November 25

SAD

Seasonal Affective Disorder

SAD is a type of depression that is triggered by the seasons, specifically the winter season.

I suffer with it, and have for a good 20 years.

This year it has been extremely bad, and I am blaming it on the ridiculous time change!

Yep!   That’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it.

Common symptoms  SAD include the following:

  • A change in appetite, especially a craving for sweet or starchy foods~~check
  • Weight gain~~nope
  • A drop in energy level~~check and check again!
  • Fatigue~~Uh huh!
  • A tendency to oversleep~~nope
  • Difficulty concentrating~~what was I saying?
  • Irritability and anxiety~~heaven help those around me
If you have any of these symptoms, get thee to thine doctor forthwith, and he will handeth you a prescription for wonderful drugs.
.
Your family will thank you.
.
Mine did.
.
I am telling you all this because I have no TWD today.

I have no TWD because I didn’t feel like getting my lazy self into the kitchen to make it.
.
Told you I was a slacker!
.
It is do dreary here in Pothole, Ohio that if it were any darker at noon, it would be pitch black.
.
Oh.   I kid, Internet.
.
Almost.
.
I will, however, be getting my lazy self in the kitchen today to make it, so there will be a Tuesdays Wednesdays with Dorie.
.
So, what do I do instead of being in the kitchen where I love to be?

I sit on my couch, knit socks, catch up on my backlog of TiVo, and wish I had enough gumption to get up and make a big pan of cinnamon rolls so I could eat every. single. one.

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

33 thoughts on “November 25”

  1. Oh my Gosh!!!!

    A change in appetite, especially a craving for sweet…Have it! (thought it was the change)

    Weight gain..Have it! (thought it was because I overeating on the sweets and starch)

    A drop in energy level…Have it! (thought it was because of the change and overeating)

    Fatigue…safe

    A tendency to oversleep…unfortunately don’t have it!

    Difficulty concentrating…Have it!(thought it was from the change!)

    Irritability and anxiety…Again thought it was from the change…oh…wait a minute…I’ve always been that way!

    I’m sooooooooo confused!!!! I thought I was going through the change now I know I’m just SAD or am I???

    I can’t concentrate enough to figure it out! LOL

    Seriously CC sorry you have it. I know it is a real problem for a lot of people. I think Gma may have had a mild case of that. Doesn’t it usually happen mostly when the sun isn’t shining? Or am I confusing that with something else?

    I think your smile would light up the whole house and that would make it sunny. It is such a beautiful smile.

    Luv U

  2. Your description sounds familiar.
    Here are my answers to your questions:

    # A change in appetite, especially a craving for sweet or starchy foods~~yes
    # Weight gain~~YES
    # A drop in energy level~~yes, Yes, YES
    # Fatigue~~Yep
    # A tendency to oversleep~~no
    # Difficulty concentrating~~What was the question?
    # Irritability and anxiety~~ I refuse to answer this one. 🙂

  3. I despise winter too. Whether or not I suffer from SAD, i am not sure. But the whole dreary, dark…miserable wind. I just do not like winter. Here in Western PA it’s like where I am assuming Pothole OH is. The sun just never comes out, and when it does it’s trickery, because it means the snow will start AGAIN.

    mmm cinnamon rolls…..

  4. I have SERIOUS sad. I have found that the more I sit at the craft table with the craft lamp over me, I feel much better. I know they sell those light boxes too, but this is actually the same kind of bulb. As soon as the timechange goes into effect, Im a zombie till spring. I do however, like all of the seasons…i just hate a winter that drags on.

  5. I have SAD. So does my mom and she sits under a special sun lamp every morning. she swears by it.
    I didn’t make the pie either… Not enough time.

    Your knitting is beautiful!

    happy thanksgiving!

  6. Ahhhh, TiVo. I try to catch up on the Gilmore Girls reruns every weekend.

    Hope you’re feeling better. There’s a saying that all the greatest artists in the world suffered from some form of depression, so tap into it, don’t run from it.

  7. Hmmm, a lot of us in this boat. Thanks for discussing it; it’s important. Did your doc also prescribe a sun lamp?

    Those socks are amazing! I wish that I could do something like that. Nope. Me of small brain. Oh bother!

  8. I used to get it really heavily when we lived in Vancouver(BC) Where we live now doesn’t get nearly as much rainfall or gloom so it isn’t as bad.

    My uncle swears it helps to go out for a walk (at noon if you can) every day no matter what, but who wants to always bundle up to go out into the cold and wet and slushy?

  9. You must suffer from GAD(general anxiety disorder) like I do. Ever since I built my house. Finally, I got my Dr. to understand what was wrong with me and got some of those drugs (that sounds bad, doesn’t it) like you got. That’s the way life is,these days. Feel bad – take a pill. Incidently, tell me it ain,t so that you have a Michigan fan in your family! Where did you go wrong? Don’t you know that having a Michigan fan and an Ohio State fan in the same frame could send your Nikon back into therapy!? Talk about needin’ a pill!

  10. While I do miss fall in the Northeast and I’d like to see snow once in a while, I definitely don’t miss the dreariness of winter (I grew up in NEPA). At least here (TX) it’s sunny a lot more. And it’s finally not 100 degrees all the time.

    I love your yarn. I never got into knitting, although I do a lot of other needle crafts. I’m working on crocheting a baby afghan right now–great for while I’m watching TV. =)

  11. Common symptoms SAD include the following:

    * A change in appetite, especially a craving for sweet or starchy foods~~ Thought it was PMS…
    * Weight gain~~can’t say this is new, sigh
    * A drop in energy level~~ Thought it was PMS…
    * A tendency to oversleep~~ Thought it was the fact that I lost 2 jobs in the past year and I haven’t found new one or because my son quit going to school in the middle of his senior year….
    * Difficulty concentrating~~ say what?
    * Irritability and anxiety~~ thought it was PMS….

    Honestly, I’d begun to think I was losing my mind. Hmmm, maybe I should get thyself to the doctor…thanks for the suggestion!

  12. I was just discussing this with one of my close friends as I was so concerned that I just might have this SAD thingee. I’ve never really had this symptoms before until BOOM this fall and then right after the time change I was even worse. I know the lack of sunlight really gets to me. I miss sitting in the sun and literally soaking up the energy from the sun. If I was to sit in the sun for say 2 hours I would feel like a just had a new charge on life, literally! And my memory is horrid lately and I always say to myself that I’m just busy and tired, but I can’t say that now as I am NOT busy. Weird. And now that it gets dark at friggin 3pm I get soooooo sad. I feel as if I have to be in bed by 6pm; jammies on, covers pulled up to here and TV on. Then by 8pm I am fast asleep. I was never ever like this.
    So, yeah I think I’m finally going to go see my doc about this. Please tell me what he prescribed for you and what do you notice most in your moods or changes? I am sooooooo curious.
    So glad you brought this up too. Once summer comes do you feel better?

  13. Doc prescribed Celexa. I was nauseated for about 2 weeks, and around 10am every day, I would get a bit fuzzy headed, but that lasted only about 2 weeks too.

    I noticed a marked difference in myself, and so has the family.

  14. Oh, I can’t wait to learn how to knit socks…I just learned how to knit in April, so I’m a newbie, but I love it for those long swim meet weekends! I’m getting ready to learn how to make mittens.

  15. Celexa is the same the Dr. gave me (20mg). After a month I began to feel normal. It was so long since I felt normal that it seemed abnormal.

  16. CC – do you know that I come here because it makes me feel like I’m at home? Your house, your cooking, your writing, your philosophy in life remind me so much of my home growing up and my parents. Please don’t be sad. I need to come here for my daily dose of virtual hugs. When u r sad, or SAD, please know how important you are so me and so many others out here!

  17. I am fortunate to not suffer from SAD as it is very prominent up here. While my answers to your questions, some would be yes it is not due to SAD but other disorders, mainly the thyroid issue.

    Right now I would definitely say that I’m depressed but it has nothing to do with the weather, though it’s not helping.

  18. Goodness. That’s really sad (pun intended). I probably have the same thing. It’s strange to read this today (you know… I’m trying to catch up!) because yesterday I was cramming candy in my mouth and then promptly fell asleep on the couch. I thought I was pregnant! Thankfully, I think I’m just sad.

    ~Cat

Comments are closed.