November 17

Saturday, whilst the men went bow hunting~~and subsequently didn’t get to, because it was raining and rain ruins bow strings.  Who knew?~~the girl and I went to my parents house.

We went for the sole purpose of having mom show me how she makes her apple pie.

I told her that I wanted her to make it exactly how she makes it every time.

Ma gets her recipe from this cookbook.

Sister~~seeing as how you have already “borrowed” 452 of mother’s cookbooks, and we all  know she will never see them again…I have dibs on this one.

.

First, she picks out her oldest apples.

And peels them.

No, these aren’t mom’s hands.

Lesson #1.  Mom doesn’t peel the apples.   It is important when making an apple pie that you make the man in your life peel them.

Lesson #2.  Make sure you eat a peel or 2.   The pie won’t be any good if this particular step is not taken.

Slice your apples thin.  No larger than a quarter inch.

After you  have 8 cups of apples, make sure the man in your life cleans up his mess.

Mom is a stickler for cleaned up messes.

Lesson #3.   Always have a towel over your shoulder.   You never know when you will need it.

Add sugar, which I didn’t get a picture of because she dumped it in before I could even raise my camera to my face.

Same thing happened with corn starch. and lemon juice.   Also add cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg.

Guess what I don’t have pictures of…

Stir all this loveliness together and let sit while the pie crust is being made.

When I told her that my friend Applie doesn’t make her own pie crust, she had the same reaction I did.

I know.   It is shocking.

.

Take a look at your filling.   Have the apples macerated to much in their own juice?   If so, add a bit more corn starch.

Poor the filling into your crust.

Dot with butter.

Now it is time to make the dodos.

I have been making them wrong all this time.

Lesson #4.   Roll out your dough excruciatingly thin, and butter all the way to the edge.

Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.

Roll them up and slice.   Put them in the oven whilst you are making the crumb topping for the pie.   That way they are finished by the time you are ready to go into the living room and chat.

Sprinkle the crumb topping on the filling and bake.

Because ma is a pioneer in the cleaning field, (and she doesn’t own a bench knife)  Lesson #5 is,  sweep your counter clean.

Now the dodos are ready.

I refuse to tell just how many I ate.

Nope.  Not gonna tell.

Wild  horses couldn’t drag out that I only had  8 6 of them.

Lesson #6.    This is one of the most important.  Have the man load your dish washer.

I told ya ma was a pioneer in the cleaning field.

Make sure that you put a pan under your pie.   It might bubble over.

It truly doesn’t get any better than this.

Good food, great company and the love of family.

Ma’s Perfect Apple Crumb Pie

  • 6-7 c. apples ~~dad always peels and slices 8 cups.  He doesn’t want “some wimpy pie”
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 2 tbsp. corn starch ~~add more if filling is juicy
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • butter for dotting

Mix this all together and pour into an unbaked pie shell.  Top with crumb topping.  Bake at 400º for 10 minutes and drop to 375º for 35-40 more minutes or until it is done.

Crumb topping

  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c. flour
  • 6 tbsp. butter

Cut butter into flour and sugar.  This recipe is generally 1 and a halved or doubled.  If you don’t like much of a sweet pie, then don’t double.

If you’d like to see what I have been raving over, and had the priviledge of eating all my life, then make this pie.

Let me know if you liked it.

And I just gotta ask…

How many of you wear a towel over your shoulder while you bake/cook?

.

Published by

chocolatechic

Just an average wife, mother, and homeschooling woman

41 thoughts on “November 17”

  1. good morning…
    don’t wear a towel over my shoulder but always have one handy to wipe my paws off…
    this looks pretty darn good.
    now i have made one pie in all my years on earth to date. i always thought them too challenging.

  2. My mom makes a spice pie to die for, she gave me the receipe once, need to find it. By the way, your mom looks like she could be your sister, what is her secret to staying so young looking?

  3. *raising hand* I always have a towel draped over my shoulder when I’m working in the kitchen. Even if I’m helping out at someone else’s house, I ask for my own towel. I grew up watching my Mom, and her sister’s, wear a towel while cooking. They also wore cobblers aprons while cleaning house. I don’t wear an apron. :p

    As always, Love your blog CC!

  4. I could recognize that cookbook a mile away. Mine is going to disintegrate in my hands, I swear. There’s nothing like dodo’s to make your day. I’ve made them but never knew they had a name. You know what a nut I am for pie and apple pie with the crumbly top is one of my favorites. Just add a spoonful of rich vanilla ice cream and it’s perfect. I’m a little bit depressed because I’m actually OLDER than your mom!!! And I also wear a towel over my shoulder.

    – Suzanne, the Farmer’s Wife

  5. It looks like y’all had alot of fun making your pie. Your Mom’s dodos look just like the ones my Grandma would make. I’m going to try the crumb topping the next time I make an apple pie. Thanks for the recipie. 🙂

  6. Great Post CC! I felt like I was at a family gathering. What an awesome family you have. BTW I can’t make pie crust either. My MIL makes them perfect and I tried to have her teach me but so far mine always rips. My FIL makes them perfect too. They haven’t given up on me yet. So, the last time I saw grandma I tried to have her teach me and she said. “You go to the store…and buy a frozen pie crust” I never laughed so hard in my whole life. I figured if it was good enough for Grandma it was good enough for me:)

  7. Dodos are like cinnamon rolls? My dad was famous for his cinnamon rolls, and even at his funeral people spoke with fond memories of Jim Kennedy’s Famous Cinnamon Rolls. I tried making them on Friday and, well, need to try again!

    I do not wear a towel over my shoulder, but started wearing an apron about 2 years ago, and now it’s indispensable. My friends make fun of me, but it is so useful, plus it makes me feel like a 50s housewife and my husband loves it!

  8. Hey, that’s the pie my mom makes! And it’s the pie I’d make, too, if I weren’t too lazy to peel a bunch of apples.

    We call ’em dough drops, but we coat the pie crust with heavy cream before we sprinkle it, and then we coat and sprinkle the top of the roll before we cut it. I’ll try it with butter next time.

    I haven’t worn a towel over my shoulder since Anemone stopped barfing down my back.

  9. I don’t wear a towel over my shoulder…to uncomfortable. I always am paranoid that it will fall off.

    I tuck one into the strings of my apron though. That’s how all the chef’s that I know do it.

  10. I am actually seriously considering making this pie. Even the pie crust. The crumb topping is what sold me. I love apple pie, but I don’t have great success with any pies (well, except pumpkin, but that’s a Southern Living recipe–can’t go wrong!).

    There’s something about SEEING it made, instead of just reading a recipe, that really gives me confidence. So THANK YOU!!! : ) And I’m very extremely interested in those dodos….bet I can eat more than you.

  11. Yes, I do wear a towel over my shoulder.

    Your mom is a doll! I am going to add this recipe to my collection. Thank you for including it.

    That recipe book certainly does look well loved…a lot like my own Betty Crocker. Hope that your sister leaves this one for you.

    Your dad is a sweetheart for peeling apples and cleaning up. Not too many men around who do all that.

  12. Nothing like a broken-in cookbook. My mom’s a librarian, so if I borrow a cookbook, she haunts my dreams.

    I do the towel-over-the-shoulder thing when I know I’m going to need to wipe my hands a thousand times. The first person I saw doing it was Emeril.

  13. My mom was a terrible cook but had many cookbooks from her mother that I promptly stole when I left the house. (couldn’t live without them) I have about 15 Betty Crocker Cookbooks that I have gathered over the years and with my grandma’s apron and must-have toweled shoulder I bake away. Too bad I can’t get the man to peel the apples, but I am working on the boys.

    Love the Step by step with your mom.

  14. No towel over the shoulder though I do prefer to cook/bake with a chefs/over the neck apron on as I always seem to get something on me otherwise.

    I’m seriously considering attempting to make my own pie crust, may try chef boy’s – it’s on his blog right?

    The pie your mom made looks like a Dutch Apple Pie, is that correct? My mom makes great apple pie though it’s been forever since I was with her when she made one. She’s a great cook/baker who loves to try new things, unlike her daughter 🙄 When she was up in 2006 she showed me how to make biscotti, which I made 2 batches of on Saturday but forgot to take any photo of. 🙄

    I’d never heard of dodos until you mentioned them but when I do make my own crust I promise to make some and let you know what I think.

  15. I want to go to your Mom’s house! Will she adopt me? Puuulease?
    I don’t throw a towel over my shoulder as it always falls off. When I see Emeril doing that on his show I get all nervous that it’s going to catch fire and then I can’t enjoy the show. Weird I know.

  16. I just love your website! I don’t remember how I happened to find it, but have been enjoying it/drooling over it ever since. You have a beautiful mom. She looks so young and sweet–and I love her kitchen! I have been making pies for quite a while (even the crust!) and will definitely have to try this recipe it looks so yummy-I like the pretty pie pan too! Thanks for posting, I feel like I have a new friend to check on! 🙂

  17. Ya HAD to go an announce to the world, yet again, that I don’t make my own pie crust! Well!! Ok, I’ll try to make this very soon. I have to try something before Thanksgiving so I can have a great pie for my family. I don’t want to get tired of Applie pie or Pumpkin pie, so…that leaves me with the dodos. 😛

    Your Apple Pie receipt is the same as my Applie Pie, except I use flour instead of cornstarch. I am with your Dad. At least 8 cups of apples. 🙂

  18. What if you don’t have a man in your life?! What if you would prefer a woman in your life? 😀

    I don’t throw a towel over my shoulder, but I do want some of that pie!! I may have to make this for turkey day or Xmas! Thanks!

  19. Oh! My! Goodness! That pie looks so good! I can’t wait to go to the store tomorrow and buy some apples to make this. I had plenty today, but they were looking so sad just sitting there that I decided to make some homemade apple butter. I should have checked your blog first! As for the towel on my shoulder, I usually have one on the counter for wiping my hands on. Of course, I also end up with flour all over me and my clothes too.

  20. What great pics,Tanya. You sure have a nice looking family. (I am a little predjudiced towards them)I have enjoyed her apple pies several times. No wonder she doesn’t mind making them with Dean doing all the hard part! You cheat, Willie. I love you anyway.

  21. Too Kute! Your stories always make me giggle. The “Man” in your world is trained very well, although I imagine he is fed well too.
    Thanks for sharing your pie demo.
    AmyRuth

  22. I made this pie last night for company. I used 3/4 cup sugar and added 1 cup fresh cranberries. I did not double the topping as you suggested. It was SO GOOD! Plenty sweet enough for all of us who ate it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. YUM YUM!

Comments are closed.