour into dish lined with vanilla wafers~~or shortbread cookies

Cover with wrap

Refrigerate overnight

.

Today I am thankful for many things, but I am very thankful for my Grams.   For the influence she had on my mother, for the influence she had on my father, and for the love she showered on me.

Happy Thanksgiving y’all.   Don’t forget to love your family.   Be thankful for each and every one of them.   They made you who you are today.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

14 thoughts on “November 27”

  1. What a nice way to remember your Grams today. Mine will be with us today, but I know the time isn’t far that I will be where you are – missing her. My grandmother, who will be 89 next month, has been a huge influence on the person I am today. The coolest thing though is that a few years ago I got the chance to TELL her how thankful I am for all the love, the prayers, the guidance. It was a special moment. So be thankful folks – and then tell them just how thankful you are – you won’t regret it! HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

  2. How sweet,Tanya. I miss her so much, especially today. I would not be the woman I am if it wasn’t for her Godly influence. I was wondering about the peppermint pudding and missing it too. Thank you for making it. Can’t wait to seeyou here at your Moms.

  3. L knew you were making the “Peppermint Pudding” and I’m so glad. It wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without it. We are missing her today. Thank you for sharing your fond remembrances.

    Much Love, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. I’m glad that you got Grams recipes, CC. I wish that I had some of my Grams’ and Nana’s recipes to hand down. I guess I should ask Mom and MIL to write theirs down for my kids to have one day.

  5. Oh my! My youngest would go ape for this pudding. He absolutely loves peppermint… his favorite dessert is a vanilla ice cream cone with the ice cream rolled in crushed up mint.

    Thanks so much for sharing, I WILL be trying this.

  6. I have a love/hate relationship with days like that. My grandfather basically raised me and he passed almost 6 years ago. Moments in time filter through my mind and stop me in my tracks. I love the memories… but I hate the empty feeling I’m left with.

    ~Cat

Comments are closed.