November 26

I have never really cared for pumpkin pie.

There!   I said it.

I know!   I KNOW!

It is sacrilegious not to really like pumpkin pie, but there it is.

Oh, I have eaten my fair share, smothered in cool whip, because that is what you do on Thanksgiving.   And when there really isn’t any other dessert except pie, and you have a sweet tooth teeth like I do, you eat what is there.

Now my favorite pie is pecan.   I heart pecan pie, and if you add chocolate to a pecan pie, well, I tell ya… it is like I have died and gone to chocolate heaven.

Vibi from La Casserole Carrée picked today’s TWD WWD (Wednesday with Dorie).  It is called Two-fer pie and it is both pumpkin and pecan pies combined into one.

The recipe called for light corn syrup, but I have always been a huge fan of dark.  I lay that blame solely at the feet of my Grandma who would make the most fabulous pancakes EVER! She would slather them in butter and let them go swimming in a pool of dark, rich Karo syrup.

I tried to like this pie.   I really did.

I had hoped that the thick, syrupy, pecany topping would over power the pumpkin bottom, but it wasn’t to be so.

Maybe if I had smothered it in cool whip.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

36 thoughts on “November 26”

  1. Glad to hear that I’m not the only one who doesn’t like pumpkin pie. I love pumpkin bread or pumpkin roll, but I can’t stand pumpkin pie. I think it’s the texture. Have a happy Thanksgiving Day!

  2. I only like my own pumpkin pie thats made with my own processed pumpkin. But I really like my pecan pie!!! Loaded with pecans cuz if you are going to eat nut pie it should have nuts in it!!! Not just a few decorative ones for the top!

    My favorite way to eat pumpkin is in bars with cream cheese frosting. Soooo good.

  3. I make pumpkin pie every Thanksgiving and Christmas. I might eat one slice at one of the holidays. Other than that I don’t eat the pies I make. LOL I do not like Pecan Pie. My Pumpkin Pie recipe is off the back of the Libby’s can. I am not allowed to change it or make anything else. You should go have some chocolate milk, so you’ll feel better. 🙂

  4. I have always LOVED Pumpkin Pie! My Gpa used to let me eat a piece (actually he would cut it for me while M & D were in the other room and let me eat it)before dinner. He said that way I would have room for dessert.

    I never knew you didn’t like it! We are having Butterscotch and Apple crumb pie too…Oh yes, Aunt Cindy is bringing her pumpkin log. Oops…I’m guessing you don’t like anything with pumpkin?

    Can’t wait to see you tomorrow.

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I hope you day is filled with many blessings!

  5. Your pie looks great! The crust looks perfect. I am thinking I didn’t really need to prebake mine.
    I read your SAD list. I am all those things all the time. Don’t forget keeping the blinds down and avoiding talking to neighbours! Thank goodness for puppies.

  6. I’m with you–I don’t like pumpkin pie. It’s not the taste–I like other pumpkin things–it’s the custardy texture. Yuck.

    I hope you have a great Thanksgiving and get to eat some other sort of pie instead. =)

  7. In that I love both pumpkin and pecan pie, I want to ask your permission to take your pie out on a date. I want to make out with your pie. I want to write love sonnets to your pie, and cheesy song lyrics. I want to get a tattoo of its profile on my forehead. This looks too good to be true…you shouldn’t do this to me the day before a holiday.

  8. Ok lady – go ahead and serve it tomorrow. SOMEbody will like it! However, I agree with you, seems like kind of a waste of a good pecan pie. I do like pumpkin, but mixed with pecan not so sure, especially when it LOOKS like a pecan pie before you cut into it.

    That said, I did venture out and try PW’s pecan-gingersnap-caramel-pumpkin cheesecake. Haven’t tried it yet, but it’s in the fridge, waiting for guests tomorrow.

  9. No pumkin pie on Thanksgiving??? First, it’s the Michigan thingy and now the pumpkin thingy. I’m going to have to re-evaluate things now that I know more dark family secrets. Pecan pie must be a genetic thing. I remember your Grams, aunt Cindy and Mom talking about how much they loved pecan pie.

  10. Thank you so much for participating with me this week… especially that you don’t like pumpkin pie, makes it even more efforts for you to jump it!
    Nevertheless your pie certainly came out amazing looking!
    A very happy Thanksgiving to you an dyour family!

  11. I also despise pumpkin pie – my son loves it though. And we don’t put cool whip on anything – that stuff is nasty – read the label – edible oil product – bleck!

  12. My sister doesn’t like pumpkin pie eithr, but it’s because of the cloves. I am making a pumpkin cheese cake for her this year.

    Hope you and superman and the chips have a wonderful thanksgiving!

  13. I love pumpkin pie, sweet potatoe pie, and remeber Grandma Teal’s squash pie? I loved it!

    Happy Thanksgiving cousin Jerry!

    And Happy Thanksgiving to the Chip family.

    We are on our way out the door to Branson.

    Love to all!
    an

  14. I’m sorry you didn’t like it.

    I don’t like pumpkin pie and I don’t like pecan pie, but for some reason I loved this pie. Oven magic, I guess.

  15. Hello thank you for letting me join the “I hate pumpkin pie club–my name is Dawn” LOL
    Pumpkin pie grosses me out to no extent. Now the only time I will eat pumpkin is in a cookie or deep fried in a fritter.
    I will not be having pumpkin pie tomorrow, rather spicy pecan pie with a cheddar crust is more my language.

  16. No Pumpkin pie for me either. Blech! It’s a texture thing, and no bits of pecan will change that for me.

    Pecan pie by itself though…let’s just say I hope it is on the menu for tomorrow. 🙂

  17. I am with you on the pumpkin pie and pecan pie. I cannot stand the former, and I LOVE the latter W/O pecans haha. I take off the pecans and the eat the syrupy center along with the crust. YUM!

  18. Your pictures are fabulous, but then again, they always are!!! Everything you make looks so yummy. Right now I am eye balling your peppermint dessert up above and may give that a go at Christmas!!! That’s if I can find some peppermint candies. They don’t really do peppermint or candy canes in very many places over here!

  19. I guess pumpkin pie is one of those things you have to make at Thanksgiving…even if it’s not your favorite. Your pie, however, looks incredible. You got some layers in yours – mine was a big jumble!

  20. Your pie looks divine. Sorry you didn’t love it. I didn’t either, but am glad I tried making it. Yep, skip the pumpkin, give me cherry or apple or even better yet some kind of chocolate pie! I’m there! 🙂

Comments are closed.